1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

anyone heard anything else about a dual socket 1366 mobo?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Fitseries3, May 16, 2009.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im thinking about getting a dual cpu 1366 mobo that can OC worth a crap.

    anyone seen any??? heard anything???
     
  2. ownage

    ownage New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    84 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Nope. There are server boards, but probably can't OC a damn. Most of them don't have full 16x PCIe.
     
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    pics? links?
     
  4. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
  5. ownage

    ownage New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    84 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
  6. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,319
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i need at least 2 16x pcie.... if not more :D
     
  8. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,438 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    no the only one i heard of is a quad 1366 mobo and its only got 8 PCI-EX16 slots on...
    :D

    edit: just to be clear incase no one got it... yes i am taking the piss...
     
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well im looking for...

    dual 1366 sockets
    2+ 16x pcie
    overclocking capable
    i dont give a shit about anything else. i dont need SAS,SCSI,PCI-X,etc.
     
  10. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
  11. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    wonder if it can take 2 920s?
     
  13. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    What you looking at doing with this anyway?
     
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    replace my i7 setup.

    i want dual 4.5ghz quads with 12gb mem and dual gtx295s

    16 threads FTMFW
     
  15. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I just doubt you'll get what you want.

    Skulltrail offers something similar to what your after but as you know, its S771.

    I'd just build another i7 setup if I was interested in in "replacing" a current one...two is better than one, right? :laugh:
     
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    nah...

    there will be a dual 1366 board for OCing. its just not here yet.
     
  17. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    But as we both know, waiting isnt your strong point. :)


    I'm sure you will find something else for your needs.
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    actually....

    im stuck right now.

    there is nothing newer than what i have.

    so i have to wait either way.
     
  19. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
  20. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i go for the biggest and fastest stuff i can get.
     
  21. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Well thats one of the smallest and least powerful things you can get, thinking about buying it yet? :roll:

    It would make a change, you have to admit.
     
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  23. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    You could try it, but PCI-e slot 1 looks blocked by the RAM slots, I'm not sure a 295 would fit.
     
  24. stormseeker

    stormseeker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    I'm quite sure that 920 won't work with that board - it supports only Xeon processors. They may be socket-compatible, but Core i7 CPU will not work in such a board - else why would Intel make Xeon at all (which is much more expensive than its Core i7 counterpart)?
     
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    how about the w3520? its a 920 D0 equivalent.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)