• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Anyone here successful with OSx86 snow leopard?

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#1
im having a hell of a time trying to get SL to install on my rig.

i cant even get it to start. im getting the apple loading screen for 1/2sec then it boot-loops indefinitely.

i tried this iBoot-supported cd that helps get things going but the same thing happens.

i've tried SEVERAL different ISO's now and several different patches. no dice.

WTF is wrong here?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
582 (0.18/day)
Likes
135
System Name Flow
Processor AMD Phenom II 955 BE
Motherboard MSI 790fx GD70
Cooling Water
Memory 8gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer Blue ddr3 1600 c8
Video Card(s) 2 x XFX 6850 - Yet to go under water.
Storage Corsair s128
Display(s) HP 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom Lian-Li V2110b
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 850HX
#2
Something tells me apple or any of the hacks don't support such a new and exotic rig as the one your running right now, that would be my hunch as to what the problem is.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Valdosta, Ga
Processor i7 860 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD65
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 GB G-Skill
Video Card(s) MSI HD5770
Storage 12TB storage
Display(s) Gateway FD2400
Case Coollermaster Cosmos
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply 860 Watt Rosewill
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#4
I think Snow Leopard is booting up, seeing your system specs and running away to hide.:roll:

All kidding aside, I try the hackintosh thing every few months with no luck yet.....
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#5
Virtual machine perhaps?
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#7
I made a hackintosh for a friend-of-a-friend, best thing to do it grab the official SL release, and follow the guides out there for installing on your specific motherboard, or on a motherboard with similar components (there must be someone out there running Xeons with OSx86).
Get a real Mac, or a Hackintosh that's working, load up the disc image, connect your boot drive from the machine you want to install to, and run the installer script. It's really easy from there, it's almost fully automated, and should work better (I find) than most of those hacked-together disc images.
The one I installed updated perfectly to 10.6.3, and installed all other updates, and I believe it's running Final Cut Studio 3, with a small boot drive, and a 2TB RAID0 for scratch disc.

I can't remember the motherboard used, Gigabyte board, used with 12GB DDR3 and an i7 920. Ended up using an 8600GTS that was lying about, not the fastest g'card, but it ran with dual-DVI, which was important.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#8
Boot up in verbose mode. -v.

-x will give you a single user command line to mess with things if necessary.

Verbose runs the boot up line by line on your screen, eliminating the grey apple boot screen. This will show you exactly what errors you are receiving.

You need to then just solve each error line by line, and voila. Hackintosh complete.

Way easier said than done tho.

Something tells me apple or any of the hacks don't support such a new and exotic rig as the one your running right now, that would be my hunch as to what the problem is.

OS X is actually one of the easiest OS's to get working on random hardware, because its just not very picky. The only problem is, 99% of people trying it aren't fluent in troubleshooting unix, let alone, OS X. the only real things OS X cares about is your VGA (Of which, generic works just fine, until you want 3d), and Chipset, including your IDE/SATA controller, and CDROM.

Get those 3 things compatible with whatever version of hackintosh you want, and you'll have a pretty breeze set up.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#9
-x doesnt do anything.

-v shows 15 lines of data or so then reboot. cant even read it its so fast.

it reboots the same place every time.

it said one time that the something.something.something.plist file is missing but i checked and it is in fact there.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#10
What Dippyskoodlz said is true about those three things. I went through several isos and such before I was able to get Leopard (10.5) installed on my G5 Project. However, I ended up scrapping the project because I couldn't change the resolution on my 9600GSO. Admittingly, I only spent a few days playing around before I scrapped the project.

I'm not gonna pretend to be an expert, but my experience was different from Dippyskoodlez. I think OSX is a bitch to install because it has to be compatible with those 3 major things. The problem is that there isn't like a 'generic' driver or something it can use. (AFAIK) I've come to the conclusion that if your hardware isn't supported, don't do it. In fact, if you're thinking about installing OSX on a regular PC, you pick your parts based on what other people have gotten working already.

Again, just my experiences, take them lightly. Hope you get this working! :)
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#11
-x doesnt do anything.

-v shows 15 lines of data or so then reboot. cant even read it its so fast.

it reboots the same place every time.

it said one time that the something.something.something.plist file is missing but i checked and it is in fact there.
if -x isnt doing anything, you're not getting past the initial boot.

If its only getting to the first few lines, have you installed Chameleon if you are trying to use a standard snow leopard CD? You can't just insert a cd and expect it to work :p
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#12
tried installing chameleon. does the same thing.

also tried this "iboot" disk that supposed to make anything work but it does the same thing.

i've gotten this to work before on many many other machines so i know it can be done.

even if some hardware isnt fully supported i know how to get it all to work once im in osx.... but im stumped at this problem.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#13
tried installing chameleon. does the same thing.

also tried this "iboot" disk that supposed to make anything work but it does the same thing.

i've gotten this to work before on many many other machines so i know it can be done.

even if some hardware isnt fully supported i know how to get it all to work once im in osx.... but im stumped at this problem.
I've treid countless times to run hackintosh, but in the end, i gave up.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#14
Are we allowed to discuss Hackintosh systems here? It's a breach of Apple's EULA and thus not strictly legal, though the enforceability of EULAs in court has yet to be proven.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#16
Are we allowed to discuss Hackintosh systems here? It's a breach of Apple's EULA and thus not strictly legal, though the enforceability of EULAs in court has yet to be proven.
Technically yes, technicaly no. If you buy a copy, its technically not illegal since you own the software, but you definetly won't be getting support.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#17
Technically yes, technicaly no. If you buy a copy, its technically not illegal since you own the software, but you definetly won't be getting support.
Not wanting to hijack the thread here, but I guess I better reply: when you buy OSX, you "own" the disc but are only "licensed" the software to the best of my knowledge, and it is a breach of the license EULA to use it on a non-Apple system.

Hopefully I am wrong.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
178 (0.06/day)
Likes
46
Location
~/
System Name Slackware Linux
Processor yes
Motherboard yes
Cooling currently convection, but considering mineral oil
Memory sometimes fails due to too much beer
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD5570 series
Storage IDE
Display(s) 32" LCD TV
Case sometimes
Audio Device(s) huh? what? speak up, I can't hear you
Power Supply yes
Software Slackware running Open-Source software (it doesn't get any better)
#20
Are we allowed to discuss Hackintosh systems here? It's a breach of Apple's EULA and thus not strictly legal, though the enforceability of EULAs in court has yet to be proven.
Not wanting to hijack the thread here, but I guess I better reply: when you buy OSX, you "own" the disc but are only "licensed" the software to the best of my knowledge, and it is a breach of the license EULA to use it on a non-Apple system.

Hopefully I am wrong.
Own the disk, but license the software... cut me a break

Just another reason to go with Linux or BSD

With BSD, own it, clone it, sell it, jump up and down and shit on it... it's yours!!!
oh and it's free :D
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#21
and now this.... [urlhttp://img.techpowerup.org/100528/Capture085.jpg[/url]
It looks like you may either have a borked installation disc Are you using a retail leopard CD, or a modified DVDROM? and 10.4, 10.5, or 10.6? All 3 of those have different methods for being installed.

Also, in Vmware, you have to make sure your Virtual machine bios is set up properly, with all unnecessary options disabled.


Not wanting to hijack the thread here, but I guess I better reply: when you buy OSX, you "own" the disc but are only "licensed" the software to the best of my knowledge, and it is a breach of the license EULA to use it on a non-Apple system.

Hopefully I am wrong.
As long as no files are linked/given that are copyrighted, IIRC discussion is perfectly legal. (Hence why osx86project is still around. ;) ) This is however, not my call for TPU. Just don't link to anything illegal.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
463 (0.15/day)
Likes
33
System Name Echelon
Processor Phenom II x3 720 - 4th Core Unlocked
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 4gb ddr3 1600
Video Card(s) Ati HD 5770
Storage 640gb & 250gb SATA
Display(s) MAG CRT 17"
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 600w Cooler Master Silent Pro
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#23
Fits, change these in your VMX file.
If the field does not exist create it.

Just open the VMX file in notepad/wordpad.

guestOS = "darwin-64"
ich7m.present = "TRUE"
smc.present = "FALSE"
keyboard.vusb.enable = "TRUE"
mouse.vusb.enable = "TRUE"
monitor.virtual_exec = "hardware"
monitor.virtual_mmu = "software"
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#25
It looks like you may either have a borked installation disc Are you using a retail leopard CD, or a modified DVDROM? and 10.4, 10.5, or 10.6? All 3 of those have different methods for being installed.

Also, in Vmware, you have to make sure your Virtual machine bios is set up properly, with all unnecessary options disabled.
10.6

tried both retail and moded ISOs