1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone seen this dedicated Gpu powersupply

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by trt740, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,938 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Should handle just about any SLI configuration out. When you consider it will be dedicated to only the video cards. I don't believe even two 285 gtx in sli draw more than 450 watts. I think two 295 gtx would be pushing it but anything else it would handle.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817104054

    heres a review on it http://www.techwarelabs.com/reviews/PowerSupply/fsp_group_boosterx_5_psu/index.shtml

    here is thermaltakes version http://thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?S=1207&ID=1544
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. livehard

    livehard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    190 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    PA
    Two GTX 285s will pull ~400 watts. Two GTX 295s will pull about 575 watts. Two 4870x2s will push that thing to its limits as well.
     
  3. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    This is from a review on Newegg:
    Its magic then!
     
  4. livehard

    livehard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    190 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    PA
    A system with 2 4890s will require somewhere around 570w. Just the 4890s will draw something like 350-400.
     
    MRCL says thanks.
  5. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    467 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    Pci-e slot can provide 75w iirc , 75 * 2 =150w from mainboard ,150w +450 booster =600w total power or im missing something ?
     
  6. livehard

    livehard New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    190 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    PA
    Psssshhh. You're right. Long day for me.:banghead:
     
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,181 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    Wow this is like the most amazing thing ever... where do we mount this though?

    Edit: OMG THIS MOUNTS IN A 5.25'' DRIVE BAY! It has pleasant aesthetics, it's affordable, and it's one heck of an item.

    WOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOW
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i remember reading some time ago about these (meaning, secondary PSU's) causing issues with crossfire and SLI, if the voltages were different between the cards.

    More or less, you need ALL video cards off the one PSU - dont have some on the main PSU, and some on this thing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,938 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Here is a review an entire system with two 4890 in crossfire will pull 489 watts so this power supply can easily handle that. The review below shows an entire systems power requirements under load with a single 285 gtx, a single 4890, two 4890's and a single 295 gtx.

    http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/2704/ati_radeon_hd_4890_in_crossfire/index11.html
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    99% of power reviews, state the entire systems power draw.


    you did a ninja edit TRT, but yeah i covered that in my post - i said as long as all cards are off the *one* unit, no problems will occur.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I do believe those are rated at 450w peak. The continuous abilities are lower, not 100% sure tho.

    In Jonny Guru's tests of supplimentary psus, the single slot ones didn't fare so well under heavy loads, due to heat. There's just too much stuff crammed in that little space for effective cooling.

    The double height Thermaltake actually fared pretty well tho.

    Another thing to consider is these aren't as efficient as just buying a top quality high wattage psu.

    In the end, I'd rather just buy a single, very good psu.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    Complete agreement on this.


    These auxilliary PSU's would fare well on testbenches or for temporary use - but long term, i just see them as trouble waiting to happen.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,938 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    WILE we all agree here however, if you cannot afford to upgrade or your limited in size as to which power supply you can put in your case. This will allow you to use a more powerful GPU. I think it is safe to say anyone would rather have one large powerful PSU than two smaller less powerful PSUs. Also it's maxed sustained is 450 watts, it's peak is 500watts and it has two intake fans.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    one example here, would be a matx case that only allows those crappy, half sized PSU's but still allows full sized video cards.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Regardless, none of the single slot sized boosters performed well when approaching there max output. Heat caused the 12v regulation to suffer. Even the ones with twin 40mm fans.

    As for the 650w Thermaltake unit, you can buy a Corsair 650TX for what it costs.

    No matter how you look at it, these aren't really that great of a buy. They would be if they were cooled better, or cheaper for the better ones that do have good cooling and regulation.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    You could, but then you would only have a total of 650w in your system. You are missing the points of these units. I picked up the Thermaltake for $110 over a year ago. Combined it with my $190 750w main power supply. So essentially, 1400w for $300. A year ago, a 1400w power supply would have cost a lot more than $300, heck they cost more even today.

    On top of that, it is 650w dedicated entirely to the GPUs, unlike a normal power supply which breaks it up among the entire system. They are great for Tri or Quad SLi/Crossfire setups. And removing the graphics load from the main PSU benefits other parts of the system also. When I had it in my system with dual 9800GTXs, it allowed me to overclock the Q6600 in it higher.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,791 (9.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,529
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No point in GPU-PSUs unless you have a very low-wattage main PSU (<400W)
     
  19. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  20. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I have a Thermaltake 250W PSU like this, they work with the main PSU to supply power, they aren't on their own. Theres a cable that goes to the 20/24pin connector on the mobo, then you plug your PSU's cable into that. It worked nice when I was running 3x 3870's and didn't queit have the PSU for it.
     
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    Why would he downgrade from the 600w he has now? Again, you are missing the point. If he gets the 450w booster, that puts him at over 1000w total for his entire system, for a $75 cost, compared to the $200+ cost of buying a proper 1000w power supply.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  22. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Not to mention, the drivebay PSU's are nice because they are never junk. Every now and then you have to upgrade your PSU, this you don't as it just helps you make more power. Part of the reason I still have my 250W sitting around.
     
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    $110 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341011

    And it will run any of the current graphics setups, save a crunching farm.

    The booster still isn't worth the cash. For the cost of the only booster worth buying, you can likely get a psu that will run your setup to begin with, and a very high quality one at that. They are little more than a gimmick, and serve only a VERY niche market. Very few will actually benefit from these, more than a proper psu upgrade.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,309 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,207
    how do you set that up in the case?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,260 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    hey i'd buy it just to strip down for the leds and small fans rip out the psu board mod it then put it back together with just the fans n leds :D;)

    :edit:
    ooh i don't like the look of that 240 volt cables inside my case without earthing :eek: not good :shadedshu

    yes i'm not sure how you'd set it up either as some of the links to the pics are dead
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)