• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

anyone tried the VoltageFactory mod on a hd4870

Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
1,035 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name mine
Processor 2600k@5.2ghz 1.41 vcore
Motherboard asrock z77 OC Formula
Cooling pa120.3, apogee HD, mcp655 pump
Memory 16gigs ddr3 1600mhz sammy's @ 1886
Video Card(s) evga gtx470 under water on a seperate loop
Storage Crucial M4 128gig SSD
Display(s) HP 2511x 25inch led
Case none ATM
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750watt seasonic x-1250watt(dead)
Software win 8 pro 64bit
#1
i was just surfing the net and stumbled across this thread over at AnandTech

http://forums.anandtech.com/message...ORDFRM=&STARTPAGE=1&FTVAR_FORUMVIEWTMP=Linear

i tried it out on my reference hd4870 and it seemed to work. upped my voltage to 1.35 and pushed the core to 860mhz. any time i ever tried 850+mhz in the past seemed to crash my pc.

i tried a few quick searches here on TPU, but didn't find anything. perhaps this is new info for you guy's. i thought i would pass it along to you.


By rangerone7669 at 2009-04-04

got the VoltageFactory software here-
http://forums.vr-zone.com/overclock...1-00-allow-you-adjust-your-gpus-voltages.html

by the way my load temps did go up by 8c, i'm using a thermalright hr03-gt heatsink. so 1.35 volts is probably too high on stock cooling.

USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

edit got core to 871mhz but not pushing it any more tonight. stoked at the oc so far
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#2
Thanks for this, the voltage does actually change but haven't tried it in games yet. Voltage Factory 1.0 is found here. I simply followed the instructions in the read me file.
 

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.18/day)
Likes
133
#3
Yes, this is something that's been around for a while now, usable via Rivatuner. VoltageFactory is just a nice and simple GUI interface for it.

Considering you're using an HR-03GT with a reference HD4870, I'd highly recommend you keep an eye on your VRMs. Their temperatures increase the greatest when overvolting, and will cause all sorts of problems if not properly cooled.

Good stuff...
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#4
I also read news that there was a EVGA voltage tuner with an "unpatcher" that would work on 4870. But I haven't seen anyone post this.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
1,035 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name mine
Processor 2600k@5.2ghz 1.41 vcore
Motherboard asrock z77 OC Formula
Cooling pa120.3, apogee HD, mcp655 pump
Memory 16gigs ddr3 1600mhz sammy's @ 1886
Video Card(s) evga gtx470 under water on a seperate loop
Storage Crucial M4 128gig SSD
Display(s) HP 2511x 25inch led
Case none ATM
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750watt seasonic x-1250watt(dead)
Software win 8 pro 64bit
#5
Yes, this is something that's been around for a while now, usable via Rivatuner. VoltageFactory is just a nice and simple GUI interface for it.

Considering you're using an HR-03GT with a reference HD4870, I'd highly recommend you keep an eye on your VRMs. Their temperatures increase the greatest when overvolting, and will cause all sorts of problems if not properly cooled.

Good stuff...
check out this thread, you will see i've adressed the vrm cooling on my card. not very pretty, but it is effective.

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=80656

also i was just surfing 4870 overclock threads here and it seems what i found on the soft volt mods seems to be old news. but i posted it anyway, hopefully others will find it usefull.
 
Last edited:

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.18/day)
Likes
133
#6
Glad your aftermarket HD4870 setup is working good for you! I didn't have the same results though. :(

I used the same Thermalright memory heatsinks on the VRMs and I couldn't keep the temps below 100C, even with a horrible Scythe Kaze 120x38mm fan blowing right on them. More likely than not, my card has some very sensitive (possibly flaky) VRMs/circuitry, as I was an early adopter. The GPU temps with the HR-03GT were never a problem; just those damn VRMs. So I ended up just sticking with the reference dual-slot blower cooler...
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#7
Anyone know wether this will work on non-reference 4850's with voltage controllers?
 

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.18/day)
Likes
133
#8
Anyone know wether this will work on non-reference 4850's with voltage controllers?
It won't work with any HD4850. They lack the necessary Volterra VRM controller. Sorry. :(

The best you can do is edit the voltage from what is available in your HD4850s BIOS and/or obtain an alternate HD4850 BIOS with a range that is possibly higher than what you currently have.

Of course there's always hard mods for altering voltages, but that's a different story, and quite a bit more complex...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#9
I have a gigabyte with vrm controller on the pcb. i'll give it a try see if it works. My stock voltage is 1.2v
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#10
Damn, all the IC2 Bus numbers come back invalid!?!
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#12
you dont have the proper volterra controller on the 4850 to adjust with software
I can adjust it upto 1.2v via software (Gamer HUD) but it doesn't support anything over.