• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Apacer Working on PCIe Cache-SSD

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
Apacer is working on a hard drive cache-SSD of its own, which is similar in principle to OCZ's Revodrive Hybrid. Called PHFD, the cache-SSD is a full-height PCI-Express 2.0 x1 add-on card, which seats a Marvell 88SE9130 (or similar) 2-port SATA 6 Gb/s controller, with one port wired to an onboard 32 GB SSD subunit, and the other port given out as a standard SATA port (to which you plug your system HDD). Marvell 88SE9130 includes a feature called HyperDuo, which is similar to Intel Rapid Storage Technology (RST), it handles the SSD-caching on PFHD. Apacer's solution could end up being a cost-effective solution to systems without Intel RST.



Source: VR-Zone
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
560 (0.23/day)
Likes
22
Location
Islamabad
System Name Hhumas-PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Extreme CPU X9650 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS 9700 NT 110mm 2 Ball Ultra Quiet
Memory OCZ Platinium 2x2GB
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5
Storage WD Green 500 GB , WD 500 GB
Display(s) Dell U2410F
Case Casecom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
#2
i hope it would be cheap
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#3
can it also be configured to run as a 32GB OS boot drive?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,515 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,597
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#5
Looks like a great /boot and / (root) drive. I would get that for a server, but more than anything, I dig the PCI-E x1 bus.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,830 (1.00/day)
Likes
281
Location
Netherlands
System Name HP z800 workstation
Processor Intel Xeon X5687 3,60ghz 12mb cache x2
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case HP z800 workstation case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HP z800 1100 watt
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15601
#6
give me a 500gb version :)
 

LeadSled

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#7
If it is only a PCIe 2.0 and only 1 PCIe slot it will only be a waist of space because it will not have the bandwidth that a dedicated cache would need. If you have a older machine it would work great but if you have a newer PCIe 3.0 or a 2011 socket it would be cheaper to upgrade to a Windows 7 version that supports more then 16GB like Home Premium supoorts and run a ram drive because 250 MB/s with a PCIe 2.0 one slot, well is slow. My 8X PCIe 3.0 drive has 32 times the through put that does even you SATA 3 drives will make that look have 50% the speed of a good SATA 3 drive will make that look slow. They are on the right track but needs more then 250MB/s and since USB 3.0 drives are in the $100 range, I think you are looking at something that will never make the market since a 32GB SATA 3 drive I have no doubt will give it some dust to eat. They say there is a sucker born every minute so maybe there us a market, but unless they plan a major redesign that is just a waist of time and money. Maybe this is justa joke because it is something that would be usefull maybe 2-3 years ago.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,515 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,597
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
Provided your Linux distro supports Marvell HyperDuo application.
I wouldn't be looking to use it for caching. Caching server data seems like a terrible idea. This would just be for configurations, base applications and boot. I don't know why I would need the app if I'm not going to to be caching.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.63/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#10
if its cheap, i want it :D