• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

APU build not recognizing RAM

Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#1
Hello,

I am looking for some assistance with a very recent build. The following components are in the build:
APU A8-3850
Gigabyte GA-A75-UDH4
600w rosewill supply
Win 7 Home Premium x64
8GB ram Gskill F3 (1333)

I have enabled ahci, updated the bios, reseated the ram, and made sure they were no memory limitations in msconfig. Despite this, I only see 6GB in windows. Memtest shows 8GB, CPU-z shows 8GB, and speedfan show 8GB ram but windows will not acknowledge its (the extra 2GB) existance.

What is the next step to get the extra two gigs recognized, or am I missing something?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,641
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
Pull all the ram and test it in another system with memtest. Or test it one at a time in your system

Why enabled ahci?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#3
I have enabled ahci, updated the bios, reseated the ram, and made sure they were no memory limitations in msconfig. Despite this, I only see 6GB in windows. Memtest shows 8GB, CPU-z shows 8GB, and speedfan show 8GB ram but windows will not acknowledge its (the extra 2GB) existance.
The GPU's in APU's Use system ram, you've probably got the memory share set to high in the bios, and ram set to be graphics ram by the bios won't show up in task manager, as its hardware reserved

Solution = turn down the shared memory setting in bios to ~500MB, should give you access to more ram, and you won't have a problem on the graphics front
 
Last edited:

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#4
Run Resource Monitor, and in the "memory" tab, see if the missing memory amount is being shown under "Hardware Reserved" (gray). Tell us what you see there.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#5
Pull all the ram and test it in another system with memtest. Or test it one at a time in your system

Why enabled ahci?
Memtest run, no problems. I ran at worse than stock to make sure everything was fine. I read on an AMD forum that enabling AHCI might help. I don't get the logic either...

The GPU's in APU's Use system ram, you've probably got the memory share set to high in the bios, and ram set to be graphics ram by the bios won't show up in task manager, as its hardware reserved

Solution = turn down the shared memory setting in bios to ~500MB, should give you access to more ram, and you won't have a problem on the graphics front
The shared memory is set high (2.5 GB). It's accounted for, but is not what I am looking at.


Here's what I'm dealing with:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/52/apubuildinfo.png/


Run Resource Monitor, and in the "memory" tab, see if the missing memory amount is being shown under "Hardware Reserved" (gray). Tell us what you see there.

Resource monitor results:
Installed 6144 MB
Total 3581 MB
Cached 1212 MB
Hardware Reserved 2563 MB
Available 2468
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,987 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#6
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#8
i think it says your mems compatible

http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList/Memory/mb_memory_ga-a75-ud4h.pdf

youd have to check the exact model nos

you have got them in 1 and 2 or 3 and 4 ie dual channel mode as in the same channel 2x double sided may have issues, sorry its obv but worth mentioning
I checked the Mobo manual before construction. The memory is in the correct slots (1 and 2).

You bought a Llano? Hmm.. Waiting for results
Beyond this memory issue, I'm getting some decent numbers. While not exactly a good indicator, the raw computations in WEI are rated at a 7.4. The thing that draws the system down are the graphics, but that is to be expected.

I've run a 1080p clip without any stuttering or stalling (though the cores all ran around 45% usage). As far as a workhorse, I can't complain. Gaming is another story. A quick run through of Crysis 2 was playable on the lowest settings, but just barely. I can't comment on the onboard video card expansion, because the person I'm building for wouldn't give the go ahead to get a separate card.

It's miles ahead of the Intel integrated graphics, but definitely suffers on raw computational capability. For a standard user, it isn't a bad compromise between price and performance. It isn't for a power user, but it's good for large segment of the market.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#10
i think you need a new BIOS?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#11
Sigh. I updated the bios before I updated the OS. Gigabyte tech support is moving slow enough to be win the race for slowest glacier on the planet.

Apparently this issue doesn't exist for everyone.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#12
then RMA it!
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#13
How much ram do you have allocated to the integrated graphics?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,812
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
what version of windows are you running as in bits?
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#15