• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Architectural Firm Workstation

Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi there, first post here.

Here is the workstation we want to buy :

Power Workstation (Intel® Xeon E5)
1 x Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 2.6GHz LGA2011 6-Core 15MB CPU BX80635E52630V2
1 x Asus Z9PA-U8 Xeon LGA2011 E5-1600/2600 DDR3 Motherboard ATX
1 x Crucial 32GB ( 2 x 16GB ) DDR3 1866MHz ECC Registered Memory CT2K16G3ERSDD4186D
1 x Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 3.5" SATA 6.0 HDD WD3000HLHX
1 x PNY Quadro K600 1GB DDR3 Video Card VCQK600-PB
1 x Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio
1 x Asus DRW-24B1ST 24x SATA Optical Drive DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B
1 x Corsair Hydro Series H60 Intel/AMD High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler CW-9060007-WW
1 x Corsair RM RM750 750W Fully Modular Power Supply CP-9020055-NA
1 x Fractal Design DEFINE XL R2 BLACK PEARL Full Tower Case FD-CA-DEF-XL-R2-BL
1 x Professional assembly and testing of your configuration [Included 1 year warranty] Workstation
1 x Microsoft Windows 7 PRO 64-bit English 1PK DVD OEM (FQC-00765)

This workstation is around 2600 CAN$.
We run Autodesk softwares (autocad and revit) and do 3d renderings. (SketchUp +VRAY, 3d max).

We want to upgrade either the number of cores or the graphic card. We want to chose one of these upgrades :
1 x Intel Xeon E5-2640 v2 2.0GHz LGA2011 8-Core 20MB CPU BX80635E52640V2
OR
1 x PNY Quadro K2000 2GB DDR5 Video Card VCQK2000-PB.

This will get us a little bit under 3000 CAN$. So witch one would be better for us ? Upgrading the number of cores (lesser clock speed) or graphic card (medium range over entry level) ?

Thanks guys ! Any comments will help !

Samuel
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,193 (0.83/day)
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#2
I, personally, would go for the better GPU. The software you use is very GPU-intensive, so upgrading the CPU and using an entry-level GPU would be kinda pointless.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#3
The CPU upgrade will result in 2.5% speed boost in processes that can run on 16 threads. The GPU upgrade is gonna result in a 100+% increase in GPU compute power.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,797 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#4
I, personally, would go for the better GPU. The software you use is very GPU-intensive, so upgrading the CPU and using an entry-level GPU would be kinda pointless.
Particularly for rendering in 3DS Max If you're not overclocking, good aircooling will work just fine (and be one less thing to break)

Rest looks good.
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#5
My suggestion may sound counter intuitive, but from my experience I'd go for a mediocre workstation card (if possible with 3~4gig of Vram for when using a lot of textures) and the fastest single threaded performance CPU you can get your hands on plus a ton of ram. Most of autodesk's software is notoriously single threaded (rendering is the only multi-threaded activity and you'd be far better served by getting a dedicated 24h rendering box or linking networked computers together in a render farm). I'd prefer a faster quad-core(think 3,5-4GHz) than a 2-2,5GHz hexa/octa core.

AutoCad and Revit do not benefit that much from a high-performance graphics card unless your model has a ton of polygons. A fast CPU and a SSD is a much better investment.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
My suggestion may sound counter intuitive, but from my experience I'd go for a mediocre workstation card (if possible with 3~4gig of Vram for when using a lot of textures) and the fastest single threaded performance CPU you can get your hands on plus a ton of ram. Most of autodesk's software is notoriously single threaded (rendering is the only multi-threaded activity and you'd be far better served by getting a dedicated 24h rendering box or linking networked computers together in a render farm). I'd prefer a faster quad-core(think 3,5-4GHz) than a 2-2,5GHz hexa/octa core.

AutoCad and Revit do not benefit that much from a high-performance graphics card unless your model has a ton of polygons. A fast CPU and a SSD is a much better investment.
I would have to go with a Intel Ivy Bridge i7 then... isnt' that more for gaming ?
My PC builder site is cleary refering to a Intel Xeon Workstation for Autodesk, Adobe, Solidworks, etc. for 3D modelling and rendering. But I understand that multi-thread only helps for render time ?
Also, please note that we are a small firm so, no render farm and linked computers.
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#7
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-workstation-graphics-card,3493-3.html

^ some tests on workstation cards. As it seems, you might be much better served by a cheaper nvidia GTX card than an expensive quadro. Tho again keep in mind that the professional card will come with more stable drivers.

To be honest, the i7s are pretty good next to the xeons performance wise but all enthusiast/gaming motherboards are kind of crappy stability wise compared to even a mediocre workstation mobo and being able to run ECC memory is a plus as well.

There's nothing more frustrating than losing work due to a crash. We're a big office with 100+ people and the IT were experimenting with a few i7 systems and almost all of them blue screen randomly from time to time. My guess is due to some compatability issues between the ram/hdd and the mobo. Enthusiast boards do not go through the vigorous testing that workstation mobos go through.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,797 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#8
There's nothing more frustrating than losing work due to a crash. We're a big office with 100+ people and the IT were experimenting with a few i7 systems and almost all of them blue screen randomly from time to time. My guess is due to some compatability issues between the ram/hdd and the mobo. Enthusiast boards do not go through the vigorous testing that workstation mobos go through.
We have quite a few DELL i7 workstations running AutoCAD, I've got a precision M6700 with an i7m, running AutoCAD 2011 and 2013. Never heard of anything like that happening... wonder what sort of QA/QC process a DELL systems goes through.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Thanks for your inputs guys. However you lost me a bit there.
I want a real stable and professionnal workstation. Even though we don't use rigs or networked computers, Xeon is still more reliable right ?
I don't see how an i7 (enthusiast/gamer machine, as I understood it) is the right choice for a company. We work minimum 9hrs/day and sometimes I run renders during the night.

Also, our budget went up I bit, so I was think we could add this instead :
1 x Intel Xeon E5-2650 v2 2.6GHz LGA2011 8-Core 20MB CPU BX80635E52650V2
1 x PNY Quadro K2000D 2GB DDR5 Video Card VCQK2000D-PB

Would that be a good compromise, great GPU and great CPU ?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
880 (0.20/day)
Likes
394
Processor 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470
Storage Crucial m4 128GB + Seagate RAID 1 (1TB x 2)
Display(s) Dell 22" 1680x1050 nothing special
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W
Software Windows 7 64bit Pro
#10
Your best bet would be to email the companies whose software you are using, explain how you are using it, then ask them which would benefit you better (faster GPU or CPU).
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Maybe I'm in the wrong track, I've read on another forum that Xeon are only best for larger servers or render farms... I think I will call Autodesk.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,042 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#12
If you can, skip the velociraptor, they aren't as reliable as a regular drive, try a western digital blue or black (avoid green).
WD BLACK SERIES WD1003FZEX- $85
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236625


You are right on with a Xeon, its more power efficient and designed for reliability. You can run ECC memory with a Xeon. You can't do this with an i7.

Adding more cores won't make the Xeon any faster for what you are doing, a higher clock speed would, I'd go for a Xeon with atleast 3.0 ghz.

Intel Xeon E5-1660v2
http://ark.intel.com/products/75781/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E5-1660-v2-15M-Cache-3_70-GHz

6 cores, 3.7 ghz, ivy bridge, $1100, turbo up to 4.0ghz

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/con...Onq8OW8970CFa47OgodPwIAXw&Q=&is=REG&A=details

edit: looks like the downside is no QPI link so you can't run two of them at once on a single mobo

if you want to run two,
the sandy version has qpi
http://ark.intel.com/products/64620...-E5-1660-15M-Cache-3_30-GHz-0_0-GTs-Intel-QPI

comparison
http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Xeon-E5-1660-v2-vs-Intel-Xeon-E5-1660
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
262 (0.11/day)
Likes
94
System Name potato
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Team Delta 2x16GB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) MSI R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 240GB & 840 120GB + HDD 2x WD VRaptor 500GB & WD Green 4TB
Display(s) Benq XL2730z
Case be quiet dark base pro 900
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Steelseries PC Bang
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software win 10 amd64
#13
if you happen to use V-Ray RT, go with the faster quadro, otherwise go with the faster CPU
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
If you can, skip the velociraptor, they aren't as reliable as a regular drive, try a western digital blue or black (avoid green).
WD BLACK SERIES WD1003FZEX- $85
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236625


You are right on with a Xeon, its more power efficient and designed for reliability. You can run ECC memory with a Xeon. You can't do this with an i7.

Adding more cores won't make the Xeon any faster for what you are doing, a higher clock speed would, I'd go for a Xeon with atleast 3.0 ghz.

Intel Xeon E5-1660v2
http://ark.intel.com/products/75781/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E5-1660-v2-15M-Cache-3_70-GHz

6 cores, 3.7 ghz, ivy bridge, $1100, turbo up to 4.0ghz

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/con...Onq8OW8970CFa47OgodPwIAXw&Q=&is=REG&A=details

edit: looks like the downside is no QPI link so you can't run two of them at once on a single mobo

if you want to run two,
the sandy version has qpi
http://ark.intel.com/products/64620...-E5-1660-15M-Cache-3_30-GHz-0_0-GTs-Intel-QPI

comparison
http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Xeon-E5-1660-v2-vs-Intel-Xeon-E5-1660
Thanks for these hints.
I want to go for the Xeon but I'm wondering if it's too much for the job. Plus we got a budget of around 3000 CAN$.
I'm the only one in the office doing 3D rendering. We are a small firm of 4. No servers, no render farms, so no 300 000 sq foot projects on Revit. Do we really need a workstation ? Maybe a desktop PC would do, should I go for a strong i7 ? or is the Xeon (can't afford a dual) still the right choice when we talk about daily 3D tasks (modelling, rendering) ?

I spent the day reading forums, can't seem to decide, i7 or Xeon, everybody have a different point of view.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#15
The only sure thing is that if you take a 6-core i7 4930K (3.9ghz stock speed) or 4960k and overclock it to at least 4.4ghz (easy with a simple Corsair AIO watercooler) you will have a faster processor than the Xeons you are mentioning. Personally I have used both my older i7 930 and my current 4930k for university projects doing fabric based structures in 3dsmax and revvit. I found 3dsmax to be generally buggy when TONS of elements are loaded on the screen, probably because my AMD gaming GPU was not for fit for this job.

I'm not even sure what is the meaning of existence of these entry Xeons when it is known that they are rebranded i7s. Support for ECC memory? maybe?
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#16
We have quite a few DELL i7 workstations running AutoCAD, I've got a precision M6700 with an i7m, running AutoCAD 2011 and 2013. Never heard of anything like that happening... wonder what sort of QA/QC process a DELL systems goes through.
The problem was that they hired a system builder who used cheaper off the shelf enthusiast stuff without making sure that it all works together instead of a professionally built and tested system. And now at least 3 of the 10 systems are experiencing some stability issues and have to be sent back.

To the op as I said earlier if you're going to use this system to make a living and you have the budget for it right now, it makes more sense to go for the professional system built and tested more rigorously. The e5-1660 v2 sounds really good if it's in your budget. Alternatively maybe an e3-1280 v2(something Ivy Bridge or Haswell based with at least 3.4-3.5 GHz base clock) or similar might serve you well.

Have you tried calling some of the local resellers of the bigger workstation providers like HP/Dell and Lenovo just to see what they'll come up with? The i7 dells don't look bad either it doesn't have to necessarily be a Xeon system as long as it's from a trusty source.

Again the main troublemaker will be Revit because even tho its a powerful software, it's coded badly and runs like a pile of poo on everything.

The main things that help with revit are:
- a ton of ram, think 16+( even small projects need at least 8GB once you go into the documentation phase)
-fast single threaded performance( I don't do any rendering, so I've actually turned off my HT so that I can lower temps and force higher turbo bins; every MHz helps)
-low seek times (think SSD, doesn't have to be enterprise class. A decent Intel or Samsung one will do just fine)

Revit doesn't benefit that much from a good graphics card. As long as you're not running it on an integrated card, you should be good.

I do not have any experience with rendering engines that use the GPU but if you use those, you should see if they run on CUDA or OpenCL.

If you're rendering through a Sketchup plug-in, then most likely it's an entirely CPU based engine and more cores will help with that but as you have said it yourself, you can always leave it to render overnight so rendering shouldn't be your main concern.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
315 (0.10/day)
Likes
313
Location
Valencia, Venezuela
System Name Tropicaliente | Digger
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.2GHz | Q6600 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 Extreme 4 | Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling EVGA Superclock | OCZ Vendetta
Memory 2x8GB DDR3-1600MHz | 4x2GB DDR3-1333MHz
Video Card(s) PoV GTX570 TGT UC | HIS HD5670 IceQ
Storage 256GB SSD + 320GB + 500GB + 2TB | 80GB
Display(s) Asus VN247H-P | KVM USB Switch
Case Antec ONE | MyOpenPC Doma Pro PCI
Audio Device(s) on board + Logitech Z623 | on board
Power Supply Coolermaster GX-650 | Antec VP-450
Mouse MS Wired Desktop 600
Keyboard MS Wired Desktop 600
Software Win 8.1 x64 | Zorin OS 12 Core x64
#17
My brother works doing renders at architectural dept of a building company. I saw him once doing renders with sketchup+vray. I think those apps, sketchup and vray (which is a render engine plugin), don't use gpu acceleration for rendering. They render using cpu only if I'm not mistaken. In that case you'll need a powerfull cpu more than gfx card. About 3dmax, well I dont know. My suggestion is check the software you'll use to see if they support gpu acceleration to render. If yes then you'll get benefit from a faster gfx card. ;)
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#18
Go for a good nvidia GPU for accelleration.
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#19
I'm using a previous generation HP z400 workstation with 16GB ram, 3.2GHz Nehalem and quadro 4000. This is my CPU and GPU usage of a fairly complicated and large model:



Here I had the model opened up for just 5~10 mins and I haven't loaded all the linked in files, usually when I load those and work for a few hours, RAM usage jumps up to 10-12GB. GPU usage was really low at just 12%, video memory usage got a bit over 1GB (that's while rotating the full 3d view) and as you can see it's mostly core 0 that's loaded. I think I could definitely do with a nice little CPU upgrade :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
Thanks guys, really appreciated.

I think we will go with this CPU : Intel Xeon E5-1650 v2 Six-Core Processor 3.5/ 3.9GHz. It fits well for our budget vs What we want to achieve.
32 GB of RAM of course, with a SSD 256 GB.

Last thing : I was given a fair price with the PNY Quadro 2000... But should I go with the Quadro 4000 or it's an overkill ?
Still talking about 3D modelling and Rendering, Autodesk and Adobe Suites.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,203 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,799
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#21
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-workstation-graphics-card,3493-3.html

^ some tests on workstation cards. As it seems, you might be much better served by a cheaper nvidia GTX card than an expensive quadro. Tho again keep in mind that the professional card will come with more stable drivers.

To be honest, the i7s are pretty good next to the xeons performance wise but all enthusiast/gaming motherboards are kind of crappy stability wise compared to even a mediocre workstation mobo and being able to run ECC memory is a plus as well.

There's nothing more frustrating than losing work due to a crash. We're a big office with 100+ people and the IT were experimenting with a few i7 systems and almost all of them blue screen randomly from time to time. My guess is due to some compatability issues between the ram/hdd and the mobo. Enthusiast boards do not go through the vigorous testing that workstation mobos go through.
Drivers for Workstation cards are tuned more for such programs compared to the Gaming cards