• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are 6-pin to 8-pin adapters safe for GPUs?

dexgo10

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Hi, I wonder if I could use a 6-pin to 8-pin adapter and if it safe. I found differents arguments about this subject. For example, the XFX rx570 incluides this adapter, but some people say that the adapters are dangerous. I want to buy a MSI rx570 armor but my psu just have 6 pin.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
706 (0.28/day)
System Name The Banshee
Processor i7 8700K @ 4.7GHz Core/4.4GHz Cache 1.19V
Motherboard AsRock Z170M OC Formula
Cooling CPU + GPU Custom loop
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 C14 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2X GTX 780 Ti SLI @ 1150/1950 1.175V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Audio Device(s) ATH-M20x
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
Both 6-pin and 6+2-pin PCIE power connectors have the same number of power and ground wires so there's no issue with using an adapter.
 

Lenne

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
8,179 (2.37/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name mATX gamebox
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50
Memory 32GB HyperX Fury @ 3466MHz 16-18-18-36-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti @ +100/625
Storage ~2TB of SSDs + 2TB USB HDD
Display(s) Dell P2412H + Viewsonic VA2465S
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio, Corsair HS35 Stereo Carbon
Power Supply Fractal Ion Gold 550W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary
Keyboard NOS C450 Mini Pro RGB (Outemu red)
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro English
Benchmark Scores 24164 on Fire Strike, 9808 on Time Spy
No problems, the +2 pins are just grounds IIRC. Hell, I've ran a HD 3870 X2 with an old 300W PSU back in the day with a lot of adapters. :laugh:
 

dexgo10

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
No problems, the +2 pins are just grounds IIRC. Hell, I've ran a HD 3870 X2 with an old 300W PSU back in the day with a lot of adapters. :laugh:

In my case I want to use it with a Seasonic 400w (ss400es). Do you think it´s fine? My cpu is i5 3550 (77w)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,666 (3.36/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1
Hell, I've ran a HD 3870 X2 with an old 300W PSU back in the day with a lot of adapters.
You are a very brave soul.
In my case I want to use it with a Seasonic 400w (ss400es). Do you think it´s fine? My cpu is i5 3550 (77w)
I would be reluctant with a 400w PSU. It *might* work but you have absolutely no headroom for additional draw or overclocking if you do. I'd be worried about it if I were you.
 

Lenne

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
8,179 (2.37/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name mATX gamebox
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50
Memory 32GB HyperX Fury @ 3466MHz 16-18-18-36-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti @ +100/625
Storage ~2TB of SSDs + 2TB USB HDD
Display(s) Dell P2412H + Viewsonic VA2465S
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio, Corsair HS35 Stereo Carbon
Power Supply Fractal Ion Gold 550W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary
Keyboard NOS C450 Mini Pro RGB (Outemu red)
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro English
Benchmark Scores 24164 on Fire Strike, 9808 on Time Spy
In my case I want to use it with a Seasonic 400w (ss400es). Do you think it´s fine? My cpu is i5 3550 (77w)
There shouldn't be problems with RX 570.

I had an E6400 @ 3.4GHz back then with that HD 3870 X2, I can't even understand how that old HEC 300W ran it without problems. I later upgraded the GPU to a HD 4890 @ 1040/1145, also ran flawlessly.

I don't recommend doing anything similar though. :D

E: I also had a Pentium G3258 @ 4.7 @ R9 290 with a XFX 430W PSU, no problems also with that.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,666 (3.36/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1
There shouldn't be problems with RX 570.

I had an E6400 @ 3.4GHz back then with that HD 3870 X2, I can't even understand how that old HEC 300W ran it without problems. I later upgraded the GPU to a HD 4890 @ 1040/1145, also ran flawlessly.

I don't recommend doing anything similar though. :D
Just because it didn't explode for you, doesn't mean it won't explode for someone else. The bottom line is that it might not be safe to do that, which is my point. We're not talking about a maxed out quality PSU here, we're talking about maxing out a cheap PSU. The results could be catastrophic. Why tempt fate?
Both 6-pin and 6+2-pin PCIE power connectors have the same number of power and ground wires so there's no issue with using an adapter.
8-pin has the same number of power pins, but it has two more ground pins than a 6-pin PCIe power connector. The adapter works because the extra two pins can be grounded, but your current carrying capacity is reduced in comparison. If a connection is loose, you could start a fire under heavy load. The point of the extra two ground pins is to distribute the current against ground.
 
Last edited:

dexgo10

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
There shouldn't be problems with RX 570.

I had an E6400 @ 3.4GHz back then with that HD 3870 X2, I can't even understand how that old HEC 300W ran it without problems. I later upgraded the GPU to a HD 4890 @ 1040/1145, also ran flawlessly.

I don't recommend doing anything similar though. :D

E: I also had a Pentium G3258 @ 4.7 @ R9 290 with a XFX 430W PSU, no problems also with that.
Yours psu´s rocks! :rockout: Well now I think that I can try with the adapter. What´s the worst scenario, if something goes wrong?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,666 (3.36/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1
What´s the worst scenario, if something goes wrong?
Worst case scenario is that you could destroy hardware or start a fire. It's your risk.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,949 (1.57/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Both 6-pin and 6+2-pin PCIE power connectors have the same number of power and ground wires so there's no issue with using an adapter.
No problems, the +2 pins are just grounds IIRC. Hell, I've ran a HD 3870 X2 with an old 300W PSU back in the day with a lot of adapters. :laugh:
Well, no, you're both wrong. 6 pin PCIE power cables are rated for 75 watts. 8 pin PCIE power cables are rated for 150 watts!
but my psu just have 6 pin
Sometimes, we should listen to what our hardware is trying to tell us.
Seasonic 400w (ss400es)

It looks like it has 17 amps (204 watts) available for the GPU. Rather disappointed that they didn't use a 6+2 cable for this PSU. The PSU should supply you with the power that you need to run your system, (at least what you've told us of it) (hint, hint, fill out your system specs) but Seasonic may have limited your ability to do so with the connectors provided. W1zzard tested a RX-570 4GB and it maxed out at 180 watts. If you subtract the 75 watts that the card can pull through the PCI-e slot, that still leaves 105 watts to come through that 75 watt rated 6 pin. I have no idea if Seasonic has over current protection on those connectors.

Possible solution: Get a 4 Pin Molex to 6 Pin PCI-Express PCIE and a dual 6 pin to 8 pin PCIE so you can pull some from the molex connector as well.
 

dexgo10

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
You are a very brave soul.

I would be reluctant with a 400w PSU. It *might* work but you have absolutely no headroom for additional draw or overclocking if you do. I'd be worried about it if I were you.

I´m a rookie in oc, so I won´t do that. I calculate the load wattage of my pc with the rx570 and it gave me between 332w and 345w. It´s safe?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
706 (0.28/day)
System Name The Banshee
Processor i7 8700K @ 4.7GHz Core/4.4GHz Cache 1.19V
Motherboard AsRock Z170M OC Formula
Cooling CPU + GPU Custom loop
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 C14 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2X GTX 780 Ti SLI @ 1150/1950 1.175V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Audio Device(s) ATH-M20x
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
Well, no, you're both wrong. 6 pin PCIE power cables are rated for 75 watts. 8 pin PCIE power cables are rated for 150 watts!
Electrically they are the same, Three +12V & Two Ground + One Sense wire. The extra pins on the 6+2 are a second sense and a third ground. 6pin = one sense shorted to ground, 8pin = both sense pins shorted to ground.

Basically 6 & 8pins are one and the same and can of course carry the same amount of power.
 

dexgo10

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Well, no, you're both wrong. 6 pin PCIE power cables are rated for 75 watts. 8 pin PCIE power cables are rated for 150 watts!

Sometimes, we should listen to what our hardware is trying to tell us.


It looks like it has 17 amps (204 watts) available for the GPU. Rather disappointed that they didn't use a 6+2 cable for this PSU. The PSU should supply you with the power that you need to run your system, (at least what you've told us of it) (hint, hint, fill out your system specs) but Seasonic may have limited your ability to do so with the connectors provided. W1zzard tested a RX-570 4GB and it maxed out at 180 watts. If you subtract the 75 watts that the card can pull through the PCI-e slot, that still leaves 105 watts to come through that 75 watt rated 6 pin. I have no idea if Seasonic has over current protection on those connectors.

Possible solution: Get a 4 Pin Molex to 6 Pin PCI-Express PCIE and a dual 6 pin to 8 pin PCIE so you can pull some from the molex connector as well.

Oh, I think it could be work only with the 6 pin to 8 pin, but I don´t know nothing about psu´s.

This is my full system specs: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/

I found that the power consumption is 330w and I worry about it, these are real watts?
86529.png


What do you think?
 

AlienIsGOD

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
5,086 (1.01/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name Aliens Ryzen Rig | Hand Me Down Special
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 @ 3.8ghz all cores | i5 3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite (F50a BIOS) | EVGA Z77 FTW
Cooling CM HYPER 212 RGB Black edition | CM Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan | 4 x 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 5700 8GB | Sapphire RX 480 Reference
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 SSD + 2TB M.2 SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | SSD + HDD
Display(s) Acer ED273 27" VA 144hz Freesync |Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P
Case NZXT H500 Black | NZXT 810 Switch
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750w 80+ Gold
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse w/ Razor Goliathus Chroma XL mousemat | Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB w/ Romer G tactile keys | Logitech G513 Carbon w/ Romer G tactile keys
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
i would just save some $ and get a proper wattage psu so u dont have to worry about this again in the future. 550-650w will do fine and last a cpl of builds if you upgrade down the road.
 

dexgo10

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
i would just save some $ and get a proper wattage psu so u dont have to worry about this again in the future. 550-650w will do fine and last a cpl of builds if you upgrade down the road.
That is the best option, I know, but the prices in my country are too high. For example, only the 6 pin to 8 pin adapter cost me 14 dollars.
 

AlienIsGOD

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
5,086 (1.01/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name Aliens Ryzen Rig | Hand Me Down Special
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 @ 3.8ghz all cores | i5 3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite (F50a BIOS) | EVGA Z77 FTW
Cooling CM HYPER 212 RGB Black edition | CM Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan | 4 x 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 5700 8GB | Sapphire RX 480 Reference
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 SSD + 2TB M.2 SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | SSD + HDD
Display(s) Acer ED273 27" VA 144hz Freesync |Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P
Case NZXT H500 Black | NZXT 810 Switch
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750w 80+ Gold
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse w/ Razor Goliathus Chroma XL mousemat | Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB w/ Romer G tactile keys | Logitech G513 Carbon w/ Romer G tactile keys
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
That is the best option, I know, but the prices in my country are too high. For example, only the 6 pin to 8 pin adapter cost me 14 dollars.
Save imo, Canadian prices are crap for hardware too. Better a long term investment rather than a quick fix
 
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
277 (0.25/day)
System Name Cheapskate Maximus
Processor Xeon W3680 @ 3.99Ghz [133x30] [1.375v]
Motherboard HP Z400 Rev 2
Cooling Alpenfohn Brocken v1
Memory 3 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX570 Nitro+
Storage 240GB WD SSD, 6 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" iiyama XB2783HSU AMVA+
Case AeroCool
Power Supply HP 600w Bronze (Delta)
Keyboard Gots keys
Software W10 x64
I use an adapter myself but my 12v rail can supply enough to allow me to use the 6+2 pin adapter - been using it for 8 months with no issue but it is a quality OEM supply. Some supplies, particularly cheap ones won't be safe supplying 150w through that single rail with an adapter on it.

A good example of a supply that can use the adapter is the Seasonic one posted above.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
12,101 (2.68/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // AMD Ryzen 5 5600G
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A // ASRock B550 ITX-AC
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Stock
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Trident Z Royal Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// APU
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Seasonic SYNCRO Q7// Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Seasonic SYNCRO 750 W // CORSAIR Vengeance 650M
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
The issue is "some" adapters are crap. But if it can be avoided, do not use one. Its just one more connection that can degrade over time. I have used them with 90 degree in a tight case but I try to avoid them.

Now you see power supply companies that split two to make 8 out of six. In that case the manufacture has done it, not some sweat shop in china
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
18,926 (5.83/day)
Location
USA
Hi, I wonder if I could use a 6-pin to 8-pin adapter and if it safe. I found differents arguments about this subject. For example, the XFX rx570 incluides this adapter, but some people say that the adapters are dangerous. I want to buy a MSI rx570 armor but my psu just have 6 pin.

Thanks!
There's a lot of info to go around, but the short answer, as many have said already: You'll be fine as long as your power supply has the wattage your system+GPU needs.

In my case I want to use it with a Seasonic 400w (ss400es). Do you think it´s fine? My cpu is i5 3550 (77w)
With this PSU and the CPU/GPU combo you've stated you'll be ok. I would recommend a 550w or 600w to give yourself room to upgrade, if you have not already bought the PSU.
 

dexgo10

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
I use an adapter myself but my 12v rail can supply enough to allow me to use the 6+2 pin adapter - been using it for 8 months with no issue but it is a quality OEM supply. Some supplies, particularly cheap ones won't be safe supplying 150w through that single rail with an adapter on it.

A good example of a supply that can use the adapter is the Seasonic one posted above.
I trust in the brand, but the only thing risky is that my psu has seven years

The issue is "some" adapters are crap. But if it can be avoided, do not use one. Its just one more connection that can degrade over time. I have used them with 90 degree in a tight case but I try to avoid them.

Now you see power supply companies that split two to make 8 out of six. In that case the manufacture has done it, not some sweat shop in china

yes, that´s a big issue, because a crappy cable could ruin some component of the pc

There's a lot of info to go around, but the short answer, as many have said already: You'll be fine as long as your power supply has the wattage your system+GPU needs.


With this PSU and the CPU/GPU combo you've stated you'll be ok. I would recommend a 550w or 600w to give yourself room to upgrade, if you have not already bought the PSU.
I don´t buy the psu yet, I was looking for information today and I read that the efficiency of the psu could change over time. Mine has seven years
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,949 (1.57/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
I think you should start with a PSU upgrade first.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
614 (0.11/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
The wires are not the issue in that cable; the contact rating is.

Those contacts are good for7A; 3 contact to 4 contact is significant; 21 to 28A.
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
1,646 (0.90/day)
I use dual 6 pin input to single 8 pin output for years now, no issues. I did find one adaptor that was not fully wired.
 
Top