• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Are these motherboard and RAM compatible with each other?

Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
1,644 (0.57/day)
Likes
1,037
Location
I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
Processor W3520 Xeon
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Cool it Vantage
Memory 6gb Dominators
Video Card(s) GTX 460
Storage 60Gb Vertex II 500Gb storage
Display(s) LG 42LH40 42" 1080P
Case 932 HAF
Audio Device(s) Voices in my head
Power Supply Raidmax730/
Software Win7Pro64
Benchmark Scores Pretty High one's. but it's not a contest/ I just read them for the articles.
#2
Nope went to manf. page the memory you want isn't supported by the mobo... sorry :(
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
Nope went to manf. page the memory you want isn't supported by the mobo... sorry :(
I don't see why it won't work. As far as I know, going to a manufacturer's webpage to check if thier motherboard specifically supports the memory you have is like looking for SLI certified memory (or anything else)... piss in the wind IMO.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
1,644 (0.57/day)
Likes
1,037
Location
I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
Processor W3520 Xeon
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Cool it Vantage
Memory 6gb Dominators
Video Card(s) GTX 460
Storage 60Gb Vertex II 500Gb storage
Display(s) LG 42LH40 42" 1080P
Case 932 HAF
Audio Device(s) Voices in my head
Power Supply Raidmax730/
Software Win7Pro64
Benchmark Scores Pretty High one's. but it's not a contest/ I just read them for the articles.
#4
I don't see why it won't work. As far as I know, going to a manufacturer's webpage to check if thier motherboard specifically supports the memory you have is like looking for SLI certified memory (or anything else)... piss in the wind IMO.
I never piss in the wind lol... but if you were new at this wouldn't you want something that you knew for sure was compatible?!? That way you didn't waste money and or time in the process???
:nutkick:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
certified memory means nothing.

For one, it means that only ram that existed prior to the motherboard being made, can be certified.


That ram will work - just set the voltage to 1.65v manually when you get it.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#6
Yeah Hat thats what i was thinking. Im not so sure they update that list too often at any rate. If its not, why wouldnt it be? seems to be within the specs of the mobo. Imo.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#7
certified memory means nothing.

For one, it means that only ram that existed prior to the motherboard being made, can be certified.


That ram will work - just set the voltage to 1.65v manually when you get it.

That i can do!


Anyone else have insights?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
two things...

1) I personally wont run ddr3 on a 775 again as the performance of the move is really poo. 775 just never really took advantage of ddr3 imho.

2) from what i can remember 775 bords play better with the 2.1v ddr3 than the low volt stuff anyways.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#9
Yeah, looks like you're better off keeping your money until you get enough to move to the i7, then ddr3's performance will shine (and you can't use ddr2 on the i7 anyway :p)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#10
Crap! Really? So....Do you think new egg will take 'em back if i dont open em? I posted this after i stupidly ordered the stuff. I second guessed myself...too late it would seem. And the ddr2 1200mhz Gskill tridents i ordered wont work with my OC, AND even when i set my bios back it crashed my computer.I installed my cheap qmonda 800mhz, everything seems just fine. Of course i neglected to hang on to the packaging, so im out another 130 bucks. Even after i flashed my bios, now it says itll take up to 1333 mhz. But still crashes. Im not ready to go I7 yet, i havent had this chip long. About a year.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#11
thats board is the one i want aarrgghh and newegg canada dont have it and she said will not be selling it in canada, Ill buy your board lol
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
999 (0.29/day)
Likes
170
System Name Filtration tower
Processor i5 2500k@3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77
Cooling Noctua14
Memory DDR3 8gbs
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX970 Extreme
Storage intel ssd 220gbs
Display(s) AOC 2560x1080
Case Thermaltake v71
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 500w
#12
Crap! Really? So....Do you think new egg will take 'em back if i dont open em? I posted this after i stupidly ordered the stuff. I second guessed myself...too late it would seem. And the ddr2 1200mhz Gskill tridents i ordered wont work with my OC, AND even when i set my bios back it crashed my computer.I installed my cheap qmonda 800mhz, everything seems just fine. Of course i neglected to hang on to the packaging, so im out another 130 bucks. Even after i flashed my bios, now it says itll take up to 1333 mhz. But still crashes. Im not ready to go I7 yet, i havent had this chip long. About a year.
u rushed , but now u have a good reason to start building i7 , or start saving up
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#13
well, i certainly have a reason! I think the reason im having the current memory issues is i didnt see on gigabytes web site any support for a 2x2 gig set up at 1200mhz. Is there anything out there that would support this configuration?
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#14
thats board is the one i want aarrgghh and newegg canada dont have it and she said will not be selling it in canada, Ill buy your board lol
Ya want it? ill sell to ya if yu wanna pay to ship it. I havent even received it yet, but its yours if you want to do it! Same price as listed on the egg.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#15
Ya want it? ill sell to ya if yu wanna pay to ship it. I havent even received it yet, but its yours if you want to do it! Same price as listed on the egg.
ive been trying to get one all over the place lol begged newegg canada to get one in but they said no for some crazy reason that not all stuff sold on there us sitte will be sold in canada yayd yayda .... sure keep me in mind when you get it!! it is for ddr3 ,lga775, and pci-e x2 as i wasn to crossfire someday, thanx
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#16
ive been trying to get one all over the place lol begged newegg canada to get one in but they said no for some crazy reason that not all stuff sold on there us sitte will be sold in canada yayd yayda .... sure keep me in mind when you get it!! it is for ddr3 ,lga775, and pci-e x2 as i wasn to crossfire someday, thanx

Yep! all those, ddr3 2x pci for crossfire, 1 16x the other 8x socket 775. ich10r southbridge. Do you already have memory? Maybe the stuff i have is too much for this board but if you have lower clock stuff i would think it would be a great board.



So...Does anyone know where i can get a crossfire ddr2 1200 775 board that will support 4 gigs,2 gigs per slot? Or does anyone have a board similar to mine that is running a similar set up? I really think its the memory tho. I do like the gigabyte flavor, but will entertain another brand such as asus.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#17
yes i have the ddr3 ram comming from newegg and some from danishdevil here at the site, my elpida ddr3 that iam useing now aint that great to say the least lol, let me know when you get it
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#18
I ran 2X2GB of 1200 on my P35DK with a 500FSB. Most P45 boards will do crossfire, and most of the midrange to upper end should run 1200mhz.

Although, if you were to say buy an ASUS P7P55D for the same as what you paid for that GB mobo, all you would need is a proc to throw on it, and most of your current 775 goods should get you close to a $200 i5 750, and just keep the Kingston.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,938
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#20

Actually...this is what im thinking i want to get if i move up to the I series..Tell me what you all think!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128423

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115225

Go big or go home right? besides..triple channel memory? i just need one more stick of what i have. Plus, eventually ill be getting another grfx card, why not have a board that'll run crossfire both at 16x?

Hell yeah! Besides i already have a xiggy dark knight ready for action, and it'll mount up to both skt 775 and 1366, so im ahead there as well.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#21
Bump..No opinions?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#22
I would ask over in the TPU i7 thread in the overclocking and cooling section. IIRC I was reading that the 930 isnt really a plus over the 920, but maybe I was remembering the comparrison against another chip.

Good board, and in the GB forums at TT there are a few threads for running Kingston ram. ( a few timing and voltage suggestions for help)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#23
I would ask over in the TPU i7 thread in the overclocking and cooling section. IIRC I was reading that the 930 isnt really a plus over the 920, but maybe I was remembering the comparrison against another chip.

Good board, and in the GB forums at TT there are a few threads for running Kingston ram. ( a few timing and voltage suggestions for help)
I think i will ask! Thank you for the help. Now i just have to raise the money to get the stuff..i suppose it wont hurt to delay my buid some more and order these bit by bit..ill get there eventually!