• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are these parts compatible?

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#26
Would that card be compatible with everything? If so, I will more than likely swap that out for the 670 I currently have chosen. I just did that 670 because I'd prefer a nvidia card, but if I can get better performance for less money and no problems, I'm all for it!
yeah dont buy the ultimate OS. but reg home premium 64 bit.

and yes 7970 will be compatible. I love my 7970. $410 I paid for it, included the arctic cooler as well. used from a buddy. that sapphire 7970 for 399.99 is a great deal. OC in CCC or Sapphire Trixx. 1125/1575 no voltage increase but with 20% power slider. ;) enjoy
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#27
eidairaman1, So would those numbers be different because I'm not using that motherboard, or roughly between 28.61 and 117?

Phusius, Thanks for the help/recommendations :) Anything else you think could be improved?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#28
eidairaman1, So would those numbers be different because I'm not using that motherboard, or roughly between 28.61 and 117?

Phusius, Thanks for the help/recommendations :) Anything else you think could be improved?
I just provided those boards as a relative performance check for the config youre getting (Even comparing 2 of the same model boards numbers can fluctuate by 5-10%), bear in mind different video cards have different affects, Since You will be using a 670 You shouldnt really have any trouble running any games or any recording software/ would be faster than the 6950 2 GB. Only way to reduce that further is to move up to a 680 or a 7970.

However if you run SLI/Crossfire, Configs can be buggy at times, basically meaning run at own risk.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#29
eidairaman1, So would those numbers be different because I'm not using that motherboard, or roughly between 28.61 and 117?

Phusius, Thanks for the help/recommendations :) Anything else you think could be improved?
yeah get a sound card. asus xonar dg is wha ti use i think amazon has them on sale for 20 bucks right now. has a built in headphone amp to if u want to experiment with audiophile headphones someday.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#30
yeah get a sound card. asus xonar dg is wha ti use i think amazon has them on sale for 20 bucks right now. has a built in headphone amp to if u want to experiment with audiophile headphones someday.
That or a HT Omega
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#31
Well I think I might go with the 7970 if it would be worth it as far as gaming goes. Basically, I want to be able to play games on max settings (or as close as possible).. With the current options (including the 7970) could there be any estimation as to how well it would perform with/without recording in FPS? I've been doing some Googleing and haven't really found much in general of performance of the 7970
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#32
Well I think I might go with the 7970 if it would be worth it as far as gaming goes. Basically, I want to be able to play games on max settings (or as close as possible).. With the current options (including the 7970) could there be any estimation as to how well it would perform with/without recording in FPS? I've been doing some Googleing and haven't really found much in general of performance of the 7970

Im assuming you will be running a monitor/TV with a resolution of 1920x1080P or higher?
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#33
My current monitor resolution is 1440x900, but I'm eventually going to be getting 2 new monitors and using those.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,175 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,826
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#34
Any of those GPUs will max all setting. They are so close in caparison that you will be happy with any 670, 680, 7970 running 1920 x 1080
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#35
Any of those GPUs will max all setting. They are so close in caparison that you will be happy with any 670, 680, 7970 running 1920 x 1080
So will I have half the frames with a dual-monitor setup, or should it stay the same if I only run the game on one monitor?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#37
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#38
Battlefield 3, Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 (once it's released), Minecraft, and a few others. And I won't be using the two monitors for gaming, mainly for coding (I'm a website developer/designer). But I would possibly have like Firefox open on the other monitor now and then to maybe load a video to look something up or to just look something up in general
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#39
Battlefield 3, Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 (once it's released), Minecraft, and a few others. And I won't be using the two monitors for gaming, mainly for coding (I'm a website developer/designer). But I would possibly have like Firefox open on the other monitor now and then to maybe load a video to look something up or to just look something up in general
ok so you will be multi-tasking and not stretching the games across multiple monitors (Flight/Racing games normally support multi monitor setup/ others not so much)

You will be fine with any of the cards specified,

Look Up EyeFinity vs NVidia Surround though.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#41
Yeah, I will be multi-tasking not stretching the game haha. And I'll look that up now :)
Ive only read that Eyefinity only requires 1 card to operate where as Surround takes 2 or more, thus increasing price.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#42
Are you referring to this?:
You see, natively AMD Radeon HD graphics cards support only two displays, no matter what connection protocol is used. But if you want to connect a third, fourth, fifth or sixth monitor you need an adapter supporting DisplayPort for each monitor after the first two. On the positive note I have to say that the whole system is quite user friendly and its broad compatibility allows you to tie together different display models.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#43

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#46
I'm not too worried about a multi-monitor setup right now, that will come later. For now, I just wanted reassurance that I'm not gonna spend over $2,000 and end up having something that won't work because I'd have to swallow the money. Also, which version should I get of Windows (Home, Ultimate, etc)? Home Premium is capped at 16GB of RAM - http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...=vs.85).aspx#physical_memory_limits_windows_7
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#47
I'm not too worried about a multi-monitor setup right now, that will come later. For now, I just wanted reassurance that I'm not gonna spend over $2,000 and end up having something that won't work because I'd have to swallow the money
well in that case pull the trigger on the setup.

I Would honestly recommend Windows 7 Pro, supports 192GB

To me it appears you will eventually upgrade that CPU, add more ram and even change video cards. while keeping the rest of the machine the same
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#48
well in that case pull the trigger on the setup.

I Would honestly recommend Windows 7 Pro, supports 192GB

To me it appears you will eventually upgrade that CPU, add more ram and even change video cards. while keeping the rest of the machine the same
I'll eventually upgrade things as new stuff becomes available, but I'm hoping the system will last for 5+ years (though I might upgrade the RAM/video card before then). And so I shouldn't have problems with anything, right? Like I have enough slots for the case fans, everything's compatible and I have enough connectors from the PSU to support the graphics card, etc? Sorry, I'm just nervous about it - it's my first build, after all haha
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,762 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#49
Well thats as future proof as a machine can get i see, its ready for today and leaves room for growth tomorrow

Honestly run that machine at stock for stability, overclocking is always unpredictable. later on when you have a lil more knowledge and experience you can overclock
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#50
One thing I'm curious about though is are the SATA power/data cables with the PSU, or do they come with whatever device it is? (graphics card, hard drive, etc) And I plan to run it at stock :) I thought I saw a "quick overclock" in the UEFI bios for the motherboard, so I might try that after I monitor temperatures and put it through it's paces