• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Arkham City DX11 - Smooth For Anyone?

Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#1
I've only had my system a few weeks, seems to be running most things fine. Mafia 2 is a little bit problematic with pausing and such but on the whole games are running fairly smooth.

Got Batman Arkham City GOTY on Steam yesterday and running it in DX11 max settings with 2xMSAA seems to be stuttering, pausing and slowing down all over the place. My hard drives seem to be going mad whilst playing it and I'm just wondering if anyone else can play it smooth in DX11 or if it's a common problem?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#2
What resolution are you playing at?
Have you monitored your ingame FPS?
What HDD do you have? is it near full/fragmented?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#3
1080p
27-60fps
Fully defragmented HDDs, over 400gb space left on wd 640gb black
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#4
just wondering if there may be something that's using the HDD while you are playing, you should be able to check in resource monitor also set your AV to silent/gaminjg mode if it has it, make sure Windows, GPU and system drivers, DX and anything else such as .net framework etc are all up to date.

Have you tried to lower the visual settings to see if the same thing happens when your not maxing the game?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#5
@NdMk2o1o - All drivers and such things as Direct X/redistributables etc are up to date and HDD don't seem to be showing any weird things in task manager.
On lower settings I'm still getting long pauses and stutters?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,696 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#6
is there any chance that PhysX is enabled? (for both titles)
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#7
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#8
Yes enabled on both, high
I would of thought that a 660 would have enough grunt to run the game and Physx at 1080p but maybe try reducing the Physx settings see if this helps?

Your CPU isn't really high end either what kind of OC have you got on that when you game, I would imagine you would need to be running at 4ghz to eliminate any bottleneck.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#9
It runs BF3 Ultra like a champ with AA....currently at 4.2Ghz. I'm gonna try stock and then a reinstall, :). If I still have issues I may try my copy of Windows 7. I'll keep you informed and thanks for the ideas so far.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#10
Arkham City has always been a stutter fest with DX11 because its horrible implemented. It has something to do with inefficiency when loading textures when going into a new area and such. Its better now then it was at launch, but still pretty shitty.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#11
I've only had my system a few weeks, seems to be running most things fine. Mafia 2 is a little bit problematic with pausing and such but on the whole games are running fairly smooth.

Got Batman Arkham City GOTY on Steam yesterday and running it in DX11 max settings with 2xMSAA seems to be stuttering, pausing and slowing down all over the place. My hard drives seem to be going mad whilst playing it and I'm just wondering if anyone else can play it smooth in DX11 or if it's a common problem?
Very old news actually, but Arkham City is one of the worst implementations of DX11 as far as both lack of optimization and content. Meaning it bogs the game down WAY too much for what little tesselation there is.

Here's a side by side video comparison of DX9 vs DX11 in Arkham City. The only textures that look noticeably different are Ivy's vines. Most, even with high end rigs, just run it in DX9 mode. I know you got a nice new rig and all, but there's plenty better games to experience DX11 in than this one.

The system used to make this video has a 2600k with 570 dual SLI, and the author talks about FPS drops and freezes, not to mention the fact that Rocksteady themselves recommend people run it in DX9, despite having delayed the PC launch just to add DX11 support.


I haven't tried running the game in DX11 since getting my 7970, but with as little DX11 visual treatments there are, I can't see any point to it.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#12
Great to know thanks, just reinstalled so I shall try it again anyway but shall not feel inadequate having to play in DX9 for a smoother ride lol.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#13
Yeah no one wants lag when Bman is trying to hop around from one thug to another and time his punches and counters just for a bit more detail on a few vines that are seen in only a few parts of the game.

Hopefully Rocksteady will improve at using DX11.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#14
Following a reinstall of Windows 8 Pro and setting a 24/7 overclock of 4.6Ghz I can now play the game with max details/PhysX High and 8xMSAA and although framerates still dip to 25 at times it's very smooth and very playable. HAPPY :)

EDIT - Don't know what sorted it but hopefully it will stay like this, it's a great game and some of the visuals are a treat. Also got Alice: Madness Returns and some of the PhysX details on that are awesome.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,740 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#15
I would say its not entirely Rocksteady at fault here they are using Unreal Engine and lets face it DX11 on Unreal Engine wasnt sorted untill Unreal Engine 4 which isnt in use on anything yet. So in reality they tried to force it and instead they choked on it then add the fact that PhysX effects choke most Nvidia GPUs and you end up with a Game that using an unoptimized engine with unoptimized code using proprietary physics effects

with a GTX 660 with the settings your trying to run

Min = 23 Avg = 51 Max = 89

To give you an idea how terrible that is its roughly the same performance a GTX 470 will spit on when it comes to this game Good game terribly optimized in nearly every way

DX11 cuts FPS in half Physx cuts it again even further. pick one or the other but really just turn of DX11 lol

essentially in Heavily PhysX enabled games it seems the GTX 660 doesnt do a whole lot better than the GTX 470 that said if your happy with it as is then lets cross are fingers and hope performance stays good

http://www.comptoir-hardware.com/ar...9293-test-bilan-de-physx-en-2012.html?start=2
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#16
Don't know what sorted it but hopefully it will stay like this...
I didn't see you mention DX11 after the changes, so if you're running it on DX9 now, that is likely the bulk of the difference.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#17
It's still in DX11 and honestly the 25fps in game seems as smooth as Crysis does when it's that low, I'm happy with the experience whereas before it was just stuttering all over the shop. I'm not going to touch it now as I'm happy, if it isn't broke don't try and fix it lol.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#18
It's still in DX11 and honestly the 25fps in game seems as smooth as Crysis does when it's that low, I'm happy with the experience whereas before it was just stuttering all over the shop. I'm not going to touch it now as I'm happy, if it isn't broke don't try and fix it lol.
Personally I can't see enabling DX11 just to see more detail in Ivy's vines in the very few scenes they're actually showing, esp if it means FPS dipping as low as 25. You may not notice any problems yet, but when you get into bigger fights with lots of AI, it could cause problems.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#19
I'll see how it goes although so far it's been a very nice experience :)
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
253 (0.14/day)
Likes
196
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast!
Processor Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Corsair H100 + 2x Corsair 120mm SP Performance fans
Memory 4x 4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133mhz
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire R9 290X + EK WB
Storage 128GB Corsair ForceGT SSD (OS) + 2TB + 2x 1TB WDC Black
Display(s) Acer XR341CK / AOC Q2963PM
Case Caselabs Magnum M8
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3 + HFM HE1000/HE560/HE-4/AKG K812/Senn HD800
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Leopold FC660C Topre
Software 64bit Win10 Pro
#20
Bah, I've given up playing Batman AC due to this craptastic stutter fest, Batman AA runs smooth as silk with everything maxed to the hilt. When I tried Batman AC, I could no help but notice the awful stutter, yes, I'd maxed everything, but this is on my 2nd rig which has an FX8120 @3.7ghz + 2x GTX670 SLi'ed.....still a mess. Whether the FW310.70 had sorted out this issue I can't say simply because the experience had left a bad taste in the mouth.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#21
Yeah it certainly doesn't load textures as smoothly as AA, and it's not just due to a large outdoor map. One of the parts of the game that has the most stutter in fact is the dilapidated apts of the underground.

That said, that spec and certainly the one in your sys specs should be plenty to eliminate most if not all of the stutter. Were you running it in Dx11 by any chance? I can't stress enough that there's far too little DX11 detail to even be worth the performance hit.