• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Artifacts appearing in game, most commonly with two or more programs running

Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
PC Spec:

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ASUS Sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Gigabyte HD7970 1GHz Clock
Novatech powerstation black edition 750W Silent ATX2 Modular
AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T 3.2GHz
Corsair CL9 8GB 1866 Ram (running at 1333)
120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive (OS installed on this)
2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Monitor #1 - BenQ G2450H (HDMI)
Monitor #2 - Philips 230C, CRT (DVI)
Nothing is overclocked

Other parts i've tried:

Corsair CL9 8GB 1866 Ram (Running at 1333), different cards
GA-990FXA-UD3
AMD FX 8350 Eight-Core Processor 4.00 GHz
Just the SSD alone

I recently built a new PC and i've been having a strange graphical issue, when i'm running more than one application at a time (such as a youtube video and Diablo 3) which ever application I opened second will have some visual issues appear on it at times. On Diablo 3 I get two small parallel white/black lines scattered around the screen, on a youtube video I get white lines moving diagonally across the screen, on World of Warcraft I get objects that look kind of like a cracked mirror scattered around the screen, on far cry 3 there has been large red squares when I look into the distance and on League of Legends I get black squares surrounding any object I hover my mouse over. This issues don't always appear instantly i'll usually need to play for a bit or change a setting, like in diablo 3 change from windows mode to fullscreen, yet once they have appeared they will always appear instantly when running two applications until I reset. I've found that if in Diablo 3 the shadows are set to medium the issue will go away for a while but eventually it'll reappear.

I've tried everything I can think of to fix this, i've updated the BIOS, tried only one monitor, updated Windows, updated firmware on my SSD, updated my gfx card drivers, tried different graphics card driver versions, turned down the clock on my gfx card, overclocked everything, checked temperatures and formatted my PC then tested with the bare minimum installed but the issue remains.

I've also run a FurMark 1920x1080 Burn-In 15min benchmark and a 15min ATITool Artifacts Scan, both ran through fine with 0 errors and temps never went above 80 degrees. So I really am just lost, does anyone have any ideas?

Heres are some screens of the error in diablo 3 and wow... I added the black circles with paint to try and point out some of the errors:

WoW - http://postimage.org/image/utuiua8u1/full/
Diablo 3 - http://postimage.org/image/so07zs5dl/full/
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
The wow shot just looks like empty parts in the sprites and I cannot see anything in the diablo 3 picture but I would say more driver related or game engine based.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
The wow shot just looks like empty parts in the sprites and I cannot see anything in the diablo 3 picture but I would say more driver related or game engine based.
Is it just me, or did my post just disappear? o_O
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,071 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,986
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
Is it just me, or did my post just disappear? o_O
the OP triggered the spam filter, which caused the post to go into the moderation queue.

for new users with low post count the filter is set to aggressive to cut down on spam
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#5
the OP triggered the spam filter, which caused the post to go into the moderation queue.

for new users with low post count the filter is set to aggressive to cut down on spam
Thanks.. twice, heh :D. Ok now back to the problem at hand yeh the diablo 3 error is difficult to see but if u look close you will see what seems to be 4 black dots and 3 white dots in two lines parallel to each other scattered all around the screen. I really am lost on how to fix this, i've had people tell me it's a faulty graphics card but at the same time tell me a faulty graphics card wouldn't pass the furmark test.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#6
One thing i've not tried is upping the voltage on my GPU mostly because i've heard it's dangerous and don't really know how to go about it... Could doing this help at all, and if so could I get some recommendations as to what programs to use and by how much??
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
476
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
#7
One thing i've not tried is upping the voltage on my GPU mostly because i've heard it's dangerous and don't really know how to go about it... Could doing this help at all, and if so could I get some recommendations as to what programs to use and by how much??
You shouldn't have to do this with the GPU at stock. I wouldn't touch the card's clocks or voltages until this issue is resolved.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
One thing i've not tried is upping the voltage on my GPU mostly because i've heard it's dangerous and don't really know how to go about it... Could doing this help at all, and if so could I get some recommendations as to what programs to use and by how much??
Switching between loads just causes issues like this, unfortunately. you get the same running multiple GPU-accelerated flash videos, too. Heck, try to do anything, two things at once, and you'll notice problems, even on NVidia(sometimes fullscreens apps get set off of fullscreen, most common issue, when secondary app requests main GPU time).

AMD is a bit more problematic with this, seems related to memory, and they have admitted already that the driver's memory management needs some work.

Until this driver problem is fixed, issues like this are just how it is. I am pretty confident that the issues I have with flicker on secondary monitors with Eyefinity is a victim of the same problem.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
#9
From experience, ...

- memory timings could be an issue
- thermal issues with the GPU card; check the heat-sink, fan and air-circulation.
- driver may be corruptly installed, reinstall or find the latest driver (or older driver that worked).
- If the MB is OCed, then the northbridge could cause the display problems.
- Look for a MB BIOS update to fix any issues ...
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#10
From experience, ...

- memory timings could be an issue
- thermal issues with the GPU card; check the heat-sink, fan and air-circulation.
- driver may be corruptly installed, reinstall or find the latest driver (or older driver that worked).
- If the MB is OCed, then the northbridge could cause the display problems.
- Look for a MB BIOS update to fix any issues ...
Sadly, i've already tried all this multiple times :( I did do a little paragraph of the things i've attempted. For Mem timings and bios i've already tried different RAM and a different motherboard. Nothing is OCed, i've tried atleast 5 different gfx card drivers and i've lost count of the amount of times i've formatted now :p.

Maybe there are some unofficial gfx card drivers out there, i've seen sites advertising them but i've never really gone near them myself, could somthing like that help?

You shouldn't have to do this with the GPU at stock. I wouldn't touch the card's clocks or voltages until this issue is resolved.
Oh ok, i've found I need to flash the BIOS anyway to unlock my GPUs voltages and that's not something I wanted to do so glad I don't have to :) thanks.

Switching between loads just causes issues like this, unfortunately. you get the same running multiple GPU-accelerated flash videos, too. Heck, try to do anything, two things at once, and you'll notice problems, even on NVidia(sometimes fullscreens apps get set off of fullscreen, most common issue, when secondary app requests main GPU time).

AMD is a bit more problematic with this, seems related to memory, and they have admitted already that the driver's memory management needs some work.

Until this driver problem is fixed, issues like this are just how it is. I am pretty confident that the issues I have with flicker on secondary monitors with Eyefinity is a victim of the same problem.
So are we saying from this based on the results of the multiple tests i've run so far I should assume that graphics card is not faulty and that it is in fact a software issue, just not one I can resolve? Are there any tests out there that can 100% prove without a doubt that my graphics card isn't faulty?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,647
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#11
Your issues are driver related.

No need to worry about your card. just keep it cool.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
So are we saying from this based on the results of the multiple tests i've run so far I should assume that graphics card is not faulty and that it is in fact a software issue, just not one I can resolve? Are there any tests out there that can 100% prove without a doubt that my graphics card isn't faulty?
Yes, were are saying that the problems aren't avoidable, especially since I have the same or similar problems with my perfectly working cards.

You know, for me, being able to run BF3 on the FireStorm map for over an hour is usually good enough. I have also found that recently released drivers now properly crash and restart without causing BSOD, so they are better at reporting actual problems.

Also, Gigabyte has tools to update BIOS of the card, as well as clock the card, and they work quite well. I am using Gigabyte 7950, and it works great, as does the software.

As far as I am concerned, the issues arise from the GPU having to switch between data streams of the concurrent apps you are running.

If you have no issues with a single app, that says a lot about stability, IMHO. IF you can run single apps just fine, for hours on end, then I'd not worry about it too much, and patiently wait for a driver update. Submitting feedback to AMD's driver team would be a good idea too. I had an issue with PCMark7, and AMD has already fixed it. ;)
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#13
Yes, were are saying that the problems aren't avoidable, especially since I have the same or similar problems with my perfectly working cards.

You know, for me, being able to run BF3 on the FireStorm map for over an hour is usually good enough. I have also found that recently released drivers now properly crash and restart without causing BSOD, so they are better at reporting actual problems.

Also, Gigabyte has tools to update BIOS of the card, as well as clock the card, and they work quite well. I am using Gigabyte 7950, and it works great, as does the software.

As far as I am concerned, the issues arise from the GPU having to switch between data streams of the concurrent apps you are running.

If you have no issues with a single app, that says a lot about stability, IMHO. IF you can run single apps just fine, for hours on end, then I'd not worry about it too much, and patiently wait for a driver update. Submitting feedback to AMD's driver team would be a good idea too. I had an issue with PCMark7, and AMD has already fixed it. ;)
Alright, thanks for all the feedback! A few things i'm curious about though, if this were the issue wouldn't there be a lot more complaints about it? I mean my issue isn't only on one application it's if I run any two things at the same time, which i'm sure a lot of people do... Why would I be suffering from this problem when others with the exact same card arn't?

Also, if this were the issue then when I plug it into a different computer I assume the same issue should occur? Is there any unofficial drivers you might recommend that could solve the problem, older driver versions you would consider to be a more stable option, or any other things I could attempt? Is there any way of proving 100% that my card isn't faulty?
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#14
May have missed it, did you try it in another computer?
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#15
May have missed it, did you try it in another computer?
I've not yet, my CPU popped and i've been waiting on a return which will be here by Friday. Gonna test it in a different machine then, until then though lets say the issue does occur on a different machine what does that mean and then lets say it doesn't... What would that mean?
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#16
Artifacting most likely is a bad solder point IMO.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#17
I have had this issue with my NVIDIA cards as well, as dave stated its most likely a driver issue. If it was a bad solder point as dr states it would happen in bios as well.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#18
I have had this issue with my NVIDIA cards as well, as dave stated its most likely a driver issue. If it was a bad solder point as dr states it would happen in bios as well.
What do u mean happen in Bios? Also my motherboard the sabertooth r2.0 990fx does a system check before it comes on would it not pick up on bad solder points?
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#19
You would have corruption when your in bios if there was a bad solder point
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#20
You would have corruption when your in bios if there was a bad solder point
Says who? A bad or weak solder point can cause artifacting. I had it once and had to bake the card. it is common.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#21
Says who? A bad or weak solder point can cause artifacting. I had it once and had to bake the card. it is common.
Is there any way of testing to see if this is the issue?
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#22
Is there any way of testing to see if this is the issue?
Try it in another computer. Same issue, then its the card.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#23
Says who? A bad or weak solder point can cause artifacting. I had it once and had to bake the card. it is common.
Yes it can cause artifacting but it wont be limited to just the OS.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Fitsu
Processor AMD Phenom(tm) x6 1090T 3.2GHz
Motherboard sabertooth 990fx r2.0
Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1866MHz CL9 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte hd7970 Ghz Edition
Storage 120GB Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, 2TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive
Display(s) Philips 230C
Power Supply NOVATECH POWERSTATION BLACK EDITION 750W SILENT ATX2 MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#24
Other than trying the graphics card in another computer, as I am currently unable to do that but will do it within the next couple of days... Is there anything more than what i've already done that I can try? Any setting or recommended driver versions?

Thanks again for all the responses, I tried this on over 7 forums and this is the only one to get any real traffic :).

Also, this solder point would it be visually noticeable? Maybe I could take some pics of my graphics card and upload them if that would help?
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#25
it would be visible but not always. Scan through it with a magnifying glass. I'm sure you'll know when you see a bad solder as it doesn't look like the others.

But on the other hand, what you're experiencing is most likely a driver issue with memory management. I have the same problem with my 7850 running multiple programs. I think the fact that you even mentioned that you are running multiple programs means that you already have suspected it.