• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Artifacts in Crysis with ATI 4850

phantom8

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel E8400 @3GHz
Motherboard Asus P5K-E/WiFi
Cooling PC Cooler
Memory A-Data DDR2 800MHz (1x2GB + 2x2GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor 4850 + Asus 3650
Storage 2xWD640GB + 1xSeagate 500GB + 1xSeagate 250GB
Display(s) Benq FP241W + Philips 170B4
Case Coolermaster Elite 332
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Acbel E2 470W
Software Windows 32Bit Ultimate
#1
I've bought a Powercolor 4850 a few days ago and have been playing Crysis. Yesterday, I upgraded Catalyst driver from 8.7 to 8.8. Now, I notice there are some artifacts when playing at school level (before you faced the 2 tanks). Here are some screen shots. I don't know whether this is due to the new CAT 8.8 driver or problems with Crysis with 4850. Does anyone encounter similar behaviour?



 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
What temps is your gfx card running at? and is it OC'd?

Could you also fill out your system specs please. Go to userCp at the top of the page then on the left click edit system specs ;)
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,912 (1.11/day)
Likes
886
Location
West Chester, OH
#3
It's prolly getting too hot. Turn up the fan speed to see if that helps. 40-45% fan speed. A lot of 4800 series owners have to turn up the fan speed to keep the cards from overheating and showing artifacts.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#4
we cant help you unless you help us =/ fill out your system specs, get us idle and running temps for your graphics card, overclock values, etc!
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#5
Hm.
I wonder if 8.8cats are making the HD4850s run hotter by pushing it a bit more.
I get an extra 129marks in 3DMark06' over the 8.7cats.
I noticed my HD4850 is now getting a max load temp of 91degC when it used to be 88-90degC.
No issues though.

But I don't know if its due to the res I'm running at now.
I was running at 1280x1024, but I upgraded my monitor and now I run at 1440x900.
But there isn't that many more pixels for the GPU to work on between the two resolutions.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#6
Hm.
I wonder if 8.8cats are making the HD4850s run hotter by pushing it a bit more.
I get an extra 129marks in 3DMark06' over the 8.7cats.
I noticed my HD4850 is now getting a max load temp of 91degC when it used to be 88-90degC.
No issues though.

But I don't know if its due to the res I'm running at now.
I was running at 1280x1024, but I upgraded my monitor and now I run at 1440x900.
But there isn't that many more pixels for the GPU to work on between the two resolutions.
There are actually less pixels at 1440x900 :p
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
I've had this problem, and it's not a heat issue. It's a Crysis issue. The only thing I can recommend is to stop playing that trainwreck of a game.:ohwell:
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#8
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#9
I've had this problem, and it's not a heat issue. It's a Crysis issue. The only thing I can recommend is to stop playing that trainwreck of a game.:ohwell:
Yeah I agree, happens to me as well and its the only game I get artifacts in.
 

phantom8

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel E8400 @3GHz
Motherboard Asus P5K-E/WiFi
Cooling PC Cooler
Memory A-Data DDR2 800MHz (1x2GB + 2x2GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor 4850 + Asus 3650
Storage 2xWD640GB + 1xSeagate 500GB + 1xSeagate 250GB
Display(s) Benq FP241W + Philips 170B4
Case Coolermaster Elite 332
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Acbel E2 470W
Software Windows 32Bit Ultimate
#10
Just added back my PC config in the profile. I've also tested Crysis with my other ATI 3650. Although it's much slower, it has the same artifact issues. As others confirmed, this is the problem with Crysis. Just not sure if Nvidia has it or not.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#11
i had it too phantom but i used ati tray tools to set my fan to 45% its running fine now, maybe you should try that too
 

Jmatt110

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
510 (0.15/day)
Likes
57
Location
Australia
Processor Intel 2600k @ 4.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling EK Supreme
Memory 16gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) 2x 6990 Quadfire
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 120gb, 2 storage drives.
Display(s) Eyefinity - 3x Dell U3011
Case CaseLabs TH10
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair AX1200W + AX850W
Software Windows 7 x64
#12
I have the same problem when I play Crysis, only program that artifacts for me.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#13
They aren't artifacts, the textures are just ripping.