• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Artifacts in Games

sreading

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi

I have a ATI Radeon X1950 Pro card. Ever since I bought it (9 months ago), I get loads and loads of artifacts in all games that I play. I can usually only play a game for a few minutes before the artfacts appear and then the PC finally crashes. This is the same on Vista as well as XP Pro SP2.

So I decided to take some snapshots of the games when the artifacts appeared. But when looking back at them, none of them had any artifacts showing.

Does anyone know why this would be?

Thanks in advance

Scott
 
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
3,480 (0.76/day)
Likes
537
#2
Hi

I have a ATI Radeon X1950 Pro card. Ever since I bought it (9 months ago), I get loads and loads of artifacts in all games that I play. I can usually only play a game for a few minutes before the artfacts appear and then the PC finally crashes. This is the same on Vista as well as XP Pro SP2.

So I decided to take some snapshots of the games when the artifacts appeared. But when looking back at them, none of them had any artifacts showing.

Does anyone know why this would be?

Thanks in advance

Scott

Are you doing screenshots or are you actually using a camera?
Check to see if all your fans are spinning, even the one on your 1950.
What are the temps like on the card,..can you use a temp monitor?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,311 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,718
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#3
Clean the possible dust build up inside the heatsink near the fan too.

Clean other places to all vents on the system to there's probaly a load of build up of dust int he front of the case as well.

You could use a can of compressed air from your local game store unless you know a cheaper place. I use a compresser for the shortest time possible.

Remember to turn the whole computer off if not switch on the PSU unplug it.

As for having artifacts and not seeing them in a screeny is kinda odd. easy way to get a screenshot would be to hit printscreen when you see these articacts and close game and run MS Paint and paste and save it as a JPG.
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#4
i thing you have a thermal problem clock a little lower or if you haven't overclock see if there is any dust or fan problem



p.s. or clean you glasses or go to see a ophthalmologist :) <--- just kidding
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#5
It could be heat..or a underpowered PSU(i think) My old card did the same thing(it was x1950pro) I had it on my 420W and it did the same thing...what is your psu??
 

sreading

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Thanks very much for the quick replys.


SK-1 - I am doing screenshots with a program called Fraps. I have 3 fans in the case as well as the

one on the graphics card and they are all running fine.The temperature on the card is usually around

45C when in Vista. When I go into a game, it goes up to no more than about 65C.

AsRock - The PC is relatively dust free. And there isnt any build up of dust in the fan of the

graphics card. I did a printscreen like you said, and sure enough, the artifacts showed up. Attached

is the picture.

von Kain - It has never been overclocked. I have tried lowering the core speed down quite a lot, but

no difference.

Urbklr911 - The PSU I am using is a Hiper 580W Type-M Black.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
1,050 (0.27/day)
Likes
114
Location
indiana
Processor c2d e8400@ 3.8ghz 24/7
Motherboard Abit IP-35e 80$ lol
Cooling zalman cnps9700 led
Memory 2 x 2 gig patriot viper
Video Card(s) evga Gtx 285 oc
Storage 2 x 300gig sata seagate 7200.10 in raid 0/ 1.5TB for backup
Display(s) acer 24" TFT LCD AL2416WBSD
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply ocz gamextreme 700w
Software windows 7 ultimate
#7
That looks to be a game or driver issue:eek: What driver version are you using?
 
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
3,480 (0.76/day)
Likes
537
#8
Thanks very much for the quick replys.


SK-1 - I am doing screenshots with a program called Fraps. I have 3 fans in the case as well as the

one on the graphics card and they are all running fine.The temperature on the card is usually around

45C when in Vista. When I go into a game, it goes up to no more than about 65C.

AsRock - The PC is relatively dust free. And there isnt any build up of dust in the fan of the

graphics card. I did a printscreen like you said, and sure enough, the artifacts showed up. Attached

is the picture.

von Kain - It has never been overclocked. I have tried lowering the core speed down quite a lot, but

no difference.

Urbklr911 - The PSU I am using is a Hiper 580W Type-M Black.



That looks like tearing big time. I would do a visual inspection to see if the heatsink is making good contact to the ram chips.
Try another power lead from your PSU to your 1950.
This may need to be RMA'd.:(
 

sreading

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
I am using the latest Catalyst drivers, 7.9. The screenshot you see is happening in all the games that I try. I have RMA'd this card before as it is still under guarantee. They reckon that they tested it on several games and they all ran fine. I have installed this card under Xp as well as another PC, and still the same graphical glitches. I think they were fobbing me off.

As for the heatsink making contact with the Ram chips, I will try asap and let you know how I get on.

Once again, thanks for the replys
 

sreading

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
I have checked the heatsink and it seems ok. Reseated the power cables to the motherboard and gpu and still the same
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Processor Intel Q6600 @ 2.66 gHz Stock Cooler
Motherboard ASUS STRIKER II 780i
Cooling 4x 120mm Fans, Stock CPU HSF
Memory Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) INNO 3D 8800GT 600/900/1500
Storage 2x SATA-300 320gb WD 16mb HDD's in RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS VKU 222 22" Widescreen w/ 1.3 MP Webcam
Case Antec P182 Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II HD Audio - PCI-e 1x
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 650w Modular
Software Windows XP Pro SP3
Benchmark Scores 11,676 on 3DMARK 06
#11
If you're overclocking, drop it back down, even underclock, see what happens. sounds like a heat issue though, has happened to me a few times.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#13

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,311 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,718
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#14
You tryed resitting the v card make sure there's no dust in the slot for the v card ?..
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#15
I think the GPU's memory has shat itself due to overheating.
Could try another driver too.
I recommend 7.6.
What brand is it?

What bus type is this card AGP or PCI-E?

Enter your system specs in the User CP.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#16
If they said they tested it and it works on other games ...uh show them those screen shots and throw the card at there face and say "give me a new card this is shot"

smile and wait...and walk out happy

customers are ALWAYS right...remember that
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#17
I think the GPU's memory has shat itself due to overheating.
Could try another driver too.
I recommend 7.6.
What brand is it?

What bus type is this card AGP or PCI-E?

Enter your system specs in the User CP.
yes, 7.6's seem to work best for the 1950pro's...
 

sreading

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
Hi Everyone

I would like to take this opportunity to thank each and everyone of you for all the comments of help. Even though I have tried them all, unfortunately, my card is still knackered. I will be pursuing a replacement a bit more aggressively this time from the supplier.

Once again, many thanks

Scott
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
da West
Processor Quad Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz, G0 stepping
Motherboard D975XBX2
Cooling Just fans: 4 case + CPU + Power Supply + 2 video cards
Memory 2 GB DDR2 800MHz 12-4-4-4
Video Card(s) 2 ATI Brand X1950 Pro, support Crossfire
Storage 300 GB, RAID0 and RAID5
Display(s) 2 19" 1280x1024 LCD
Case Lian-Li, with video card and CPU cooling ports
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel built into mobo
Power Supply Thermaltake 700W
Software WinXP Pro SP2
#19
I have a similar problem with the X1950 Pro but only when in Crossfire mode. I've posted elsewhere: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=494881#post494881

Here is the situation:
My PC specs are linked on the left of the message. My PC system uses only qualified equipment from ATI's Crossfire Certified component lists. My PC BIOS, Operating System, and motherboard all have the latest updates. I have two LCD monitors hooked up to one of the X1950 Pro for non-Crossfire work. I have selected all defaults in CCC, (including Catalyst AI at Standard). Resolution is set to 1280x1024, 32-bit. When I switch to Crossfire mode, I just check the Enable Crossfire box, click YES to the pop-up notice and then click Apply and then OK.

When I start Half Life 2, it crashes to desktop during startup. After I reboot, games will start but they all have horrible screen tearing; this includes, but is not limited to, Half-Life 2, Team Fortress 2 and Day of Defeat: Source. There is also a problem with Battlefield 2 and others, but I'm getting the idea that it's not game related and I just need help with my setup. Could someone help?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
da West
Processor Quad Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz, G0 stepping
Motherboard D975XBX2
Cooling Just fans: 4 case + CPU + Power Supply + 2 video cards
Memory 2 GB DDR2 800MHz 12-4-4-4
Video Card(s) 2 ATI Brand X1950 Pro, support Crossfire
Storage 300 GB, RAID0 and RAID5
Display(s) 2 19" 1280x1024 LCD
Case Lian-Li, with video card and CPU cooling ports
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel built into mobo
Power Supply Thermaltake 700W
Software WinXP Pro SP2
#20
Well, I have a workaround for my problem with Crossfire on two X1950pro. Just fallback to Catalyst 7.9, (the current version is 7.10), and my problem with Crossfire goes away. I guess they broke something going to version 7.10. Maybe it will show up on the next Release Notes since I filed a report with ATI Catalyst Crew Feedback. (I won't hold my breath.)

ATI support was very helpful in my case. If you haven't already, sign-up at http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894 and then file a ticket for support.
 
Last edited:

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#21
Well, I have a workaround for my problem with Crossfire on two X1950pro. Just fallback to Catalyst 7.9, (the current version is 7.10), and my problem with Crossfire goes away. I guess they broke something going to version 7.10. Maybe it will show up on the next Release Notes since I filed a report with ATI Catalyst Crew Feedback. (I won't hold my breath.)

ATI support was very helpful in my case. If you haven't already, sign-up at http://support.ati.com/ics/support/d...asp?deptID=894 and then file a ticket for support.
just another reason for me not to go to the 7.10's. thanks for the heads up.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
da West
Processor Quad Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz, G0 stepping
Motherboard D975XBX2
Cooling Just fans: 4 case + CPU + Power Supply + 2 video cards
Memory 2 GB DDR2 800MHz 12-4-4-4
Video Card(s) 2 ATI Brand X1950 Pro, support Crossfire
Storage 300 GB, RAID0 and RAID5
Display(s) 2 19" 1280x1024 LCD
Case Lian-Li, with video card and CPU cooling ports
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel built into mobo
Power Supply Thermaltake 700W
Software WinXP Pro SP2
#22
BTW, at that other thread I posted with people with Crossfire problems with a X1950pro, one of the guys said he discovered his problem was that neither of the two boards he had (one Sapphire and one HIS) had the Crossfire chip installed!!! That's really weird. Let the buyer beware, I guess.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#23
Hi

I have a ATI Radeon X1950 Pro card. Ever since I bought it (9 months ago), I get loads and loads of artifacts in all games that I play. I can usually only play a game for a few minutes before the artfacts appear and then the PC finally crashes. This is the same on Vista as well as XP Pro SP2.

So I decided to take some snapshots of the games when the artifacts appeared. But when looking back at them, none of them had any artifacts showing.

Does anyone know why this would be?

Thanks in advance

Scott
Well I suggest you download ATI Tool and run "Scan for artifacts" then report to us the temperatures of the graphics card. Is it only dying in one game? This might suggest something about the driver set you are using.

Anyway, please give us more specs of your computer, its sorta impossible to diagnose the problem if we don't know what your PC's specs are. CPU, PSU, etc. PCI-E? or AGP?