• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Artifacts With Radeon 9800 Pro

Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I recently installed a new Radeon 9800 Pro after my old Radeon 9800 Pro burned out. It was fine on Windows bootup but when i open any games, artifacts appear. I tried to fix it by changing refersh rates etc. but nothing works.

When i ran AtiTool and scanned for artifacts it beeped almost every second meaning it detected artifacts. In the log file it says that the pixels don't match.

How can i fix this problem?
 

peta01

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
387 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
Prague
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (OC 2500 MHz)
Motherboard Abit AN8 Ultra - passive northbridge cooling via heatpipe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 48 (almost 1 kg of copper :) )
Memory 1GB RAM (2x512 DDR, CL2, running at 137 MHz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO2 (510/585, 16p) AC ATI Silencer
Storage 320 GB Seagate, 200 GB Western Digital, 120 GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 22" LCD Panel
Case Chieftec blue bigtower with additional cooling
Audio Device(s) AC97 raiser card on mainboard
Power Supply Chieftec 360W
Software WinXP SP2, sometimes Vista Ultimate x64
#2
Seems like your GPU is overheating. Try to check your GPU's cooler if it is seated properly.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
1,540 (0.35/day)
Likes
118
Location
Athens - Hellas
Processor C2D E7600
Motherboard GA EG41M ES2L
Memory 2GB ADATA 800MHZ
Video Card(s) ASUS HD4350
Storage OCZ VERTEX TURBO 32GB + 2 MORE..
Display(s) SM226BW
Audio Device(s) 7.1 HD / X-540
Software 7X86 ULT
#3
i`, not sure but the card doesn`t need an external molex connector right?
 

peta01

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
387 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
Prague
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (OC 2500 MHz)
Motherboard Abit AN8 Ultra - passive northbridge cooling via heatpipe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 48 (almost 1 kg of copper :) )
Memory 1GB RAM (2x512 DDR, CL2, running at 137 MHz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO2 (510/585, 16p) AC ATI Silencer
Storage 320 GB Seagate, 200 GB Western Digital, 120 GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 22" LCD Panel
Case Chieftec blue bigtower with additional cooling
Audio Device(s) AC97 raiser card on mainboard
Power Supply Chieftec 360W
Software WinXP SP2, sometimes Vista Ultimate x64
#4
Most of 9800PRO need an external power connector. Check if yours is connected.
 

bigboi86

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
1,442 (0.34/day)
Likes
30
Location
techPowerUp!
System Name Just getting started....
Processor Athlon II Propus 620 @ 3.51ghz (quad core) L3 cache enabled
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 (great heatsink, 40c max load overclocked)
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR31600 4gb 2x2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850 by XFX
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch viewable G215H 1920x1080p, AOC 22inch 1680x1050
Case Antec 300, stock for now
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Turtle Beach headphones / crappy logitech desktop speakers
Power Supply Corsair 650 watt PSU <3
Software Windows 7 x64
#5
peta01 said:
Most of 9800PRO need an external power connector. Check if yours is connected.
It wont boot without it plugged in.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
i have the same card.

A:is the molex connecter plugged in?
B:if you have thermal grease take off clean repaste and reseat the HSF
C:what are the clocks mem and core?
 

bigboi86

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
1,442 (0.34/day)
Likes
30
Location
techPowerUp!
System Name Just getting started....
Processor Athlon II Propus 620 @ 3.51ghz (quad core) L3 cache enabled
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 (great heatsink, 40c max load overclocked)
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR31600 4gb 2x2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850 by XFX
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch viewable G215H 1920x1080p, AOC 22inch 1680x1050
Case Antec 300, stock for now
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Turtle Beach headphones / crappy logitech desktop speakers
Power Supply Corsair 650 watt PSU <3
Software Windows 7 x64
#8

DR.Death

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
1,737 (0.38/day)
Likes
63
Location
Canada
System Name death machine
Processor intel 6600 quad core cooled by scythe mutgen 2
Motherboard dfi lanparty UT P35-T2R
Cooling air
Memory crucial ballistic tracer 4 gb
Video Card(s) nvida 260 gtx
Storage segate baracuta 500 GB , western digital blue 1TB
Display(s) asus 23.6 vh242h
Case lian-li pc-a70 full tower
Power Supply 650 watt Antec Earth Watts
Software windows 7 and lots of other titles
#10
no it is on your video card and u plug in a molex connector from the psu in to it ... here is a pict of the card and the conector in outlined in green