• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Announces Wide-Ranged Support for AMD FX Processors

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,487 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
Motherboard giant, ASRock Inc. is proud to announce that their AMD Motherboard Series now can fully support the newly launched AM3+ Bulldozer processors. It's been an incredible year for multi-core processing and it's almost time for you to upgrade the essential CPU.

ASRock have prioritized AM3+ motherboard implementation and is the first to produce the most sophisticated AM3+ CPU-capable motherboards. The entire range of AM3+ mobo includes AMD's 9-Series, 8-Series, 7-Series and Nvidia's GeForce 7025 chipset series. Importantly, ASRock have a complete motherboard products line (from high-end, performance to budget-level) supporting AM3+ Bulldozer processors. Users are able to enjoy the exciting AM3+ performance with the latest BIOS update. ASRock is confident to say that they are the only motherboard maker that can offer so many AM3+ mobo choices based on difference chipsets. And this is what other mobo makers cannot do.



AMD's latest AM3+ processors are a shot in the arm for PCs, delivering state of art processing at unmatched performance. The much-anticipated AM3+ socket architecture now jammed into the market and offered the finest upgrade path : the Bulldozer 8-core CPU.

To make the PC worthwhile, ASRock have released several motherboards covering from AMD's 9-Series, 8-Series, 7-Series to Nvidia's GeForce 7025 chipset series to support the long-awaited FX (codenamed Bulldozer) processors. The ASRock AM3+ Motherboard Series have got just about everything you could wish for build a perfect system around.

Get ready to the ultimate computing experience? Phenom II is yesterday's news, and to make your AMD rig shine, Bulldozer has to be good.

 
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
400 (0.12/day)
Likes
91
Location
Bydgoszcz, Poland
System Name "Złotko"
Processor AMD 1055T @ 3600 MHz
Motherboard Asrock 880G@890GX
Cooling Thermalright 120 Xtreme (lapped)
Memory A-Data 1600 Plus
Video Card(s) Asus HD6950 unlocked - WOW
Storage many more than you can imagine
Display(s) Acer AL1923 and Philips 40PFL5605H
Case Fractal Define R3
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music / onboard
Power Supply Seasonic M12D 850W
Software viruses, worms, trojan horses, spyware, adware, rootkits
Benchmark Scores 2.3 promile of alcohol in my blood and still standing
#2
ASROCK SUCK!

They have released Bulldozer support for old AM2 chipsets like nForce 630a and lefted in a dust most popular motherboards like 890GX Extreme 3 while ASUS and MSI releases BIOS updates for all line of motherboards.

I do not believe in their explanation where they said that Bulldozer needs 140W of energy and only few mobos can provide that. I do not believe that motherboard that looks like this:

Can provide real "Supports AM3+ Processor, 8-Core CPU"

and mobo that looks like this:

cannot.

My Asrock 880G and 890GX are the last Asrock products I have bought from them.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
189 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
#3
Have you actually tried a Bulldozer chip on your AM3 boards yet? Over the last month or so Asrock have updated almost all their old AM3 boards BIOS's with new CPU microcode, given that AMD haven't released a new AM3 CPU for quite a long time what are these updates for if not for Bulldozer?

Example: http://www.asrock.com/mb/download.asp?Model=M3A770DE&o=BIOS

The CPU support list has not been updated for 1.80, but then Bulldozer chips aren't even listed for their official AM3+ boards yet. I realise that AM3 isn't officially supported by AMD, and given the AM3+ marketing guff Asrock put out a few months ago it seems strange they would then try and add BD support to their old boards, but I wouldn't put it past them.

http://www.asrock.com/news/events/2011am3+/

I know a few people at bios-mods were working on patching the AGESA version of some old boards but I don't think they've tested anything with BD yet. Even with bios support there are obviously no guarantees, but if anyone has tried dropping a Bulldozer into any of these Asrock AM3 boards I'd be interested to know what happens...

:)
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,677 (0.59/day)
Likes
300
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 7800X 4.3Ghz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Silverstone Tundra Lite
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 SC
Storage PNY M.2 480GB Crucial M500 WD Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,598 (1.61/day)
Likes
921
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#5
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
189 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
#6
You've got to love these EngRish press-releases...

Anyone tested Bulldozer on an Asrock AM3 board yet?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.29/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#7
Asrock is like a pimped PCChips mb crap from scratch
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
189 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
#8
I'd still take an Asrock board over an ECS (PCchips) or Biostar board, but they should have stuck to their roots intead or sticking bling heatsink junk to their boards and trying to become a "premium" brand...
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
5,614 (1.88/day)
Likes
1,678
Location
San Diego, CA
System Name White Boy
Processor Core i7 3770k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB @ 2177
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 CLASSIEFIED @ 1250 Core
Storage 2 Samsung 830 256 GB (Raid 0) 1 Hitachi 4 TB
Display(s) 1 Dell 30U11 30"
Case BIT FENIX Prodigy
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W Modular
Software Windows Pro 7 64 bit || Ubuntu 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 2017 Unigine Heaven :: P37239 3D Mark Vantage
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
511 (0.15/day)
Likes
124
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
#10
ASROCK SUCK!

They have released Bulldozer support for old AM2 chipsets like nForce 630a and lefted in a dust most popular motherboards like 890GX Extreme 3 while ASUS and MSI releases BIOS updates for all line of motherboards.

I think you are wrong, despite nforce 630 is an "AM2" chipset, you can pair it in an AM3 mobo, and of course an AM3+ mobo.

Those listed by asrock are not AM2 mobos, look at "FX" in the naming, I'm guessing they are all "black socket", brand new recently released. Old chipset still works and those nforces are cheap and they do work well despite the lack of features.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,013 (1.46/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#11
I think you are wrong, despite nforce 630 is an "AM2" chipset, you can pair it in an AM3 mobo, and of course an AM3+ mobo.

Those listed by asrock are not AM2 mobos, look at "FX" in the naming, I'm guessing they are all "black socket", brand new recently released. Old chipset still works and those nforces are cheap and they do work well despite the lack of features.
it would actually be good if nvidia did a new up to date range of chipsets now, would add competition to a market with none in it
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
511 (0.15/day)
Likes
124
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
#12
it would actually be good if nvidia did a new up to date range of chipsets now, would add competition to a market with none in it
I agree, I personally own an nforce 8200 (nforce 730a series) and I have to be honest, my computer feels smoother than in those computers I tested with the ATI 770 chipset. Don't know where's the magic, but all I can say is that for the price I got it, the 8200 is a terrific chipset, I also have 3xRAID0 set up on it and it works like a charm.

Moreover, I also owned a MSI VR630 laptop with nforce 9100, and it was the same experience to me, super fast, great USB performance, good IGP performance and excelent hard drive I/Output.

Wish nvidia starts making something, they just left AMD chipsets almost completely alone.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,730 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,143
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
well cuz they can only cash in on the SLI chip itself now on both Intel and AMD boards. Only thing that pissed me off about NV was them dropping Drivers for Vista on NF2 and 3 Chipsets, the Code between Vista and 7 is pretty much the same but those chipsets are able to run Windows 7 just fine with 1-2 Gigs of ram. The Biggest amt of ram that could be ran on NF2 was 4 gigs n that was only done by Gigabyte, the other was via KT880 chipset (not K8T800)- this is all Socket A and early 754/940/939. N reason why Nv dont do chipsets anymore is cuz they directly compete with them in video cards too.

I seen Implementation of both SLI and Crossfire on the same board back when the idea from 3DFX was implemented by NV

My Old Rig is in the sig n it did run pretty well.
 
Last edited: