• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASRock Extreme3 990Fx Crashing Issues

Satvik

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey all,

I've been having some peculiar issues with my current system. During gameplay of any Steam game, or games like Planetside 2 and Hawken, I freeze and the crash. A static noise comes from my speakers, and if I was in a Skype call, those in the all hear it as well. Afterwards, if I'm choose to open a browser, or even open Steam, the page is very glitchy, with static-ish pixels appearing on the screen. It's unresponsive.

The strange thing is that I've swapped my Galaxy GTX 560 Ti BF3 Edition card with an old GTS 450 by EVGA in there, and the same thing has happened! I've tried 310.70 Beta/WHQL, 306.97, and 306.23 for drivers, but to no avail. I've narrowed this down to some other software issue, or a motherboard issue. Before I RMA through Amazon to ASRock, I'd like to see every possible solution possible.

Help?

PC Specs:

AMD Phenom II X4 965BE Deneb @ 3.5Ghz,

ASRock Extreme3 990FX Motherboard

Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4x4) LP Memory @ 1600Mhz

Kingwin Lazer 1000W PSU
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#2
Try without your speakers and use a headset and see if the problem persists. If so, build it out of the box to eliminate any grounding issues.
 

Satvik

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I've tried without using the speakers, and instead put my headset into the 3.5mm jack on the IO panel in the back, but that didn't work; it crashed horrifically again. It's not temps or anything, since my 560 Ti and GTS 450 don't go above 54C, which is safe I believe.

I looked at Event Viewer at the time of the crash. I tried Saint's Row 3, since that crashes for me faster than Planetside 2 or Skyrim. Apparently, nvlddmkm display driver stopped responding and recovered. I'm not sure how to proceed from there.

As for building outside of the box, would placing the mobo on the cardboard case it came in work okay? I've never done this before, so your advice would be helpful.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,643
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#4
Try a fan blowing on the northbridge. They tend to run hot and go unnoticed.
 

Satvik

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I'll see how to do that. I have an NZXT Swtich 810 housing everybody, so there isn't a terrific way of not modding the case. I'll look into that because I know that there are those fans you can mount onto the heatsinks. Thanks.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
Running DDR3-1600 on the 965BE is considered an overclock. Maybe your memory is unstable? I would try either dropping the memory speed to 1333Mhz or bumping the CPU/NB voltage to see if either of those make a difference. I would also stop overclocking until you figure it out.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,243
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#7
Running DDR3-1600 on the 965BE is considered an overclock. Maybe your memory is unstable? I would try either dropping the memory speed to 1333Mhz or bumping the CPU/NB voltage to see if either of those make a difference. I would also stop overclocking until you figure it out.
+1

Also, running 4 sticks of memory can put a lot of load on the chips memory controller. Try running 2 sticks of memory @1333 and see if the crashes continue.
 

Satvik

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Thanks! I reset the 965BE to default settings and clock speeds, and I noticed that my RAM was on an XMP profile, but the frequency was @ 800, so I took it off of that profile, and set it to 1333. I'll see how it plays out; I'll probably run memtest later to see if the problems were because of RAM.
 

Satvik

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Fixed!

Thank you thank you.

I followed the advice given, and as it turns out, the RAM speeds were the culprits here. I set them to 1333 Mhz, and I'm enjoying great sessions of 3hrs + on all of my games. Thank you all for you help!

-Satvik