• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asrock Fatality Pro z77 Sata Ports

Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Antartica
#1
Good day everyone,

I have some questions about this particular mobo, in particular in regards of the Sata 6 ports.

As per this website:

http://www.pureoverclock.com/Review-detail/asrock-z77-fatal1ty-professional/7/

Says that have 6 sata III ports, that are break down into:

2 Sata III ports supported by Intel and 4 sata III ports supported by ASmedia.

Since im planning to do Raid 0, was wondering the following:

Which Chipset is the one that will provide me that best speed?

Which Sata Number are the Intel and Asmedia? Are in total 4 blacks and 6 red.

Thanks guys.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,441 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,106
#2
The intel connectors would give you better performance. It is marked on the board which are which. SATA A*-A*... The A stands for Asmedia.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Antartica
#3
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#4
The instruction guide does not really say but I think you are correct..... Sata 3_0 and Sata 3_1 . The Intel Controller is better than ASMedia, by how much? You have to test it but in raid0, that would be a tough one... LOL

Sata 3_0 and Sata 3_1





 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Antartica
#5
Raid 0!

The instruction guide does not really say but I think you are correct..... Sata 3_0 and Sata 3_1 . The Intel Controller is better than ASMedia, by how much? You have to test it but in raid0, that would be a tough one... LOL

Sata 3_0 and Sata 3_1

http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq77/AAdeath/asrock_z77fatal1ty_8_zps9a68fd08.jpg

http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq77/AAdeath/fatalitypaint_zpseb7dc424.jpg

http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq77/AAdeath/paint2_zpscec2fd26.jpg
I believe that too! The Sata 3_0 and Sata 3_1 runs under the Intel Chipset.

There are 4 Asmedia Sata ports, however, how about the black Sata ports 2?
Which chipset runs them? Intel or Asmedia??

Thanks mate:D
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#6
I believe that too! The Sata 3_0 and Sata 3_1 runs under the Intel Chipset.

There are 4 Asmedia Sata ports, however, how about the black Sata ports 2?
Which chipset runs them? Intel or Asmedia??

Thanks mate:D
Intel
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#8
The Z77 IO has 6 sata ports, 2 sata3 and 4 sata2.
the 6 ports under the sticker that says USE THESE FIRST are intel ports.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#9
The Z77 IO has 6 sata ports, 2 sata3 and 4 sata2.
the 6 ports under the sticker that says USE THESE FIRST are intel ports.
Nope, Only 2 of them are Intel ports. The others are Asmedia.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#11
2 sata III are intel, the remaining 4 sata III (red) are asmedia

There are also 4 sata II, Which i have been told runs under Intel as well.

Not sure of that actually:wtf:
This is correct. Ignore the guy above. you can Matrix RAID across the 6 intel ports.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Antartica
#12
This is correct. Ignore the guy above. you can Matrix RAID across the 6 intel ports.
Nice, that means that the 6 red sata III ports (Intel and Asmedia) can run on raid 0?

The rest of the sata II they run under the intel chipset!:D

I would connect the Sata II (Sata2_2_3_4_5) to my optical drives then and use the 2 sata III (Sata3_0_1) from intel for the raid 0! The Asmedia are: Sata3_A1_A2_A3_A4 As per the manual.

Thanks guys.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#13
No, you can't cross the controllers and the ASMedia controller is only a HBA.
You can run a software RAID however (dynamic disks, zfs etc just fine).
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#14
No, you can't cross the controllers and the ASMedia controller is only a HBA.
You can run a software RAID however (dynamic disks, zfs etc just fine).
Thank you
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#15
This is correct. Ignore the guy above. you can Matrix RAID across the 6 intel ports.
LOL... Ignore this guy......... Only 2 are Intel ports..... Read the specs. The Z77 Chipset only has 2 Intel ports. ASUS developed the ASMedia controller that ASRock uses and it is cheaper than Intel's sata controller. As the specs read, 2 are Intel controller and 4 are Asmedia controller.


 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Antartica
#16
LOL... Ignore this guy......... Only 2 are Intel ports..... Read the specs. The Z77 Chipset only has 2 Intel ports. ASUS developed the ASMedia controller that ASRock uses and it is cheaper than Intel's sata controller. As the specs read, 2 are Intel controller and 4 are Asmedia controller.


http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq77/AAdeath/paint2_zpscec2fd26.jpg
Alright then, the Intel sata III can do raid o, but the asmedia will not, is that correct?

Also, as per the other 4 sata II, they run under asmedia or not??:confused:
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#17
Alright then, the Intel sata III can do raid o, but the asmedia will not, is that correct?

Also, as per the other 4 sata II, they run under asmedia or not??:confused:
Yes, the other 4 ports are Asmedia......Asmedia will do Raid0 also.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Antartica
#18
Image.

Yes, the other 4 ports are Asmedia......Asmedia will do Raid0 also.
I think you are getting confused bud,

I was asking you in regards of the 4 BLACK sata II ports (the ones from the left)
I dont think are actually asmedia, because they dont have the A index as the other sata ports.

The other Sata ports are red, the first 2 are the Intel, the other 4 are the Asmedia.:wtf:
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#19
I think you are getting confused bud,

I was asking you in regards of the 4 BLACK sata II ports (the ones from the left)
I dont think are actually asmedia, because they dont have the A index as the other sata ports.

The other Sata ports are red, the first 2 are the Intel, the other 4 are the Asmedia.:wtf:
That's correct and what we were saying....