• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASRock Intros Utility to Speed Up USB

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
ASRock released a nifty little software utility that steps up USB transfer rates. The ASRock XFast USB utility is also able to speed up USB 3.0 flash drives, which are well within the 5 Gb/s theoritical maximum of the interface. OCWorkbench did a "before and after" test of the utility as part of its Kingston HyperX Max 3.0 review. The portable SSD managed transfer rates of 156 MB/s before using the utility, which then jumped up to 241.32 MB/s after using it. SiSoft SANDRA was used for measurements. More tests can be found here.

Show full news post
 

araditus

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
172 (0.05/day)
Likes
25
Location
Oklahoma
#2
??? How ??? This seems very interesting indeeed, I believe its true, but I dont understand how there could be a bottleneck in the first place :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#3
I wonder what exactly it does to speed things up, the increase of 85mb/s from using this on that setup is very impressive although I'm curious if other devices could possibly get a higher increase.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#4
It's all about buffering and the chunk size. If you copy 1 file 500MB in size it will probably max out any drive. If you copy 50.000 files that are also 500MB in size it will take forever to copy.
So this utility basically turns those 50.000 files into 1 massive chunk and transfers it in a different way.
In theory you should get similar results by using TeraCopy program to transfer files. I remember this one always maxed out my flash drives and also helped on Windows Vista where Explorer had incredibly slow transfer rate but TeraCopy maxed it out easily.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#6
Ok. Either the ASRock R&D team found a blackhole loop on the usb ports OR this is #$&&. I support the former :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,110 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,541
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
probably some form of cache

i'm going to test it now, see if it helps a USB 2.0 flash drive on a 3.0 port on my gigabyte board.


edit: only works on asrock mobos. i know that will be possible to fake, but i'll leave that to more experienced modders.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
304 (0.11/day)
Likes
135
Location
Michigan
System Name Daves
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 4.00
Motherboard AsRock X370 Killer SLI/ac
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16 GIG GSKILL Ripjaw @ 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
Storage Crucial M.2 250 Samsung 840 EVO 250-Samsung 850 Pro-WD 1 TB
Display(s) LG 27
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply EVGA 750
Mouse EVGA
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
Dunno how it works but it does,it came with my Extreme 6 board.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,563 (1.34/day)
Likes
2,700
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#10
Ill try this out on my GFs AMD rig and see how it works :D
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
420 (0.13/day)
Likes
121
System Name It does stuff
Processor AMD FX-8320
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Fans Everywhere
Memory 16GB Crucial 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ 4GB
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2757, AOC 2243W
Case Antec Three Hundred Version Two
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DG PCI / Sony MDR-XB500s
Power Supply EVGA 600W
Mouse Redragon Phoenix
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Raw
Software Win10 64 Professional
#11
+1 for TeraCopy. :)
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
Wow this sounds sweet! hope it works well!
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
867 (0.29/day)
Likes
207
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
#13
My motherboard is supported!
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#14
It's all about buffering and the chunk size. If you copy 1 file 500MB in size it will probably max out any drive. If you copy 50.000 files that are also 500MB in size it will take forever to copy.
So this utility basically turns those 50.000 files into 1 massive chunk and transfers it in a different way.
In theory you should get similar results by using TeraCopy program to transfer files. I remember this one always maxed out my flash drives and also helped on Windows Vista where Explorer had incredibly slow transfer rate but TeraCopy maxed it out easily.
I checked out their web site and they have some other nice little utilities including a clipboard extender. DL'ed everything.

Thanks man. :toast:
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#15
looks like they found a nifty way to increase the bitrate without corrupting any of the data. maybe a voltage bump and an increase in frequency?
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,259 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#16
We are overlooking an easy way this is done. They may have simply found a glitch in their own BIOS or board drivers that reduces the throughput of USB 3. This could simply be a driver update to use USB 3 as specified now and they just disguised it as a "utility" to attract attention.
 
T

TAViX

Guest
#17
We are overlooking an easy way this is done. They may have simply found a glitch in their own BIOS or board drivers that reduces the throughput of USB 3. This could simply be a driver update to use USB 3 as specified now and they just disguised it as a "utility" to attract attention.
My thoughts exactly!
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
1,182 (0.30/day)
Likes
98
Location
Bellevue, WA
System Name NORMANDY
Processor Intel Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 WS
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 16GB G.SKILL (2x F3-2400C11D-8GXM) @ 2333 Quad CH
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX750 TI and 4x Plugable UGA-3000 UGB Graphics Adapters
Storage Crucial M4 128GB SSD / Seagate ST2000DX001 Hybrid HDD
Display(s) Samsung 305t and 4x Dell 2001FP
Case CM Stacker 832 + 9x120mm CM TLF-S12-EB
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCI-E
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 Gold
Mouse Logitech MX Revolution / Microsoft SideWinder Gaming
Keyboard Varmilo VB87ML Cherry MX Black Bluetooth
Software Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15: 1188
#18
Shoot, only works on ASRock mobos.
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#19
works on my Mobo hehe :p
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#20
Hmm very interesting. I kind of figured it would only work on ASRock boards.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
867 (0.29/day)
Likes
207
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
#21
We are overlooking an easy way this is done. They may have simply found a glitch in their own BIOS or board drivers that reduces the throughput of USB 3. This could simply be a driver update to use USB 3 as specified now and they just disguised it as a "utility" to attract attention.
This isn't a driver update. It's an application that runs in the background and launches on startup.

EDIT: I already use terracopy. Is there any point in using this as well?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
256 (0.09/day)
Likes
42
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Cubito
Processor Core i7-8700
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370M D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3000mhz Corsair Vengeance LED
Video Card(s) GTX 970 MSI Gaming 4 GB
Storage Kingston V300 120GB + Samsung 950 EVO 250GB + Toshiba MQ01ABD100 1 TB x 2
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG258Q + Asus VS229
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense
Power Supply Corsair RMX750
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Apple Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#22
In the end most of us are interested in teracopy instead of the asrock thing xDDD.