• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Officially Launches X570 Series Motherboards

Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,152 (0.55/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Ah - You meant circuitry-wise / feature-wise and that makes sense. :cool:

I was speaking in the literal sense of pluging up something PS2 related to it.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,193 (0.41/day)
Location
United Kingdom
there is many peripherals that still need the PS2 ports.
Such as?

Plus many still use old school keyboards and custom built keyboards comes with PS/2 connections.
So the people still living in the early 2000s get to cause problems for the rest of us living in the 2020s, great.

esp when you consider PS2 has never had issues with failures
Now there's a cool story.

I've ran into that before (Crosshair V) and had to do an RMA of a board over it.
So you wouldn't have RMA'd the board if only the PS/2 died?

I still use a PS/2 keyboard.

And I think I still have a mouse somewhere around... Besides, if they can't add one PS/2 port on a rather expensive motherboard...
You don't get to have new things. Stay in 2002 with your Athlon XP.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,433 (5.23/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
...how many mechanical keyboard that are on PS/2?
Some people really love their Model M keyboards. I'd be an issue if the board didn't already have 8 USB ports.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,152 (0.55/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
@Assimilator
Context was meant as in there are no known issues in what would amount to something noteable/problematic with a real reason to be concerned.
PS2 over time has proven itself reliable but like anything else it's not perfect.

I'll also say straightup the USB controller MADE the board unuseable because it always threw a USB error code right upon POST and could not get around it.
To answer the other, yes I would have RMA'ed it if it had died - Board was only 3 weeks old at the time so yeah - You betcha I would.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2017
Messages
446 (0.47/day)
...how many mechanical keyboard that are on PS/2? I would really appreciate if they slapped two USB 2.0 instead or give 4 USB 2.0 like Aorus Elite did.
Was waiting for "budget offer" ,but now I made my choice.
Meaning?
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
129 (0.03/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Bongfjaes
Processor AMD 3700x
Motherboard Assus Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MT/s CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB + Lots of spinning rust
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2268wm
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic TTR-1000
Mouse Pro Intellimouse
Keyboard SteelKeys 6G
...that PS/2 combo port on $200++ boards :shadedshu:
My keyboard is still ps/2, i dont get why people want one more USB port over it?, is 6 usb ports not enough?
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,529 (4.12/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
My keyboard is still ps/2, i dont get why people want one more USB port over it?, is 6 usb ports not enough?
I'm not a big fan of PS/2-less motherboards, but getting rid of legacy ports in general is about simplifying the design (hardwarewise) and not having to load an additional driver and potential source of bugs (softwarewise).
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
129 (0.03/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Bongfjaes
Processor AMD 3700x
Motherboard Assus Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MT/s CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB + Lots of spinning rust
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2268wm
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic TTR-1000
Mouse Pro Intellimouse
Keyboard SteelKeys 6G
I'm not a big fan of PS/2-less motherboards, but getting rid of legacy ports in general is about simplifying the design (hardwarewise) and not having to load an additional driver and potential source of bugs (softwarewise).
Motherboard vendors would have to actively try to mess up a ps/2 port, theyve had that nailed down since the 90's
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
255 (0.10/day)
System Name 12 Wheeler Dump Truck
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 Aorus Ultra
Cooling All stocks
Memory 32 GB Team Delta DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX Vega 56 CrossfireX
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + 12TB Toshiba
Display(s) Viewsonic XG3240C
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400
Audio Device(s) crappy onboard to heavily modded Logitech z5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 650TR
Mouse Logitech G 304 wireless
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software running many VM's
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
Some people really love their Model M keyboards. I'd be an issue if the board didn't already have 8 USB ports.
Lucky for them,i only has Logitech G710+.

These "budget offer" from ASRock is not for me,I guess i'll stick to Aorus.


My keyboard is still ps/2, i dont get why people want one more USB port over it?, is 6 usb ports not enough?
Hmmm let me think about it, G710+ need 2 USB 2.0,G403 need 1 USB 2.0,external capture card need 1 USB 3.0,harddrive docking need 1 USB 3.0,my Pixel need 1 USB 3.0,XBox One controller need 1 USB 2.0,KVM USB need 1 USB 2.0, RJ45 to USB need 1 USB 2.0,the rest like USB thumb drive can go to front header.So yeah, I need at least 9 USB type A like my current motherboard.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
129 (0.03/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Bongfjaes
Processor AMD 3700x
Motherboard Assus Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MT/s CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB + Lots of spinning rust
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2268wm
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic TTR-1000
Mouse Pro Intellimouse
Keyboard SteelKeys 6G
Lucky for them,i only has Logitech G710+.



These "budget offer" from ASRock is not for me,I guess i'll stick to Aorus.




Hmmm let me think about it, G710+ need 2 USB 2.0,G403 need 1 USB 2.0,external capture card need 1 USB 3.0,harddrive docking need 1 USB 3.0,my Pixel need 1 USB 3.0,XBox One controller need 1 USB 2.0,KVM USB need 1 USB 2.0, RJ45 to USB need 1 USB 2.0,the rest like USB thumb drive can go to front header.So yeah, I need at least 9 USB type A like my current motherboard.
Wait what, keyboard needs 2 usb ports?, what the hell for?
Yeah, mouse ofc.
capture card?, why aint that PCI-e?
Hard drive docking?, why not a NAS?, DAS?
Pixel wants USB C though, doesnt it?, why not use the front panel header for that instead?
Eh, controller i guess yeah, for those that use those! :)
why would a VM require usb?
Use your network port instead of USB for networking?
Yeah, thumb drives are nice for front pors, but those are on headers, like the type c would be, for front port, at least.

I dont know man, either you make it needlessly complicated so you feel like you have to use that many USB ports, or im some sort of wizard, but a much lesser wizard than the wizard, of course!
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
255 (0.10/day)
System Name 12 Wheeler Dump Truck
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 Aorus Ultra
Cooling All stocks
Memory 32 GB Team Delta DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX Vega 56 CrossfireX
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + 12TB Toshiba
Display(s) Viewsonic XG3240C
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400
Audio Device(s) crappy onboard to heavily modded Logitech z5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 650TR
Mouse Logitech G 304 wireless
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software running many VM's
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
Wait what, keyboard needs 2 usb ports?, what the hell for?
Yeah, mouse ofc.
capture card?, why aint that PCI-e?
Hard drive docking?, why not a NAS?, DAS?
Pixel wants USB C though, doesnt it?, why not use the front panel header for that instead?
Eh, controller i guess yeah, for those that use those! :)
why would a VM require usb?
Use your network port instead of USB for networking?
Yeah, thumb drives are nice for front pors, but those are on headers, like the type c would be, for front port, at least.
I dont know man, either you make it needlessly complicated so you feel like you have to use that many USB ports, or im some sort of wizard, but a much lesser wizard than the wizard, of course!
G710+ only need 1,extra port need for passthrough and I used it frequently.
LOL,PCIe card needs driver,do you have that kind of support from cheap ass chinese OEM card? For roughly same price,I got better spec'd in USB and driverless.
Harddrive docking are used to transfer image files and copying data from imminent failure harddrive.I don't need NAS,already had 12TB storage :p
Ever flashing your phone or sending command shell through your front panel?If not you might to try it :rolleyes:
The reason I'm using two network and KVM is for convenient.I don't like to be interrupted while on gaming and streaming session,just turn my finger a bit,type on different keyboard, and BAM... back in the game right after respawn :D
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,193 (0.41/day)
Location
United Kingdom
G710+ only need 1,extra port need for passthrough and I used it frequently.
LOL,PCIe card needs driver,do you have that kind of support from cheap ass chinese OEM card? For roughly same price,I got better spec'd in USB and driverless.
Harddrive docking are used to transfer image files and copying data from imminent failure harddrive.I don't need NAS,already had 12TB storage :p
Ever flashing your phone or sending command shell through your front panel?If not you might to try it :rolleyes:
The reason I'm using two network and KVM is for convenient.I don't like to be interrupted while on gaming and streaming session,just turn my finger a bit,type on different keyboard, and BAM... back in the game right after respawn :D
This man understands.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
129 (0.03/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Bongfjaes
Processor AMD 3700x
Motherboard Assus Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MT/s CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB + Lots of spinning rust
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2268wm
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic TTR-1000
Mouse Pro Intellimouse
Keyboard SteelKeys 6G
G710+ only need 1,extra port need for passthrough and I used it frequently.
LOL,PCIe card needs driver,do you have that kind of support from cheap ass chinese OEM card? For roughly same price,I got better spec'd in USB and driverless.
Harddrive docking are used to transfer image files and copying data from imminent failure harddrive.I don't need NAS,already had 12TB storage :p
Ever flashing your phone or sending command shell through your front panel?If not you might to try it :rolleyes:
The reason I'm using two network and KVM is for convenient.I don't like to be interrupted while on gaming and streaming session,just turn my finger a bit,type on different keyboard, and BAM... back in the game right after respawn :D
How many devices are you actually plugging into that g710 though?, how many does it have?

PCI-e cards are better though, arent they - i for one cant recall anyone who said they used USB capture cards, not that i check it much

Eh, backups > Recovery, 12TB aint a whole lot
Flashed phone plenty of times through front panel, worked just the same as rear panel.
Why not get a mobo with 2 NICs then?, or a pci-e network card for less clutter and better performance?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,433 (5.23/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
These "budget offer" from ASRock is not for me,I guess i'll stick to Aorus.
Ah Gigabyte, where there motto should be "The lowest quality components backed by the worst customer service possible."
 

Nkd

Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
281 (0.06/day)
"The new design for ASRock's X570 motherboards is a huge step forward. " Oh really? I thought a fan on your north bridge was a thing of the past.
Thats not an Asrock thing. If you have been in a cave for over a month its the chipset thing. There is only one board that doesn't have a fan. Gigabyte extreme I believe.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
255 (0.10/day)
System Name 12 Wheeler Dump Truck
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 Aorus Ultra
Cooling All stocks
Memory 32 GB Team Delta DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX Vega 56 CrossfireX
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + 12TB Toshiba
Display(s) Viewsonic XG3240C
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400
Audio Device(s) crappy onboard to heavily modded Logitech z5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 650TR
Mouse Logitech G 304 wireless
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software running many VM's
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
How many devices are you actually plugging into that g710 though?, how many does it have?
PCI-e cards are better though, arent they - i for one cant recall anyone who said they used USB capture cards, not that i check it much
Eh, backups > Recovery, 12TB aint a whole lot
Flashed phone plenty of times through front panel, worked just the same as rear panel.
Why not get a mobo with 2 NICs then?, or a pci-e network card for less clutter and better performance?
I'm leaving extra ports for necessary thumb drive or anything else from the get go,I don't have to plug-unplug.
PCIe card are better,in what department? Have you paying attention,Razer Ripsaw HD are in USB and nearly 80% Avermedia SKUs are USB?
I know that golden rules,so I made images,read my statement above.Unless you confused about restoring images = recovery.My storage are sufficient,thank you.
If you using front panel to flash your phone and its worked,then good for you.I had worst experience when using android kitchen,Odin Samsung,LG UP, SP Flash tool, MiFlash or Terminal.Every XDA dev recommend to use USB back panel.
MAC in physical NICs are hard to change,if you running multiple virtual machine it's easier to address virtual device to work in multiple platform rather than physical device.But of course,if you build a computer for that single purpose only it would be less clutter, but performance doesn't change.
It might looks idiotic,but it works :rolleyes:


Ah Gigabyte, where there motto should be "The lowest quality components backed by the worst customer service possible."
Hmmm..I was hoping Asus could take that, on second thought it goes to MSI...nah ASRock would fit.Oh wait...
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,433 (5.23/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Hmmm..I was hoping Asus could take that, on second thought it goes to MSI...nah ASRock would fit.Oh wait...
Nah, it's pretty verifiable with Gigabyte. Just take a browse around any forums. They've been caught several times lying to customers, and even purposely damaging parts sent in to RMA so that they could refuse the warranty.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,193 (0.41/day)
Location
United Kingdom
The genuine original IBM Model M on which I am typing this reply, for one.
Congratulations, you're a hipster. Please do us a solid and stop using your love of obsolete technology to hold the rest of us back.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
129 (0.03/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Bongfjaes
Processor AMD 3700x
Motherboard Assus Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MT/s CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB + Lots of spinning rust
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2268wm
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic TTR-1000
Mouse Pro Intellimouse
Keyboard SteelKeys 6G
I'm leaving extra ports for necessary thumb drive or anything else from the get go,I don't have to plug-unplug.
PCIe card are better,in what department? Have you paying attention,Razer Ripsaw HD are in USB and nearly 80% Avermedia SKUs are USB?
I know that golden rules,so I made images,read my statement above.Unless you confused about restoring images = recovery.My storage are sufficient,thank you.
If you using front panel to flash your phone and its worked,then good for you.I had worst experience when using android kitchen,Odin Samsung,LG UP, SP Flash tool, MiFlash or Terminal.Every XDA dev recommend to use USB back panel.
MAC in physical NICs are hard to change,if you running multiple virtual machine it's easier to address virtual device to work in multiple platform rather than physical device.But of course,if you build a computer for that single purpose only it would be less clutter, but performance doesn't change.
It might looks idiotic,but it works :rolleyes:




Hmmm..I was hoping Asus could take that, on second thought it goes to MSI...nah ASRock would fit.Oh wait...
If it works, it works, however seeing as my keyboard has a massively messed up layout, im gonna be crying like mad whenever someone removed ps/2 or wants it removed.

On the flashing part, i can recommend minimalADB and do it that way, worked for me every time so far, but then again so did Odin and heimdal
 
Top