• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asrock P67 Extreme 4 problem

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#26
@ brandon : CMOS cleared multiple times

@ MOAR : i have no other machine =[

does single / dual channel memory affect the system that much? (noob question)
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,337 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,949
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#27
@ brandon : CMOS cleared multiple times

@ MOAR : i have no other machine =[

does single / dual channel memory affect the system that much? (noob question)
depends encoding video yes
games meh ... not so much
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,337 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,949
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#29
I suspect the problem is proby the cpu/board
ram either works or it doesn't
edit: its extremely rare on modern boards but it could be a case of this board not `liking` that brand of ram check the ram against the qmvl
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,795
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#30

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#31
I did the check the RAM against the board and it is not on the supported products page...
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,337 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,949
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#32
I did the check the RAM against the board and it is not on the supported products page...
normally that doesn't mean anything but you might have struck one of those odd combos that simply doesn't work right lol :roll:
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#34
I am using a H50

i am currently doing a prime95 test using FFT (the one that uses the most RAM out of all) i know its not memtest but thats all i got for now i got class in a bit.

this is my ram settings :

http://puu.sh/1dohY

also quick question :

is this a major problem? i dont seem to notice any FPS lag and Prime is running just fine. I know it sucks, but does it really make much difference?
Ok, your RAM settings have nothing to do with it. Your processor isn't bad, neither is the board. Believe it or not, it's your CPU cooler that's the culprit.

So here goes my story:
Earlier this year I bought an AsRock Z68 Extreme 4 with the intent of putting a 3770k, 4x4GB Corsair XMS 3, 2 x 6950's, etc. For cooling I bought a Thermalright Venemous X.

At any rate, I put the rig together with all 4 sticks of RAM installed, fire it up and, just like you, got a 55 code.
So I strip the rig down; I pulled both video card (used onboard), left 1 stick of RAM in the first slot, then lo and behold the rig fires up and works just fine. Then I added 1 part at a time to see where my problem was. Put the video cards in, worked fine; added 1 stick of RAM, worked fine (so it was still running in single channel), added 1 more stick, which would've put two sticks into dual channel, code 55.
So thinking that my CPU may be bad, I took it out and put a 3570k in. Same exact result as the 3770k.
So at that point I was like WTF?! :wtf:

Thinking that I had a bad board, I bought another one --an AsRock Z77 Extreme 6. Put the same components in it, same damn problem --Code 55. Tried all of the same stuff with this board, same result as the last.
So at that point, I thought to myself, it has to be the RAM that's bad. So I bought another 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance kit. When it arrived, I installed it, same damn result. So at that point I was seriously like :wtf: :confused: :banghead:

By this point I was thinking that AsRock was a piece of shit company that sells defective boards.
So with the Extreme 6, I pulled it out of the case and was testing it sitting on a table. I decided to get a 2500k to test with thinking that something may be wrong with the BIOS and IvyBridge CPU's.
However, all this swapping of components, I got sick of remounting the Venemous X so I decided to use the stock intel cooler.
As soon as I did that, everything seemed to work. :wtf: Installed all of the RAM, works perfectly well; no code 55. :wtf:

So obviously something to do with the Ven X was causing my problem. So I took a closer look at it, and paid extra close attention to where the cooler meets the board. Upon close inspection I noticed that the screws that slide in the backplate had an oblong metal base that protruded beyond the plastic of the base and would contact the board.



Then I looked at the back of the board where the cooler was mounted. Wouldn't you know it, the printed circuits run VERY close to the mounting holes.



Then when I traced the exact circuits that ran right next to the holes, guess where they lead? The memory slots. /facepalm.





When I looked very closely at how the base of the cooler sat, sure enough, it was bridging two or three circuits that run directly to the memory.
So just to verify that this indeed was the case, I went to my local hardware store and bought four 4mm thick rubber/teflon washers. Installed them between the Ven X base and the board; the system worked flawlessly.
Verified it on my z68 as well, both boards work perfectly.

Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#35
This is why my EK block has teflon standoffs between both the backplate and the front of the motherboard. Give BlackOmega's idea a go, it could be a .20 cent solution. Mussels was alluding to the same solution.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,515 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#36
This is why some of the X brackets that come with aftermarket coolers have a plastic sheet on it and some people take it off thinking its part of the packaging it comes it when ITS NOT. It is for these types of situations were the X clamp is close or could be touching other solder points
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#37
This is why some of the X brackets that come with aftermarket coolers have a plastic sheet on it and some people take it off thinking its part of the packaging it comes it when ITS NOT. It is for these types of situations were the X clamp is close or could be touching other solder points
Yeah a lot of people mistake that plastic stuff for packaging. On the Ven X though, there was nothing there. I believe that once it's screwed together, it actually pulls the screws up and makes contact. I believe they're supposed to be recessed further.
 

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#38
Does this also apply to using a h50 where the mother board back piece/plate is plastic?
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#39
Does this also apply to using a h50 where the mother board back piece/plate is plastic?
Are you sure it's plastic and not aluminum? Aluminum can feel a lot like plastic, and can be difficult to differentiate when painted.

I'm kind of doubting that it's plastic because of the force required to seat a cooler to the socket which is typically ~40lbs. of force. Plastic would distort too much.

However, an easy check to make sure that what I described is indeed your issue:

Set your rig back to stock clocks, remove the H50 and install the OEM cooler. If you no longer get the 55 code then you know it's bridging (shorting) a couple of circuits.

Give it a try.

PS: For what it's worth, with my boards I also updated the BIOSes and that made no difference whatsoever.

Good luck.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,795
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#40
Aluminum and fiberglass too

Are you sure it's plastic and not aluminum? Aluminum can feel a lot like plastic, and can be difficult to differentiate when painted.

I'm kind of doubting that it's plastic because of the force required to seat a cooler to the socket which is typically ~40lbs. of force. Plastic would distort too much.

However, an easy check to make sure that what I described is indeed your issue:

Set your rig back to stock clocks, remove the H50 and install the OEM cooler. If you no longer get the 55 code then you know it's bridging (shorting) a couple of circuits.

Give it a try.

PS: For what it's worth, with my boards I also updated the BIOSes and that made no difference whatsoever.

Good luck.
 

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#41
tried it all. i just send the board and ram back. if problem continues then ima send the cpu back.

i ordered the new egg special today

a z77 extreme 4 + 8GB of RAM for free. which is also compatible with the board (says compatibility list) will update when i get a chance.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#42
1st of all I read someone said put the memory in slots 1 and 2. This not correct. They need to be in slots 2 and 4. Second, did you see if your memory is on the approves list from ASRock. The ram may be incompatable. Next up: is the ram working at default frequency? or was it XMP, or overclocked. So far you have been to vague.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,795
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#43
1st of all I read someone said put the memory in slots 1 and 2. This not correct. They need to be in slots 2 and 4. Second, did you see if your memory is on the approves list from ASRock. The ram may be incompatable. Next up: is the ram working at default frequency? or was it XMP, or overclocked. So far you have been to vague.
why not just download the manual from the site, thats what i do, reading the manual has reduced the amt of headaches for me when building a machine initially.
 

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#44
I put my RAM in all the slots possible. Each stick worked... but when I tried dual channel it would not boot error 55... I ran the RAM under frequency, increased voltage, as for compatibility it was not on the list. My next Mobo + RAM combo will be compatible as stated in the asrock manual
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#45
I put my RAM in all the slots possible. Each stick worked... but when I tried dual channel it would not boot error 55... I ran the RAM under frequency, increased voltage, as for compatibility it was not on the list. My next Mobo + RAM combo will be compatible as stated in the asrock manual


Ok, you still did not clarify. Did the code 55 come up when the memory setting in the bios was on auto. You need to run the sticks in slots 2 and 4 only not other combos on the platform.
 

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#46
Dude I don't know how else to say this so I'm going to be blunt with caps...

I HAVE TRIED EVER MEMORY CONFIGURATION POSSIBLE WITH EACH STICK.

and yes it has been on auto, when that didn't work I lowered the frequency to 1333 that didnt work I went to auto and up'd the voltage that didn't work..

I concluded that it can't be a short because it was on the mobo box and the anti static bag. so I said F it... im going to RMA
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,795
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#47
Dude I don't know how else to say this so I'm going to be blunt with caps...

I HAVE TRIED EVER MEMORY CONFIGURATION POSSIBLE WITH EACH STICK.

and yes it has been on auto, when that didn't work I lowered the frequency to 1333 that didnt work I went to auto and up'd the voltage that didn't work..

I concluded that it can't be a short because it was on the mobo box and the anti static bag. so I said F it... im going to RMA
best move to do, and ive noticed ton of complaints about p67 around here
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#48
Your memory is NOT on the ASRock supported memory list BTW:

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,795
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#49