• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asrock P67 Extreme 4 problem

Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#51
Yes I know if you were reading what I post you would of read that a couple of lines above.
Just trying to help but your a bit argumentative.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#52
Joey, I test memory by the way and I am trying to help.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,218 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,809
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#53
just let him rma the board, once he gets another back and still dont work then it be time to change the ram then...
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#54
dude why are you arguing about it, the guy is RMAing the board, enough said, besides most companies dont keep their board/ram compatibility listing updated like they do board/CPU listing


Eidair, I am trying to help and I am asking him not you so please help me help him. The Memory is NOT on the list. What else can be clearer.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#56
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#57

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#58
no its fine. i will report my findings when all my stuff comes in!

How i will do this :

1) on stick at a time in slots 1 and 3 for dual channel
2) make sure ram is boot-able as signal channel
3) go dual channel.

thanks for trying. again will update once i get the stuff home . order is out, just need to wait 2 or 3 days. prob by this friday the latest.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Internet
Processor Core i7 8700K @4.7
Motherboard MSI Z370 GAMING PRO CARBON AC
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev. B
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
Storage 960 EVO 500GB(boot) + Mx300 1T + Barracuda 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB1 XB271HB G-Sync 144hz + AOC e2752Vq
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum RGB
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion - Cherry MX Brown
Software Win10pro x64
#59
Btw did you try 2 sticks in and set the bios to 1T ? That is if you can of course. I'm thinking of some weird one in a trillion possibility that the memory has a problem and wont work on 2T whit 2 sticks in.

Anyway the RMA is the best for now.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,218 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,809
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#60
Btw did you try 2 sticks in and set the bios to 1T ? That is if you can of course. I'm thinking of some weird one in a trillion possibility that the memory has a problem and wont work on 2T whit 2 sticks in.

Anyway the RMA is the best for now.
2T is relaxed command timing which actually reduces the strain on ram and memory controller, so this is possible but not likely
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Internet
Processor Core i7 8700K @4.7
Motherboard MSI Z370 GAMING PRO CARBON AC
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho Rev. B
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
Storage 960 EVO 500GB(boot) + Mx300 1T + Barracuda 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB1 XB271HB G-Sync 144hz + AOC e2752Vq
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum RGB
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion - Cherry MX Brown
Software Win10pro x64
#62
2T is relaxed command timing which actually reduces the strain on ram and memory controller, so this is possible but not likely
Well yeah but as you can clearly see this is not something in the "usual problems/fix/solution". It's more out of curiosity if by some mystical universal forces he is in that situation, nothing more.

my first intel system is getting annoying ey? :p lol thnx guys
Neah ... this is why such a community is build ... we just love weird problems and fell the need/addiction to find out what is the fix :laugh:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,218 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,809
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#63
Well yeah but as you can clearly see this is not something in the "usual problems/fix/solution". It's more out of curiosity if by some mystical universal forces he is in that situation, nothing more.
ya just like solar flares, electron creep, gremelins, gnomes lol:toast:
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#64
Sometimes memory is just not compatable with some boards. Poop happens. I had G.Skills new Tridents not work on a Gigabyte board. Who would have thunk? Popped in some kingston Hyper X and Bingo.
 

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#65
All is fixed now, memory instantly boot into dual channel no problems. I switched from my h50 to the hyper212+ (kinda regret that = lots of noise lol) umm only problem i had was with the AHCI or what ever disabled that and put it into IDE. all in all intel is finally starting to behave for me.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,218 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,809
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#66
All is fixed now, memory instantly boot into dual channel no problems. I switched from my h50 to the hyper212+ (kinda regret that = lots of noise lol) umm only problem i had was with the AHCI or what ever disabled that and put it into IDE. all in all intel is finally starting to behave for me.
different board as of Model and SN, or just SN?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,566 (0.49/day)
Likes
546
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#67
1st of all I read someone said put the memory in slots 1 and 2. This not correct. They need to be in slots 2 and 4. Second, did you see if your memory is on the approves list from ASRock. The ram may be incompatable. Next up: is the ram working at default frequency? or was it XMP, or overclocked. So far you have been to vague.
If you was on about my post i said slots 1 and 3 and seeing as i have the same mobo as the op i think i should know if slot 1 and 3 works with dual channel mode and it does.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,218 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,809
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#68
it dont matter at this point as the guy replaced the board and the problem was solved. Ohwell Crap happens ya know
 

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#69
Yes i got theed z77 extreme 4. Nice mobo way to use and the instaboot feature is bad ass
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,566 (0.49/day)
Likes
546
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#70
Yes i got theed z77 extreme 4. Nice mobo way to use and the instaboot feature is bad ass
Glad you got it sorted mate enjoy :)
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#72
Dude I don't know how else to say this so I'm going to be blunt with caps...

I HAVE TRIED EVER MEMORY CONFIGURATION POSSIBLE WITH EACH STICK.

and yes it has been on auto, when that didn't work I lowered the frequency to 1333 that didnt work I went to auto and up'd the voltage that didn't work..

I concluded that it can't be a short because it was on the mobo box and the anti static bag. so I said F it... im going to RMA
Just so you know some anti static bags can conduct electricity. I verified this years ago. Note, not all do.
the point of the antistatic bag is to conduct any incoming electricity away from the component inside. So it gets redirected across the bag.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,218 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,809
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#73
Just so you know some anti static bags can conduct electricity. I verified this years ago. Note, not all do.
the point of the antistatic bag is to conduct any incoming electricity away from the component inside. So it gets redirected across the bag.
dude he fixed the problem so its done done
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#74
dude he fixed the problem so its done done
I know he's "fixed" the problem. I'm just saying, for future reference that the bags are conductive.