• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asrock p67 pro3 / i5 2500k overclock problem

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,498
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#26
and turn off ALL power saving
any reason to say this other than blindly following bad information?
It makes no difference if the SpeedStep and Cstates are active with SB CPUs;)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#27
any reason to say this other than blindly following bad information?
It makes no difference if the SpeedStep and Cstates are active with SB CPUs;)
To make sure that nothing is throttling/limiting the ratio and once he figures it out and can manually adjust the ratio and has an stable OC then enable what he wants, is there any reason not to try this when troubleshooting? as anything under 1.38vcore wont do the chip any damage anyway with or without powersaving (as long as vdroop is NOT enabled as I also mentioned) if you can post why this is bad information I will gladly rethink, though he is trouble shooting not shooting for a stable OC so at this point in time it doesn't matter as long as we find out what the issue is.

Last time I looked SP TPU is there to advise and inform people (me included as I don't pretend to know everything) so rather than tell me why my advice is blindly following bad information why don't you inform me so there are no misunderstandings.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,498
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#28
because when you disable the power saving features you are effectively removing everything Intel put in place to make sure the CPU runs in spec of both voltages and current.

Simply this isn't LGA775 anymore, and its really a moot point to even bother.

Also if you don't like the way I come back at you in the same manner in which you delivered your advice, maybe you should have addressed why he should turn them off rather than blindly posting old OC habits;)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#29
because when you disable the power saving features you are effectively removing everything Intel put in place to make sure the CPU runs in spec of both voltages and current.

Simply this isn't LGA775 anymore, and its really a moot point to even bother.
As I mentioned under 1.4-1.38vcore and with vdroop turned off you are fine disabling power saving, there are tons of guides out there that say the same, if you can tell me where my information is wrong or misleading I will update it, I too can learn new things.

Wow ninja edit, nice attitude from a mod, good to know your open to discussion :\
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,498
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#30
You work for Intel? Do you have testing under your belt outside of one chip and motherboard to pass that sort of information? Even you saying 1.38V is fine, is it? You don't know, you are repeating what you have read elsewhere, that is where I am going.

When you have our in house motherboard reviewer posting the exact opposite info on power saving, I'm gonna side on personal experience and the fact that it coincides with cadaveca's take with a bunch of boards;)

Always open to discussion, just don't throw stones when you live in a glass house;)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#31
You work for Intel, do you have testing under your belt outside of one chip and motherboard to pass that sort of information. Even you saying 1.38V is fine, is it? You don't know, you are repeating what you have read elsewhere, that is where I am going.

When you have our in house motherboard reviewer posting the exact opposite info on power saving, I'm gonna side on personal experience and the fact that it coincides with cadaveca's take with a bunch of boards;)
Do you work for Intel SP? all you have done is tell me I am wrong, as I said I am open to learning new things though you seem to be stuck on repeat. As I said it is a temporary measure to take everything else out of the equation, again if you can tell me specifically why you think I am wrong then I will listen, i have no issue with your reply to me at all so why you feel the need to make it look that way I don't really know... :ohwell:

OT to the OP as I do have the same board and chip as you I feel I might be able to lend you some advice I underwent during trying to get a good 24/7 OC out of my chip. And I will reiterate I would not disable all power saving options on a permanent basis, though for troubleshooting it is good to know that you have taken out all the possible causes before assuming it is something else unrelated.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,498
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#32
read the motherboard reviews at TPU and take advice from the man who wrote them instead of giving me these TD;DR responses. Since both cadaveca and I believe that it makes no difference, or is it that you don't believe TPU offers good motherboard reviews with a guy who knows what it is he is talking and advising about?

Also just for a quick check against your theory. My UD4 with power savings off, and with 1.38V set will grossly overshoot that voltage on boot. DO you want spikes of high volts and current running willy nilly through your CPU? I dont!
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#33
read the motherboard reviews at TPU and take advice from the man who wrote them instead of giving me these TD;DR responses. Since both cadaveca and I believe that it makes no difference, isn't it you just being a bit bullheaded and butthurt continuing this and not reading what I am actually saying to you?
Tell you what lets just agree to disagree eh cause tbh doesnt matter what I say to you your obviously not willing to accept anything I say and you tell me my responses are TL:DR? lol sorry being mod does not make you the voice of reason. I can take advice on the chin and rethink my way of thinking, unlike yourself. Am done talking to you. Night night.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,498
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#34
maybe you should check the edit...;)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,722 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,422
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#35
Agree with SNeeky on this one. Asus rep to name one even more credible source, also said to keep enabled as it does not matter. The only things to adjust are power and turbo power thresholds to prevent it from throttling. And even with that stuff untouched, it should still accept the multi, but when there is a load on it, it will throttle to fit within the set threshold. ;)

Did we get this guy(OP) taken care of yet? :p
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,419 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,538
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#36
Yep just gonna back Sneeky and Cav up on this one. disabling power states and EIST etc. won't make any differences in OC.(Heck it was Cav that put me on the great threads for OC my own board)
I will go even further to back up Sneeky on the spiking. Heck if I let mine go on Auto it will put well over 1.4 thru mine on a 4.6 OC which is serious overkill. I end up using negative offsets to keep it LOW. This seems to the case for alot MoBo's so the last thing you want to do is disable the "safeties"
 

Kemoauc

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#37
I have the same problem as the OP. Unfortunately, the OP seems not to be active the forums anymore. But maybe somebody else can help me

System:

i5-2500k
AsRock Z77 Extreme4 UEFI P1.30
Noctua NH-D14
Geforce 680gtx
be Quiet E9 CM 480W
8gb Corsair Vengeance LP
Samsung 830 128GB
Caviar Green 1 TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Fractal Design Arc


Can't set multi above 37 (i.e. it is automatically set back to 37 if I put a higher number) and the integrated graphis is not recognised by the system. I'm even missing some of the BIOS/UEFI Options such as "Additional Turbo Voltage" and "GT Overclocking Support" and all the Options regarding the integrated graphics chip.

When I load the predefined OC options of the BIOS/UEFI the multi is set to 4x but it has absolutely no effect when I run prime/CPU-Z i.e. runs still on stock multi.

Do you guys think this is a faulty CPU or rather a problem with the ASRock MB (the op had an ASRock too)?

Any help would be appreciated.

Edit: I hope it is ok that I digged this thread up instead of creating a new one
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,528 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,614
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#38
I had one bad experience with an ASRock motherboard that let me overclock but didn't give me CPU voltage control on an LGA775 Penium 4 630. Since I never buy an ASRock board just because of that experience, regardless what everyone has said about them. All it takes is one bad experience, and the first one is the most important. I've never had trouble with ASUS motherboards and MSI had great experience when I flashed the wrong BIOS on to the board. They were kind enough to send a new BIOS chip, but it was already bricked, so they let me RMA it and gave me a brand new one, even though it was my fault.

I'm sure if they don't know this already they're working on a BIOS update, but it doesn't hurt to contact them about it anyways.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.90/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#39
Uhh could it be PSU related?
 

Kemoauc

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#40
Why do you think it is PSU related?

Actually, I have another Issue which might be PSU related too:

Exactly 30 min after last reboot the systems shuts down, no bluescreen, no restart. Temperatures are no issue (CPU 30-50°C, GPU 35-80°C), Memory should be fine (tested both in different slots single/dual and ran memtest). I can prevent the system from crashing by simply rebooting before the 30 min threshold which starts a new "crash-timer" of 30 min. System runs Prime/GPU-Benchmarks just fine for 30 min or can be idle for 30 min (even sitting 30 min in UEFI/BIOS) - doesn't matter, crash after 30 min.

I get another PSU Monday or Tuesday to test whether this is caused by a faulty PSU.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.11/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#41
This shutdown after 30 mins. is weird. Don't think it's PSU related. Wait a minute, is that a 480W source? Might be a problem but it shouldn't manifest like this. Have you connected the 8 pin to CPU power? What changes you made to default UEFI?
 

Kemoauc

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#42
No changes to the UEFI - did a cmos reset too.

Whats the problem with the 480W? Should easily be enough power to support the system (at least in idle) for longer than 30 min

I'll check again if I connected the CPU power cable correctly.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.11/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#43
Should easily be enough power to support the system (at least in idle) for longer than 30 min
I didn't say it wouldn't, said it's weird that after exactly 30 mins. it shuts down.
 

Kemoauc

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#44
Didn't want to sound offensive. English is not my native language. Sorry for that.

And I agree its wierd that it shuts down always after the same amount of time. I thought it might be some kind of security thing of either of the hardware parts thats faulty and causes the shutdowns, something like: "if there is too much voltage on this part for 30 min -> emergency shutdown" which triggers even if there isn't too much voltage/whatever.

But I'm a beginner-self-builder and not too familiar with the details of all the hardware parts.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,528 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,614
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#45
"if there is too much voltage on this part for 30 min -> emergency shutdown" which triggers even if there isn't too much voltage/whatever.
Some boards have surge protection but I don't think that is what is going on here. There this would make sense if it were temperatures, but I don't think that is the case either. Does it shut off instantly after 30 minutes or does Windows go through the shutdown process? How does the Windows Event log look, have you ruled out BSOD? If you're not doing a large dump and it is setup to restart after the dump is complete, it would restart faster than it could display the BSOD.
 

Kemoauc

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#46
I enabled Bluescreens in the System settings but there is none. It looks like somebody pulled the plug of the psu. It doesnt restart either. Instant crash.

The Event log says "restart after unexpected shutdown" or something along those lines. No Error Messages.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.11/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#47
No problem man. Shutdown would occur when under load and not at idle when there's not enough power but it's not the case as you say it's like a timer that triggers the shutdown. Let's get back to UEFI settings. Your CPU is recognized as an "unlocked" part? You might find that info in UEFI under advanced CPU config. If that's OK then go to CPU ratio setting, set it to manual and let's say 40. Leave turbo boost enabled and everything else as by default. voltage on auto. Don't touch the BCLK - base clock (100 Mhz) Don't forget to save changes. When you're back in UEFI you should have the speed as 4000MHz.
 

Kemoauc

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#48
The CPU is recognized as an 2500k. But it seems as if its locked. I can't change the multiplier to a value above 37 because the uefi will automatically set it back to 37. Even if I load the predefined oc settings the max turbo is still at 3.7ghz.

I attached some screens for clarification.
 

Attachments

Kemoauc

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#49
I reassembled the whole system but couldnt find any obvious defective parts and all cables seem to be connected properly.

Is there a way to check if my MB or my CPU is the problem? Unfortunately i dont have any other CPUs or MBs around i can use to test.

Any other ideas what the problem could be apart from broken CPU/MB?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#50
To me this sounds like a bios issue. I would report it to Asrock and see where that gets you.