• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Teases Phantom Gaming Motherboards with Integrated 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet LAN

VSG

Editor, Reviews & News
Staff member
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
1,903 (0.73/day)
When ASRock teased something new from their new Phantom Gaming brand on social media with a photo that said 2.5x fast, people were quick to speculate this was referring to an AMD Radeon GPU. After all, the Phantom Gaming brand came about very recently with ASRock's debut as an AMD AIB (add-in board) partners for Radeon GPUs, with TechPowerUp giving a review treatment to one that you can read here. Was Vega holding back with some sandbags? Or was it perhaps the rumored Polaris GPU?

As it turned out today, ASRock was instead teasing about motherboards joining the Phantom Gaming brand and the "2.5x fast" instead was referring to these board having an integrated 2.5 Gigabit onboard LAN port, as opposed to the 1 GigE ports on most enthusiast motherboards today. Suffice to say that led to disappointment for many owing to this misunderstanding, but this is still news in that ASRock has deemed the importance of having a higher-tier brand that can be marketed as a competitor to the ASUS ROG, Gigabyte Aorus and more. This motherboard may end up not being AMD-exclusive either, as we do not expect a prosumer socket from AMD until next year, and the timing suggests it may well be an Intel z390 socket board instead. The teaser video is embedded below, although there is not much else to glean from it at this point.


View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
5,358 (2.08/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,474 (4.00/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Cryorig M9 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 2133 :: 2x4GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, 2x1TB Seagate 1TB RAID 0 :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD Caviar Blue 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - Bose Companion 2 Series III :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
That's... weird. I thought the next step up from 1Gbe was 10 Gbe. How the hell does 2.5 even work? I'm guessing you must have a 10Gbe router/switch, and this will then work at 2.5...
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,447 (1.38/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
That's... weird. I thought the next step up from 1Gbe was 10 Gbe. How the hell does 2.5 even work? I'm guessing you must have a 10Gbe router/switch, and this will then work at 2.5...

2.5 and 5Gbps are "new" standards https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2.5GBASE-T_and_5GBASE-T
Both were ratified in 2016 and are only supported by multi-speed switches that supports the speeds.
As such, older 10Gbps switches won't work with 2.5 and 5Gbps.

I'm guessing we're looking at Realtek's new 2.5Gbps PHY here, which should be a lot cheaper than Aquantia, although Aquantia's "entry level" option is 5/2.5/1/100 so far, if you don't count their recently announced USB 3.0 solutions.
Why this would have any affect on latency, I don't know though, since going from 1Gbps to 10Gbps has no real affect on latency either.

There's already at least one commercially available 2.5Gbps switch, but it's too close in price to 10Gbps switches to be interesting. Hopefully we'll see a lot more affordable 2.5/5/10Gbps options coming out soon.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,474 (4.00/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Cryorig M9 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 2133 :: 2x4GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, 2x1TB Seagate 1TB RAID 0 :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD Caviar Blue 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - Bose Companion 2 Series III :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
That's just... wat. 1Gbe is already rampant, and 10Gbe is/was supposed to be the next step. How do you just create half (or even quarter in the case of 2.5Gbe) step standards when 10Gbe already exists?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,447 (1.38/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
That's just... wat. 1Gbe is already rampant, and 10Gbe is/was supposed to be the next step. How do you just create half (or even quarter in the case of 2.5Gbe) step standards when 10Gbe already exists?

For many reasons. Read the Wikipedia link I posted above.
It's still very expensive to make 10Gbps hardware (compared to 1Gbps) and you need Cat6A cabling if you want to be able to use it at any distance.
2.5Gbps runs on exactly the same infrastructure as 1Gbps and it shouldn't be any more costly to make, especially as Realtek now has joined the game.
The cheapest 10Gbps retail NIC you can get today is directly from Aquantia and it's just under $80 from Amazon, with their 5Gbps card being $10 less.
I'm also guessing 2.5Gbps switches will be a lot cheaper than 10Gbps, although some new-ish devices support 2.5/5/10Gbps on some ports, 2.5/5Gbps on some and 2.5Gbps on some and finally a few 1Gbps ports as well. I think this is what we can expect to see in a lot of consumer level switches coming out in the next year or so.
5Gbps makes less sense from a cost stand point at least, as the only real benefit is that it works with Cat5e up to 50m, but it might be possible to use it up to 100m depending on the cables, but Cat6 is recommended and then you have little to no benefit over 10Gbps, apart from a slightly lower cost per NIC.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
236 (0.07/day)
So say you have 2 computers on 10Gbit .. wont the slowest part be the hard disk / SSD?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,447 (1.38/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
So say you have 2 computers on 10Gbit .. wont the slowest part be the hard disk / SSD?

This is my NAS connected over 10Gbps. It has 4x 4TB 7,200rpm drives in it. Not too much of a bottle neck and still way faster than a single local drive.

NAS-performance.png
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,459 (5.02/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
It's called Phantom because it doesn't exist :nutkick: :D
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,277 (1.35/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling Custom Loop. Two 360ies + 280 rad. 8x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. EK-Quantum Momentum monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-15-15-36 CR1[16-18-18-32-50;TRFC560@3200MHz]]
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software Windows 10 insider
It's called Phantom because it doesn't exist :nutkick::D

LoL

For sure, it is a pretty rare need... people still spend on 20€ potato routers and don't even care to understand why they should need more. I have to say, in most cases they are right as long they are happy.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
10,588 (2.85/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
I'm surprised they just didn't go straight for 10Gb but meh.. That will be my next house upgrade when I move.. 10Gb everywhere!!
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.59/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
That's just... wat. 1Gbe is already rampant, and 10Gbe is/was supposed to be the next step. How do you just create half (or even quarter in the case of 2.5Gbe) step standards when 10Gbe already exists?
10 Gb is...difficult over 100m using copper. Cables have to be thick and well sheilded(read: expensive). Adding 2.5 and 5 makes sense in the context of a (relatively) cheap CAT6 cable: If the link is a 33m, it can probably handle 10 Gb. If it is 66m, it can probably handle 5 Gb. If it is 100m, it can probably handle 2.5 Gb. The new standards allow more bandwidth using old infrastructure (barring switches, routers, and interfaces).

I'm glad it's happening but this roll out should have started years ago. It's going to take a very long time to get off 1 Gb, except in cases where over 1 Gb is absolutely necessary.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,447 (1.38/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
2.5Gbps works on the same cables as Gigabit, so there's no maybe about it.
5Gbps works on 100m Cat6, so again, there's no maybe about it.
Maybe you should've read the link to Wikipedia I posted instead of spreading FUD?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.59/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Link speed is determined by the signal quality.

I was just throwing numbers out there. Want specifics?
https://web.archive.org/web/2016052...0-series-switches/white_paper_c11-609513.html
Category 6 is defined only for frequencies of up to 250 MHz. Category 6 is currently popular for installations that predate 10GBASE-T technology. Category 6 cabling has been included in the IEEE 802.3an standard and can support 10GBASE-T according to the guidelines in TIA TSB-155. The IEEE standard lists 55 meters as the typical expected 10GBASE-T reach depending on the alien-crosstalk environment, although TIA TSB-155 states that under worst-case bundling conditions, the reach may be limited to 37 meters. The guidelines in TIA TSB-155 include methods to mitigate the effects of alien crosstalk to increase the performance over existing cabling.
Very important caveat:
Category 6 is specified only to 250 MHz. The cabling system must be certified to 500 MHz according to TSB-155 to help ensure 10GBASE-T compliance

The shielded CAT6 cable I ran is only tested up to 400 MHz. 10 Gb may not work at all.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
848 (0.74/day)
System Name Batman's CaseLabs Mercury S8 Work Computer
Processor 8086K 5.3Ghz binned delidded by Siliconlottery.com 5.5Ghz 6c12t 5.6Ghz 6c6t on ambient air
Motherboard EVGA Z390 DARK
Cooling Noctua C14S for all overclocking so far Noctua Industrial PWM fan 2000rpm rated (700rpm inaudible)
Memory Gskill Trident Z Royal Silver F4-4600C18D-16GTRS running at 4500Mhz 17-17-17-37 (new mem OC) : )
Video Card(s) AMD WX 4100 Workstation Card (AMD W5400 7nm workstation card coming soon)
Storage Intel Optane 900P 280GB PCIe card as Primary OS drive / (4) Samsung 860Pro 256GB SATA internal
Display(s) Planar 27in 2560x1440 Glossy LG panel with glass bonded to panel for increased clarity
Case CaseLabs Mercury S8 open bench chassis two-tone black front cover with gunmetal frame
Audio Device(s) Creative $25 2.1 speakers lol
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 700watt fanless
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 graphite / Glorious Model D matte black / Razer Invicta mousing mat gunmetal
Keyboard HHKB Hybrid Type-S black printed keycaps
Software Work Apps text and statistical
Benchmark Scores Single Thread scores at 5.6Ghz: Cinebench R15 ST - 249 CPU-Z ST - 676 PassMark CPU ST - 3389
That's just... wat. 1Gbe is already rampant, and 10Gbe is/was supposed to be the next step. How do you just create half (or even quarter in the case of 2.5Gbe) step standards when 10Gbe already exists?

Agree. What the heck is 2.5G LAN? My ROG Apex 10 board has 5G. Only benefit I've found so far is the 5G chip needed a heatsink so Asus added a rear I/O cover/sink that hides the ugly bare rear ports, a step up from the Apex 9 board. lol

Out of the box, that heatsink was getting warm to the touch, even when not connected, so disabled 5G in bios. :)

Where is the Apex 11 Z390 by the way? What's going on? Hope they didn't cancel it.

They already cancelled the PCIe cover shroud on the Maximus 11 Extreme, silly ROG, the Formula looks better than the Extreme. :shadedshu:

Alright, I admit, I bummed and I CAN'T get over it. :cry::cry::cry:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,447 (1.38/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Link speed is determined by the signal quality.

I was just throwing numbers out there. Want specifics?
https://web.archive.org/web/2016052...0-series-switches/white_paper_c11-609513.html

Very important caveat:


The shielded CAT6 cable I ran is only tested up to 400 MHz. 10 Gb may not work at all.

Uhm... So we're talking 2.5Gbps and 5Gbps here, not 10Gbps...
2.5Gbps has been tested to work on the same cabling at the same distances as 1Gbps.
5Gbps has been tested to work with Cat5e up to 50m on a good day, but it's not guaranteed. However, it's tested to up to 100m on Cat6. You pulled some random number of 66m here, for no good reason.

Sure, I agree that 10Gbps is difficult over long runs of copper, but this news post is about 2.5Gbps, so I'm not sure why you're showing 10Gbps numbers. This is also why we're getting 2.5 and 5Gbps, no?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.59/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
2.5GBASE-T (100 MHz) and 5GBASE-T (200 MHz, 250 MHz cable) are literally 10GBASE-T (400 MHz, 500 MHz cable) with 1/4 and 1/2 signaling rate, respectively. The stated goal is (100m in each case):
CAT6 = 5 GbE
CAT5e = 2.5 GbE, 5 GbE conditional

10GBASE-T (and derivatives) are 6.25 bits per cycle where 1000BASE-T is 4 bits per cycle.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
4,833 (1.21/day)
How about teasing with something a little more meaningful to gamers \ OCers other than this useless feature?
Like a competent VRM design?
or useful ports?
or special OC features?

Anything else please.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
2,284 (0.39/day)
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PCGR
Processor Intel 10500 ES
Motherboard MSI Z490 Gaming Plus
Cooling Snowman MT4 Dual Fan
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 6800XT Gaming OC
Storage 1x 1tb ADATA XPG 8200 Pro NVME | 1x 1TB WD Blue HDD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case MSI MPG 110M
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 550W MWE 80+ Gold
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
I don't come close to any of those speeds in real life so...
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
22,364 (3.83/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse M55 RGB PRO (White)
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
2.5GBASE-T (100 MHz) and 5GBASE-T (200 MHz, 250 MHz cable) are literally 10GBASE-T (400 MHz, 500 MHz cable) with 1/4 and 1/2 signaling rate, respectively. The stated goal is (100m in each case):
CAT6 = 5 GbE
CAT5e = 2.5 GbE, 5 GbE conditional

10GBASE-T (and derivatives) are 6.25 bits per cycle where 1000BASE-T is 4 bits per cycle.

I'm not sure if you are arguing, because you yourself dont know. Or if you are taking them literally. I will assume the latter but you must remember not all people are familiar with the higher networking world. I think @TheLostSwede understands but just thinks your unaware. 10gb/s over ethernet is totally possible. I've deployed it several times. Just use cat6a. I dont know anyone that just buys plain cat6.

Though honestly I cant imagine a market for this that isnt for gamers that think they need it.

high throughput speeds on these levels are used for incredibly high throughput data connections that can seldom be used by some companies. More frequently however they are used for high datarate appliances like servers or SANs.

And more to the point most are using fiber for these runs. Businesses seldom use cat6a unless its a very short run, or you are stacking switches. Even then fiber is very cheap (its the hardware thats expensive) and they would just as quickly use a 1, 5, 15, 25m run of SMF before someone pulls out a spool of cat6a (this stuff is hard to work with).

Unfortunately, I think this will be a case of mobo adaptation before actual network gear for consumers adopts. I also think there is going to be alot of incorrect info. The market (gamers) this is geared for and even the majority of some tech communities dont have alot of network depth and experience in their user base. I feel bad for the people that see the higher number and bite without actually knowing what it is does or does for them. You already know they are going to plaster it with "low latency" "extreme gaming" "ping killer" type slogans.

Except it wont even matter on their internal or WAN networks.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
253 (0.05/day)
That's... weird. I thought the next step up from 1Gbe was 10 Gbe. How the hell does 2.5 even work? I'm guessing you must have a 10Gbe router/switch, and this will then work at 2.5...

When the 10Gbps BASE-T was finalized, it was with finalized with 5Gbs BASE-T and 2.5Gbps BASE-T also, but the 10Gbps standard was the most famous one.

Aquantia released their first chipsets based on this new standard, the first -cheaper- chipset supported 1Gbps, 2.5Gbps & 5Gbps, while the more expensive one adds also 10Gbps to the mix.

While Aquantia had their chipsets for a long time, both were expensive, the stand-alone NIC's where priced at $80 & $100 respectively IIRC. thought they're now a little bit cheaper, but still expensive. There's no competition; yet.

Realtek at least is joining the team here promising a noticeably cheaper alternative to Aquantia, maybe they will start with 2.5GBASE-T which will be a good entry into 1G+ speeds, if true we might soon see cheaper switches also.
 
  • Like
Reactions: hat

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,813 (1.96/day)
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Pandemic 2020
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 "Gen 2" 2600X
Motherboard AsRock X470 Killer Promontory
Cooling CoolerMaster 240 RGB Master Cooler (Newegg Eggxpert)
Memory 32 GB Geil EVO Portenza DDR4 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video C
Storage WD 250 M.2, Corsair P500 M.2, OCZ Trion 500, WD Black 1TB, Assorted others.
Display(s) ASUS MG24UQ Gaming Monitor - 23.6" 4K UHD (3840x2160) , IPS, Adaptive Sync, DisplayWidget
Case Fractal Define R6 C
Audio Device(s) Realtek 5.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RMX 850 Platinum PSU (Newegg Eggxpert)
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Corsair K95 Mechanical & Corsair K65 Wired, Wireless, Bluetooth)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Just updated my system (specs to follow) to a Ryzen 2600X and an Asrock Killer X470 Promontory board.

Really digging the Asrock brand and this new is fantastic.

Of course I cannot take advantage of it and unless I bring it to work the LAN port won't ever get saturated.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.59/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
When the 10Gbps BASE-T was finalized, it was with finalized with 5Gbs BASE-T and 2.5Gbps BASE-T also, but the 10Gbps standard was the most famous one.
Negative. 10GBASE-T goes back to 2007. 5GBASE-T and 2.5GBASE-T were added in 2016; hence, the problem: 10GBASE-T has no native backwards compatibility with anything other than 1000/100/10. Roll out of 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T is going to be slow. If they were adopted back in 2007 with 10GBASE-T, 2.5GBASE-T would probably be as common today as gigabit was in 2005-2006.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
15,029 (5.98/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.6Ghz @ 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (3440x1440)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Audio Device(s) Situational :)
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Lenovo Thinkpad Trackpoint II (Best K/B ever... <3)
Software W10 x64
LoL

For sure, it is a pretty rare need... people still spend on 20€ potato routers and don't even care to understand why they should need more. I have to say, in most cases they are right as long they are happy.

This. High speed ethernet on gaming rigs... completely worthless. Even if you're streaming you don't need this, you just need a fat upload with your ISP.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
2,967 (0.68/day)
Location
Czech republic
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus TUF-Gaming B550-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage HP EX950 512GB + Samsung 970 PRO 1TB
Display(s) HP Z Display Z24i G2
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO Remastered
Software Windows 10 x64
This is some weird stuff, heh.
I would love to have higher than 1Gbit speed available within the house though. Maybe in five+ years or never... What's tha adoption rate of such new technology?
 
Top