• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock to Launch Hyper Quad M.2 PCIe 4.0 Expansion Card

Raevenlord

News Editor
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
2,900 (2.26/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name The Ryzening
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7 GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer 120
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200 (2x 8 GB)
Video Card(s) TPU's Awesome MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage Boot: Crucial MX100 128GB; Gaming: Crucial MX 300 525GB; Storage: Samsung 1TB HDD, Toshiba 2TB HDD
Display(s) LG 29UM68P (21:9 2560x1080 FreeSync Ultrawide)
Case NOX Hummer MC Black
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 620W 80+
Mouse Cooler Master Masterkeys Lite L
Keyboard Cooler Master Masterkeys Lite L
Software Windows 10 x64
ASRock is looking to launch a PCIe expansion card for all of your M.2 needs. Should you find your current motherboard is already full to the gills with M.2 SSDs, ASRock's Hyper Quad M.2 PCIe expansion card will allow you to increase M.2 vacancy by up to four additional slots (there's an on-off toggle for you to move in the PCB to select the active M.2 SSDs). The card uses the PCIe 4.0 x16 interface to sufficiently feed the four M.2 SSDs (which typically use the PCIe 4x NVMe protocol) with data.

This is a top notch expansion card design, featuring an aluminium cover and a 50 mm fan to cool down all those SSDs' controllers. The cover features 4x 110 mm thermal pads which align with the M.2 mounts on the PCB, thus allowing the aluminium cover to serve as a veritable heatsink and improve operating temperatures. The expansion card is fed by a single 6-pin power connector, and there is an activity LED for quality of life improvements. No word on pricing just yet.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
D

Deleted member 193706

Guest
Reminds me of the old Gigabyte I-RAM drives :rockout: Come to think of it, didnt OCZ have a similar thing? (ie: with DDR dimms not M2/nvme drives)
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,064 (4.08/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Only one problem with this: no consumer motherboard can spare a 16x PCIe4 slot today. Unless you remove the graphics card.
 
D

Deleted member 193706

Guest
Only one problem with this: no consumer motherboard can spare a 16x PCIe4 slot today. Unless you remove the graphics card.
2x pcie 4.0 x16 - 8x8 would be just fine
 

firewrath9

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
5 (0.02/day)
Only one problem with this: no consumer motherboard can spare a 16x PCIe4 slot today. Unless you remove the graphics card.
TRX40?
They have 64 PCIe lanes. The ASRock TRX40 Creator can run in 16x+16x+8x mode, so you can have a GPU in the 16x and 8x slots and this in another 16x slot. Might be useful to have for video editors that need lots of fast storage i guess.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
266 (0.22/day)
Location
NJ, USA
Can you configure the 4x cards in a RAID array?
It'd be only software RAID I believe... For something truly enthusiast, I'd recommend getting a Highpoint Storage SSD7103 4x m.2 RAID adapter that can do hardware RAID 0/1/10 and is Bootable (it can also do a single raid array across multiple adapters). It's PCIe 3.0, but I'm sure they'll have a PCIe 4.0 version soon.
Polish_20200113_171834351.jpg
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,227 (4.32/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
The airflow for this is going to be pretty whack.... the way the SSDs are positioned is going to mean that some get airflow and some dont at all and even then its going to be heavily restricted
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,025 (0.31/day)
Only one problem with this: no consumer motherboard can spare a 16x PCIe4 slot today. Unless you remove the graphics card.
This is for HEDT and servers.

The airflow for this is going to be pretty whack.... the way the SSDs are positioned is going to mean that some get airflow and some dont at all and even then its going to be heavily restricted
This. I'ved used the Gigabyte AIC card and its overheat city. Remove the stupid shroud and slap on heatsinks.

 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,852 (0.87/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
It'd be only software RAID I believe... For something truly enthusiast, I'd recommend getting a Highpoint Storage SSD7103 4x m.2 RAID adapter that can do hardware RAID 0/1/10 and is Bootable (it can also do a single raid array across multiple adapters). It's PCIe 3.0, but I'm sure they'll have a PCIe 4.0 version soon. View attachment 142128
I think your confused, that's a "fake" RAID card, as there's no local cache or battery backup. That's just as useful as soft RAID.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,839 (5.16/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I think your confused, that's a "fake" RAID card, as there's no local cache or battery backup. That's just as useful as soft RAID.
It still has it's own RAID controller, so significantly better than software RAID.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,852 (0.87/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
It still has it's own RAID controller, so significantly better than software RAID.
No, it doesn't. Go look up the spec and you'll see it has no such thing.
It has a pair of these, which are PCIe 3.0 switches.
They've added a bit of software that allows you to make a fake RAID and that's it.
There's no real CPU offloading, there's as I said, no onboard cache, nor any battery backup, so this is not a hardware RAID card.

It also has one of these, for some reason (SATA support?)

Apparently it's not particularly good either.

It's also $450, compared to $50-100 for something like the ASRock card.
 
Last edited:

he_found_you

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
software (Win10) RAID is simpler and usually faster than either way of connecting NVMe https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/NVMe-RAID-0-Performance-in-Windows-10-Pro-1369/

If you think about it, it's logical - the NVMe connection is the fastest way for data to travel between CPU and storage. Having PCI-E bifurcation - which is required for the M.2 x16 riser cards to work and putting more PCI splitters only adds latency to an already good protocol.
So if your CPU and MB give enough lanes, and you can somehow map each PCI lane to an NVMe drive's lane, it's irrelevant how you make your RAID.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2009
Messages
157 (0.04/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Bongfjaes
Processor AMD 3700x
Motherboard Assus Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill FlareX 3200MT/s CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB + Lots of spinning rust
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2268wm
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic TTR-1000
Mouse Pro Intellimouse
Keyboard SteelKeys 6G
thats gonna be real toasty, heh
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
1,648 (0.71/day)
Location
Somewhere, nowhere, anywhere but HERE !
System Name The Big Black Smoked One
Processor i7-9700k, oc'd to 4.9 ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix-E Gaming
Cooling CoolerMaster AIO 280mm push/pull, 8x Corsair 140mm ML RGB Fans (Front, top, sides, rear)
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengence RBG pro DDR4-3200 (4x 8GB) in XMP 2x
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 2080Ti w/15% o/c
Storage 2x WD Black SN750 1TB nvme + 2x 2TB Crucial SSD
Display(s) 2x Samsung 43" LCD's @4k-1440p
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Built-in
Power Supply EVGA G2 SuperNova 850W Modular
Mouse DAS Professional mechanical
Keyboard Logitech MX Master 2
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shiite turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores Quicker than flies on a dung pile
wait...doesn't ASUS already own the "Hyper M.2 card" moniker ?

Or did ASRock license it from them or what ?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
833 (0.25/day)
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 96 gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill+corsair
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @STOCK
Storage Hp ex950 2tb nvme+ adata xpg sx8200 pro 1tb nvme+ sata ssd's+ spinners
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 1903 ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/15000
using this card

my mobo bifurcates the lanes, and I still can run 2x gpu @each pcie 3.0 x16, a marvell pcie sata controller, and a pcie soundblaster z card.

I also bought this
initially, but it only has room for two drives, and is now a spare host for future use for nvme on boards that support but dont have the physical interface.

The more expensive controller cards do exist that have a bridge chip, hardware raid, and all the bells and whistles, but I dont accept splurging 400$ for them.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
2,083 (2.10/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
These are for HEDT or people on X570 that have a 5500XT as the 2nd x16 slot should have 8 lanes available to run 2 drives. Well I have 2 of the PCI_E 3.0 variants in my rig and I absolutely love them. The difference between a hardware and software RAID using these cards is minimal. The temps are never more than 45 C on any drive I have in the enclosure. There is also the fact that you can set these up to run 4x,4x4,4x4x4, and 4x4x4x4. As I see up to 7000 MB/s sequential with 4 660Ps I can only imagine how fast 2 or 4 PCIE_4.0 drives would be using this adapter. The build quality and thermal materials are also very good.

TRX40?
They have 64 PCIe lanes. The ASRock TRX40 Creator can run in 16x+16x+8x mode, so you can have a GPU in the 16x and 8x slots and this in another 16x slot. Might be useful to have for video editors that need lots of fast storage i guess.
Actually I think there is one more 8 lane PCI_E slot. On my X399 I have 1 of these fully populated and another with 2 with my 2 GPUs.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
55 (0.02/day)
Is this the same card that is included with the ASRock TRX40 Creator motherboard? There is a build video in Youtube using one and the transfer speed looked quite good.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,839 (5.16/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
No, it doesn't. Go look up the spec and you'll see it has no such thing.
It has a pair of these, which are PCIe 3.0 switches.
They've added a bit of software that allows you to make a fake RAID and that's it.
There's no real CPU offloading, there's as I said, no onboard cache, nor any battery backup, so this is not a hardware RAID card.

It also has one of these, for some reason (SATA support?)

Apparently it's not particularly good either.

It's also $450, compared to $50-100 for something like the ASRock card.
I wonder how they are making it bootable then?
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
2,083 (2.10/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
Is this the same card that is included with the ASRock TRX40 Creator motherboard? There is a build video in Youtube using one and the transfer speed looked quite good.
Yes it is. I guess that they have decided like Asus to sell the card as is.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
833 (0.25/day)
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 96 gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill+corsair
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @STOCK
Storage Hp ex950 2tb nvme+ adata xpg sx8200 pro 1tb nvme+ sata ssd's+ spinners
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 1903 ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/15000
I wonder how they are making it bootable then?
because it has a physical additional controller from marvell/highpoint in addition to the pcie bridge chips, hence it supports boards that dont bifurcate natively, and even those without nvme support(any uefi pcie mobo). However, latency and throughput suffers and good luck with that 500$.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
298 (0.21/day)
because it has a physical additional controller from marvell/highpoint in addition to the pcie bridge chips, hence it supports boards that dont bifurcate natively, and even those without nvme support(any uefi pcie mobo). However, latency and throughput suffers and good luck with that 500$.
That's some sticker shock.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
> "(there's an on-off toggle for you to move in the PCB to select the active M.2 SSDs) "

I believe the article is incorrect where it describes the DIP switches on the ASRock 4x4 AIC (see above):

ASRock's implementation supports multiple AICs, not merely four M.2 SSDs on a single AIC.
This graphic clearly shows 4 x AICs at lower right:


If anyone is interested in some slightly dated documentation,
ASRock's Tech Support responded very promptly when we
requested documentation for designing a bootable RAID-0 array
on an AMD TR system using this Ultra Quad M.2 card:


Is this the same card that is included with the ASRock TRX40 Creator motherboard? There is a build video in Youtube using one and the transfer speed looked quite good.

Probably NOT: check with the seller, to be sure.

The Gen4 version was only announced very recently, so
there's a good chance the Gen3 version is the one that
is included with the ASRock TRX40 Creator motherboard.

I don't see any AIC in this documentation, just 3 integrated M.2 ports:



EDIT: found this at Newegg's product page:

"ASRock Hyper M.2 (PCIe Gen4 x4 & SATA3) "

-and-

"M.2 PCI Express module up to Gen4 x4 (64Gb/s)*
* Supports NVMe SSD as boot disks"


Latter is NOT listed under "Accessories" however.

Hope this helps.

that's a "fake" RAID card, as there's no local cache or battery backup. That's just as useful as soft RAID.
For desktop systems, a functional substitute for an on-card battery
is a UPS / battery backup for the entire system, of which there are
now many to choose from e.g. APC now offers versions that
output a pure sine wave, instead of a digital "stair-step" approximation.

The one big disadvantage of an OS "software RAID" is that Windows will not boot from such a software RAID.
I can conceive of a way to make an OS software RAID bootable, e.g. by writing config files to a USB thumb drive
and choosing a related option in the motherboard's BIOS: but, MS has chosen NOT to consider such an option.

On the other hand, with so many cores in modern CPUs, an otherwise idle core is available
to do the computation that a dedicated RAID processor performed in older implementations.

Think of "bifurcation" as moving that "dedicated RAID controller" back into the CPU
to perform as a general-purpose central processor.

Re: on-board cache for dedicated RAID controller

See:

When a RAID-0 array is enabled, the caches that may exist in each M.2 SSD
are effectively summed, to produce a much larger "aggregate" cache.

The MiDrive goes even further by moving most recently used files into SLC,
and moving the least recently used files into QLC.

I expect that we are now seeing only the beginning of extraordinary
engineering possibilities, now that storage vendors have recognized
the upstream potential of x16 expansion slots.
 
Last edited:
Top