• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASRock X58 Deluxe and Memory

chemjeff

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi all,
I was thinking about buying an ASRock X58 Deluxe motherboard and loading it up with RAM when I visited their website and saw on their specifications sheet:

"Due to Intel® CPU spec definition, XMP DIMMs and DDR3 2000/1866/1600 are supported for one DIMM per channel only."

What exactly does this mean? And how will this affect my memory purchase?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#2
it means that if u use xmp technology (i think i mentioned about it yesterday to you), you can enable it only on 3 dimms not on 6. thats not a motherboard problem but the memory controllers fault. if u buy good ram and you overclock the good ol way, then you shouldnt have any problem on reaching those speeds with 6 dimms (depends on the memory of course and 6 dimms at 2000mhz is highly unlikely but 1866 and 1600 are easily achiavable (dont know how to say it :S)
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#3
I think it means that the memory controller can only handle DDR3-1333 or lower with 6 sticks in. But I think that's BS. If you upped the NB volts, you should be able to do 1600+ with 6 sticks.
 

chemjeff

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
LittleLizard,
Okay, yeah you did mention it to me. And now that I've had a chance to do some more research into it, it looks like I can get memory that both supports XMP and is at high speed. Should I invest in trying to do both?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#5
LittleLizard,
Okay, yeah you did mention it to me. And now that I've had a chance to do some more research into it, it looks like I can get memory that both supports XMP and is at high speed. Should I invest in trying to do both?

link it to me
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#7
kingston memory is good. but keep in mind you will be limited to 6gb if u go xmp route. if u wanna get the full 12gb, get two kits of those. BUT dont use the xmp profile. instead, up the bus of the cpu to 160 and you will have the full 12gb to 1600.

also if u can forget xmp, there is better memory at lower price

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=N82E16820148246

this (i know looks like crap) is one of the best ocer (i think it is, pm Fitseries 3 for confirmation)
 

chemjeff

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
LittleLizard,
Oh I don't mind doing without XMP, I didn't even know what it was until yesterday! But I do want a system that is going to be robust and last a while. I think I will go with the Corsair memory you suggested yesterday. Thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#9
LittleLizard,
Oh I don't mind doing without XMP, I didn't even know what it was until yesterday! But I do want a system that is going to be robust and last a while. I think I will go with the Corsair memory you suggested yesterday. Thanks!
at your service :toast: