• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASRock Z68 Extreme 7 Gen 3 - UDFI BIOS problems

Cool Mike

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
206 (0.07/day)
Likes
33
Location
South Carolina, USA
System Name Cool Mike
Processor Intel I7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage Extreme IV
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0
Memory Corsair Dom. Platinum 4X4GB 2400Mhz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7990 Devil 13
Storage OCZ RevoDrive3 x2 960GB
Display(s) Asus 25" 1080P LED
Case NZXT Switch 810 - Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Asus - On-board (Realtek)
Power Supply OCZ Fatality 1000W Gold - Individually Sleeved Cables
Software Windows 7 ULT 64Bit
#1
Hello everyone, Thought I would reach out. I am on my second ASrock Z68 Extreme 7 Gen 3 with the same issue. Called asrock they told me to return it after spending some time debugging with them on the phone. Now the second mother board has the same problem. Problem: In the UDFI Bios I cannot manually change a numeric value. Example, when changing the multiplier it will only take the number 5 or sometimes 16. If I enter number 1 then number 5 appears. All pull down menus work fine. Example when I enter in a user profile to save, only letters will enter properly. If I enter a number the shift value will display, example if you enter the number 2 the # character will display. I have tried 3 different keyboards with the same result. System will boot into win7 fine, but I need bios control.

Seems like a Bios or batch problem. Anyone have this issue? what am I missing?
No newbie here.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#2
did you press the numlock button on the keyboard if it already isn't??
 

Cool Mike

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
206 (0.07/day)
Likes
33
Location
South Carolina, USA
System Name Cool Mike
Processor Intel I7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage Extreme IV
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0
Memory Corsair Dom. Platinum 4X4GB 2400Mhz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7990 Devil 13
Storage OCZ RevoDrive3 x2 960GB
Display(s) Asus 25" 1080P LED
Case NZXT Switch 810 - Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Asus - On-board (Realtek)
Power Supply OCZ Fatality 1000W Gold - Individually Sleeved Cables
Software Windows 7 ULT 64Bit
#3
Thanks for the response. Yes, the first thing checked. most of the time when any number is entered into a field the number 5 is indicated. in the mutiplier field a 5, 16 (minimum multi value) is indicated. Very flakey. Keep in mind I had a P67 extreme 6 in the same case with No problems.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#4
i have the z68 extreme 4 too and it never acted like this unless numlock wasn't pressed. i believe u are using a USB keyboard? what if u plug it into another port? maybe usb3 port? but u have to enable legacy support first.
 

Cool Mike

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
206 (0.07/day)
Likes
33
Location
South Carolina, USA
System Name Cool Mike
Processor Intel I7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage Extreme IV
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0
Memory Corsair Dom. Platinum 4X4GB 2400Mhz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7990 Devil 13
Storage OCZ RevoDrive3 x2 960GB
Display(s) Asus 25" 1080P LED
Case NZXT Switch 810 - Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Asus - On-board (Realtek)
Power Supply OCZ Fatality 1000W Gold - Individually Sleeved Cables
Software Windows 7 ULT 64Bit
#5
Calling all asrock extreme 7 gen 3 users...

Tried moving to USB3 and legacy is enabled. No change. Still have the problem.

More clues..
In the user profile (area to save a profile) i can only enter letters. If i enter numbers the (shift) equalent is indicated. Ex. if i enter the number 3 a # is indicted. I have owned about 6 different ASrock MB and never had one issue. This is very odd indeed.

Thanks for your help. This has to be something simple or a bios issue.

Any more thoughts?

CALLING ALL ASROCK Z68 EXTREME 7 GEN 3 USERS...
 

Cool Mike

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
206 (0.07/day)
Likes
33
Location
South Carolina, USA
System Name Cool Mike
Processor Intel I7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage Extreme IV
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0
Memory Corsair Dom. Platinum 4X4GB 2400Mhz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7990 Devil 13
Storage OCZ RevoDrive3 x2 960GB
Display(s) Asus 25" 1080P LED
Case NZXT Switch 810 - Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Asus - On-board (Realtek)
Power Supply OCZ Fatality 1000W Gold - Individually Sleeved Cables
Software Windows 7 ULT 64Bit
#6
Entering a number causes minimum value for that field to be indicated

Discovered good piece of info.

When you enter any number into a manual field the minimum value is displayed.
Example: CAS Legacy, The minimum amount is 5. If you enter any number say 9 the number 5 is indicated. The same with other setting like the multiplier, If you enter 40 the number indicated is 16. weird