• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

asrock z68 extreme3 gen3 multiplier issues

Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.38/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#1
so these have been a few frustrating hours.

Setting up a asrock z68 extreme3 gen3 with a i5 2500k for a friend.

Long story short i finally came to the point where it would accept that i change the multiplier to 42 for 4.2ghz, and i set voltage to fixed 1.35 though it shows 1.28v and 1.27 in tools depending which one you use ( i guess this is the infamous voltage drop ).

I set intel speedstep and C1E to disabled. yet when windows starts CPU Z shows it at 1.5 ghz, when stresstesting it does go to 4.2ghz, but also reverts back to 3.3ghz now and then during the stresstesting.

in general it feels like the bios isnt accepting changes, it shows as changed, but sometimes only when you change it for the third time to a different value it wants to apply.

Any tips are appreciated.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
It is possible you have hit OCP limit.

It is possible you are throttling due to heat.

It is possible you are missing a setting or two, b ut unfortunately, AsRock has not sent me any board samples at this point, so I ahve no idea where to direct you.


Erocker has an AsRock Z68 board I'm pretty sure, perhaps he'll have better suggestions for you.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.38/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#3
turned off C3 and C6 also, now the CPU idles at the 42 multiplier which is a good thing.

under load after about 5-7 seconds it starts throttling down to 33 again ( original multiplier )

CPU is max 59 C, so ill see if there are any tempature settings in the bios that are set to 60C

also probably unrelated, in the bios voltage is set at 1.35v, which it shows in cpu z also whe idling , when under load it goes all the way down to 1.29, and when it clocks down to 33 multiplier voltage goes to 1.27v
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
749 (0.25/day)
Likes
126
Location
Netherlands
System Name gaming system
Processor 2600k @ 4.2 ghz
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPower
Cooling Thermalright ultra extreme 120 rev.C w/noctua NF-S12B push/pull
Memory 16gb corsair vengeance 2400 c11 @1.5 v/
Video Card(s) GB gtx670 WF3x sli @1080/1372/6660(core/boost/mem)
Storage 2x samsung 850evo 250gb raid 0 ,2tb wdblack, 3TB wd purple
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster P2770FH, asus VH242t/19" lg 1440x900
Case fractal design r4
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1050
Mouse Razer abyssus
Keyboard corsair k70
Software Windows 10 pro x64
#4
Raise cpu pll voltage with 75mv that wil do the trick
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.38/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#5
ok found a setting that throttles the CPU unde high temps, disabled it but same issue remains.

though i dont know if its actually disabled cause it feels like sometimes the bios will show the change in the menu but not apply it to the system.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
Voltage drop under load is normal, usually counteracted via "Loadline Calibration".

Is there option in BIOS for wattage or current limits? I would look for that and adjust.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.38/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#7
ok looks like the board would only give a certain amount of power to the CPU, after which it would throttle.

There was no way to edit the current , and the short long to 300 without enabling intel speedstep.

situation is now that under stress it stays at 4.2ghz, but in idle it will step down to 1.5ghz. Would like to keep it at 4.2 24/7
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,027
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,742 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,635
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#9
yea using turbo to clock is how most users Overclock sandybridge seems to be more stable long term that way.

besides power savings heat savings when idle are always nice lol
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,027
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#10
I don't even use turbo-mode. SpeedStep does what it's supposed to do. I need to find some pics.

Here you go: (Mines an Extreme4 Gen3, but I think the bios is pretty much the same.)




 

evesson

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Hello all,
Sorry to disrupt the flow...BUT

I too have an asrock z68 extreme3 gen3 motherboard, with core i7 2600k cpu, 128gb Corsair Force GT SSD, 8GB Kingston HyperX ram, 4 other HDDs - 1 with 1TB, 1 with 1.5 TB and 2 with 2 TB of storage. Graphics card is amd ...6770, (System currently down so I cant get exact spec).

I am not a gamer, so perhaps this is overkill, but my issue is that while everything works fine for the most part - I usually leave my machine on permanently to remote in from outside, - it ocassionally crashes for no apparent reason. It then refuses to recognize the SSD and has a boot failure. I have to come in and disconnect all the HDD's before I am able to get the BIOS to recognize the SSD. Then reconnect all the HDD's. My case is an Azza Hurrican 2000, so that part of connecting and disconnecting is relatively easy, just annoying.

Question.
Is there a problem with the SSD being connected to the sata 6 port and everything else to the Sata 3 ports? The DVD burner is also connected to the sata 6 port. Do I have too many HDDs for the Mobo?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#12
I'm on P67 Extreme 4 and for 4.2 in turbo I only changed the multi to 42. That's all. Rock stable. For me no need for 24/7 4.2 GHz. It suits my needs as it is.
 

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#13
@evesson

Update to latest bios, experiment with different sata ports.
Also whats your PSU?

Oh and might want to start your own thread, lol.
 

james22

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
if your cpu is still downloading under load check if powersaving is enable and disable it.