• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asus 6950 DCII Bios Overclock

Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello.

i have unlocked the shaders on my asus card as seen above. (not a reference card!)

I can now overclock my card to the following(using smartdoctor and amd overdrive):

Settings:

vcore: 1,275
clock: 950
mem: 5400
Overdrive power control: +20

When im trying to make these settings work with bios changes i set the following:

vcore: 1,2
clock: 900
mem: 1350 (x4)
Overdrive: OFF

Result: System wont boot. (BSOD at windows boot)

Second try:

vcore: 1,1
clock: 880
mem: 1250 (x4)
Overdrive: OFF

Result: System wont boot. (BSOD at windows boot)

As a result i had to reinstall windows on another disk that did NOT have AMD drivers installed to recover the original bios again. (if i install the amd drivers the system crashes again!)

Do any of you have advice on how i can mod the bios to a functioning overclock level that WILL boot ?
 

h4cker

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name H4cker
Processor intel i7 875k
Motherboard asus maximum extream 3
Cooling h80
Memory 8gig kingston hyper h2o 2133
Video Card(s) 2x Asus 6970 2gb
Storage 3x Intel 320 ssd
Display(s) asus vg 236
Case Tthermaltake Lv10 GT
Power Supply corsair AX1200w
#2
What bios did you use to flash whit?
 

The_Ish

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
328 (0.13/day)
Likes
43
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 580 DirectCU II
Storage Corsair F120 SSD +9,5TB storage
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64
Benchmark Scores I only care about practical performance.
#4
Maybe it's just me, or maybe you give that cooler a little to much confidence?
As a bad comparison, I can get 935/1400, +20%, out of my Sapphire card.
The reason it does not compare is of course the cooling system is worse on paper than what you have.
940/1400 will not work.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Maybe it's just me, or maybe you give that cooler a little to much confidence?
As a bad comparison, I can get 935/1400, +20%, out of my Sapphire card.
The reason it does not compare is of course the cooling system is worse on paper than what you have.
940/1400 will not work.
Hello... - both of ya.....

As i already mentioned i tried with 880 clock and standard 1,1 vcore and the memory at standard 6950 clock.

I dont think i overestimated the DCII as i can set it to 950/5400 (with overdrive power at +20 without the bios mod - or better 950/5400/1,275 stable with software. i want to impliment the OC directly into the bios so i dont have to deal with software every time i reinstall)

Or am i incorrect ?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
ooh... and if you loot at my settings above i even tried flashing with 880/5000 and i STILL have the problem.

Noone else has any idea ?
 

TimoX

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
49 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
Processor C2D E8400@4600
Motherboard DFI-Lanparty LP UT P45-T2RS
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8 gigs DDR1066 @1200
Video Card(s) HD6950, unlocked, 950/1450
Storage SSD, dual TB drives
Display(s) 24" Dell 2407WFP-HC
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Rosewill RBR1000-M
Software Win7 and XP dual boot
#7
You can't do it.
69xx series are driver locked, meaning if you adjust clock or fan speeds in the BIOS it cause a digital signature mismatch, which cause the video driver to fail to load on startup.

You're stuck with a software overclock for now, like the rest of us.:banghead:
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
You can't do it.
69xx series are driver locked, meaning if you adjust clock or fan speeds in the BIOS it cause a digital signature mismatch, which cause the video driver to fail to load on startup.

You're stuck with a software overclock for now, like the rest of us.:banghead:
Hello. Thanks for the answer.

Not the answer i was hopeing for but the exact answer i was looking for. Thanks! now i can stop wondering! :)
 

The_Ish

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
328 (0.13/day)
Likes
43
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 580 DirectCU II
Storage Corsair F120 SSD +9,5TB storage
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64
Benchmark Scores I only care about practical performance.
#9
Where are you getting the 5000 number from? Oc'ing by software takes you 30 seconds, is it such a big deal?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Where are you getting the 5000 number from? Oc'ing by software takes you 30 seconds, is it such a big deal?
Well. Ever tried changeing voltage In smart doctor ? It jumps around and can fry your card. Afterburner does not work with this model. Different power chip.

Does the same restriction apply to nvidia cards btw?