• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus A8N-E boot problem (beep error code)

Misiowiec

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
117 (0.02/day)
Location
Copenhagen
Processor Intel C2D E6400 @ 3.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte DS3 rev 3.3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500, VF900-CU etc
Memory GeIL 4Gb PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GT Extreme Ed
Storage WD 250Gb & 500Gb SATA
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP 24" rev A04
Case CoolerMaster Praetorian 732 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W Modular
Software Vista Ultimate x64 etc
I've been running XP on a Asus A8N-E motherboard for a good while without any problems. The other day I replaced my Hiper Type R 580W PSU with a Corsair HX 520W, and now the PC won't boot and beeps 1 long followed by 3 short. I've stripped it down to bare essentials (motherboard, VC, memory and CPU) but I get the same problem. The problem also persist when I reconnect the Hiper PSU.

According to www.sysopt.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=146656 these codes mean "memory test failure". I've tried:

1. Reseating everything.
2. Using any possible combination of memory stick(s) and slots.
3. Resetting the CMOS.

The rest of the PC is as per sig, with the exception for Vista which will be installed when (if!?) I can sort this.

Many thanks.

EDIT: According to http://bioscentral.com/beepcodes/awardbeep.htm this code means the graphics card is broken. Anyone know which it is?
 
Last edited:

ktr

Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.54/day)
Try another video card and see...or try another power supply, maybe the graphic card aint getting the required juice.
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.82/day)
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Did you put the old power supply back in and see what happened? Do you have any friends near by whose memory you can borrow to test in your system?
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.04/day)
Location
Earth
Diconnect all drives and try booting with just one stick of RAM, you should be able to get into BIOS and check settings. Also check to make sure the proper PCI-E power rail is connected to vid card. Also recheck Ram for proper insertion and correct slot configuration.
Your Bios will have a problem if any Volt spec is just 5% off, You may have to Put old PSU back in and re-install stock/proper Bios for your Memory(check chart on asus site), then swap out PSU and try again. You could also have a bad PSU(the new one). Try booting without Video card. Then reboot with card installed.

Here's a cheat for the AMI Bios. Pull the AC plug from the wall, wait about 30 sec. Plug it back in. Press and hold the <INS> key THEN hit the power switch on the front of the case while holding the <ins> key. Should get you to BIOS screen. You may have to do this several times to get the computer to come on.
 

Misiowiec

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
117 (0.02/day)
Location
Copenhagen
Processor Intel C2D E6400 @ 3.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte DS3 rev 3.3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500, VF900-CU etc
Memory GeIL 4Gb PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GT Extreme Ed
Storage WD 250Gb & 500Gb SATA
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP 24" rev A04
Case CoolerMaster Praetorian 732 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W Modular
Software Vista Ultimate x64 etc
Thanks for the suggestions everyone. No matter what I do it won't boot or get me into the BIOS, and no playing around with PSU / memory sticks or the graphics card changes that.

I'll wait until my colleague with the same setup comes back from business mid-week, and will give hit stuff a go. Such a pain though, already been a week :(
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.04/day)
Location
Earth
Unplug computer and remove CMOS battery for a few hours. Re-instal battery plug in try again. Be sure to check MOBO manuel for proper Ram slot configurations with the Ram you are using, and that the Ram is compatable.
 

Misiowiec

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
117 (0.02/day)
Location
Copenhagen
Processor Intel C2D E6400 @ 3.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte DS3 rev 3.3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500, VF900-CU etc
Memory GeIL 4Gb PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GT Extreme Ed
Storage WD 250Gb & 500Gb SATA
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP 24" rev A04
Case CoolerMaster Praetorian 732 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W Modular
Software Vista Ultimate x64 etc
Unplug computer and remove CMOS battery for a few hours. Re-instal battery plug in try again. Be sure to check MOBO manuel for proper Ram slot configurations with the Ram you are using, and that the Ram is compatable.
Already tried that unfortunately, this is tough one to crack.
 

jjking52

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
I'm having this same problem witha Asus A8N5X.
One long beep three short beeps. No boot up.
I tried unpluging the power cord, replugging the power and holding the insert key and the computer boots normal and runs a bench mrk just fine.
What is wrong?
I have not upgraded anything. It just started doing this.
What am I missing?
Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,167 (0.79/day)
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
It probably is your RAM. When you insert it you really have to push hard before it will click. Once it clicks you should be fine.

I'd try reseating it one more time. Don't be afraid to use some strength. =P
 

jjking52

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Thanks for the reply.
I tried reseating the RAM and I pushed hard until it clicked in.
Still wont boot unless I unplug,replug and hold in the insert key. Then it boots normally to Windows and runs just fine.
I tried other RAM and another video card, same garbage.
I can't figure it out.
 
Top