1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus a8n-e chipset voltage mod

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by jcdenton21, Jan 22, 2007.

  1. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    Asus a8n-e chipset voltage mod some pictures

    Hello guys
    I found only thread about asus a8n-sli but pictures doesn´t work
    http://sg.vr-zone.com/?i=1624&s=1

    or is there between a8n-e and a8n-sli huge layout difference?
    what to mod and how?
    I am a soldering newbie so I prefer pencil mod if possible
    thx
    if you need some pictures let me know
    I have 2nd revision of a8n-e board

    might it be one of those chips?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    here are altrenative links
    http://www.laboratorium.ic.cz/foto/a8n-e_vmod/chips1.jpg
    http://www.laboratorium.ic.cz/foto/a8n-e_vmod/chips2.jpg

    so I have some new pictures that could help you to be able to help me :)
    which chips might regulate chipset voltage?
    where are measure points?
    chip number on these photos aren´t same for me(these are from US version and I live in EU so tell me which chips and I will write what´s written on them)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    http://www.laboratorium.ic.cz/foto/a8n-e_vmod/chipset1.jpg
    http://www.laboratorium.ic.cz/foto/a8n-e_vmod/chipset2.jpg

    finally I found this guide
    http://www.takorautaa.net/show_article.php?article_id=25&page_number=1
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. mortal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    151 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Croatia - Umag
    And what are you trying to achieve? Higher voltage, higher oc...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    so to explain my situation
    I have ASUS a8n-e board(2nd revision)
    AMD Athlon64 3200+
    SeaSonic S-12 380W
    other stuff
    I can run my venice 250x10 at 1.4Vcore
    but even with vcore 1.6 I can´t pass tests higher than 265x10
    ram is running below ddr400
    HT lowered
    max "FSB" that board is stable is somewhere around 310MHz
    So I know I am not limited by FSB but something else
    for example at 2.75GHz it passes 3dMarks 2005 and 2006 but can´t pass superPI and prime95 with more than about 2,68GHz
    I hope with vmod I could achieve more stability
    I read NB-mod for a8n-sli at vr-zone and with chipset v-mod he didn´t achieve more overclock but more stability
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. mortal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    151 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Croatia - Umag
    So you probably have E6 revision of Venice. This revision isnt cloakable, my frend reached 2.9gh with 1,75V. And not stable
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    :wtf: :twitch:
    some more information about this?
    is it true?
    friend clocked e6 to 2.85 at 1.5V
    yes I own venice E6
    I would like to try to be sure I am cpu limited not board:rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    So I edited first post
    Problem is I can´t solder so I have to use Pencil or conductive ink pen
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I was testing and this Vcore Droop is the thing I think is limiting me
    For the test I was running 7x320 and about 30minutes of Prime 95 and it was stable so I think VDroop is limiting me
    I also had to flash bios because with 1013 it failed to boot with 250+
    If anybody knows how to work out Vdroop pencil mod and maybe chipset pencil mod please write here a reply
    and Somebody could also explain that measure points to me in this guide
    http://www.takorautaa.net/show_article.php?article_id=25&page_number=1
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Sorry guy, but I am in the dark about vmodding. Perhaps our two resident solder experts (on in UK the other in US) can help ya out?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    Hello guys,
    I ´d love perform VDroop mod on my board to get my Venice higher:santa:
    I found out that VCore controller chip is SC2643VXTS
    Datasheet I found is for SC2643VX only
    could you tell me how to perform VDroop mod
    I read the DIY guide on this site and it was full of new informations for me and very helpful
    I think I have to lower the resistance between feedback pin(7) and the ground, am I right?
    and could somebody tell me where the measure points for VCore are?
    I found this guide for VCore mod with marked one point for CPU VCore but I dont know where is the second point:confused:
    marked point to the ground or somewhere else?
    I will try to get some photos if you need
    If I know where to measure the resistance I ´ll try to work out pencil mod because of my soldering skills:mad:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)