• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASUS A8N-E Motherboard won't recognize PCI slots

mooken

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Trying to install M-Audio Audiophile 192 and wireless net PCI cards into my ASUS A8N-E motherboard (AMD Athlon 64 3500+, Win XP Pro SP2). I can't get the thing to recognize these cards in any of the three PCI slots.:mad: Thought the cards weren't seating correctly, so I removed the mobo & installed risers. Everything's seated correctly, latest version of bios & chipset drivers are installed, latest drivers for the AP 192 installed, yet I continue to get the error "Device cannot start (Code 10)". Plug n play doesn't pick it up.

BTW, I know the card's good. It works fine in my P-4 system. Can anyone out there help?:confused:
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#2
DOA mother board maybe
 

mooken

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
That's what I was afraid of

Thanks for the quick reply. That's what I was afraid of...hoping there was some little bios trick I hadn't tried.:cry:
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Slovakia, KE
Processor AMD Athlon64 3200+ (2500MHz 1.4V)
Motherboard ASUS A8N-E rev. 2.00
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer64 Pro, , Thermalright hr-05 SLI
Memory 2x1024MB (PQI+GoodRAM) 418MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH3650 256MB GDDR3 725/1600
Storage Seagate 120GB SATA ST3120827AS
Display(s) 19" Samsung 940BW
Case Euroce ML5410
Audio Device(s) integrated in nForce4Ultra
Power Supply SeaSonic S-12 380W
#4
and another pci cards work fine??? (for example old pci vga)
look into manual and find what slots are shared
I think it´s irq problem
try just one card in first pci slot(first unde pci-e x1)
 

mooken

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Known-good cards don't work either

I'll try that, thanks. I've tried three known-good cards (audio, wireless lan, and ethernet) in all three slots, nothing. (all three work in my P-4 sytem.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Slovakia, KE
Processor AMD Athlon64 3200+ (2500MHz 1.4V)
Motherboard ASUS A8N-E rev. 2.00
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer64 Pro, , Thermalright hr-05 SLI
Memory 2x1024MB (PQI+GoodRAM) 418MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH3650 256MB GDDR3 725/1600
Storage Seagate 120GB SATA ST3120827AS
Display(s) 19" Samsung 940BW
Case Euroce ML5410
Audio Device(s) integrated in nForce4Ultra
Power Supply SeaSonic S-12 380W
#6
what have you done with your MoBo?
ist there something burnt?
can you see cards in windows but with code 10?
did you try older drivers?
 

mooken

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
This is the first I've tried to install PCI cards on this mobo. No other modifications. Originally the cards wouldn't seat correctly, so I installed spacers under the mobo to solve that problem. Windows still won't pick anything up. I used the device install wizard which still wouldn't recognize the card presence. Told it which card I had (M-Audio Audiophile 192), drivers installed, but it keeps saying the device won't start (Code 10). I've tried every driver available from the oldest to the newest. Same results with Linksys wireless lan card and ethernet cards. Can't see or smell anything burnt, system works well otherwise.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Slovakia, KE
Processor AMD Athlon64 3200+ (2500MHz 1.4V)
Motherboard ASUS A8N-E rev. 2.00
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer64 Pro, , Thermalright hr-05 SLI
Memory 2x1024MB (PQI+GoodRAM) 418MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH3650 256MB GDDR3 725/1600
Storage Seagate 120GB SATA ST3120827AS
Display(s) 19" Samsung 940BW
Case Euroce ML5410
Audio Device(s) integrated in nForce4Ultra
Power Supply SeaSonic S-12 380W
#8
and what else do you have in your case
try to disable everything you don´t need (soun,lan, USB, sata ports, ide ports,...)
ask your friend to lend you another pci cards
I think it is bios/irq problem or board is dying
unplug everything you do´t need
write your configuration everything with psu
so in device manager you see it like unknown device or sound card with code 10?
I think it is not board problem but windows
If you have another small hdd, connect it and install there just win xp sp2 pro and drivers
it might work
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
1,769 (0.39/day)
Likes
96
Location
Singapore
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k 3.40Ghz @ 4.50Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67 UD7 B3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2O 920
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3 4GB X2 1600Mhz (Model F3-12800CL7Q-8GBXM)
Video Card(s) Powercolor R9 290 (Stock)
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital Black Cavier 2TB X2
Display(s) Dell U2715H 2560X1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur Spectrum
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional
#9
How long have you bought your motherboard? You could probably check for software problems first. Sometimes windows does really fk things up by consistantly not recongizing files. And like what jcdenton21 said, i would install another XP on a HDD and update it to sp2. Then try and see if the PCI works on the newly installed XP. If it doesn't you probably have a defected motherboard.
 

mooken

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
DaMulta was right...bad mobo was the problem. I bought a new one & it works. Turns out the pendejo who installed the original mobo (not me!) didn't use offsets. Board was in direct contact with the case which must've shorted out the PCI slots.

New board picks up AP192 sound card and wireless lan card. Now I just have to figure out the blasted configuration to get SOUND to come out the speakers.

Thanks all for your help. Never been on a forum like this before, but now I know where to go for answers!
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#11
Thanks for the quick reply. That's what I was afraid of...hoping there was some little bios trick I hadn't tried.:cry:
.....possibly. have you checked for an option in the bios telling it you have a plug n play OS installed?