• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asus ATI 5570 unable to flash bios

Joined
Nov 15, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello
I downloaded the latest release of RBE and AtiWinflash

I have an Asus 5570 PCIe wich is very very loud.

I would like to re-flash the bios with a lower fan speed.

I download the bios using gpu-z then I modify it with RBE then I would like to re-flash it using AtiWinflash.
I am under Win XP Pro SP3.
It says that it is unable to erase rom

how can I do?
 

BAGZZlash

RBE Author
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
587 (0.16/day)
Likes
346
#2
You will need to enable writing access to the BIOS chip first. There's a parameter for it, "unlockrom". Try googleing for that.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Hello
thank you for your info

I have not found anything useful about that. Can you better drive me to the right direction?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#4
Why not just use a custom fan profile in MSI afterburner instead? That's what I did with my Asus 5770 CuCore
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#6
CCC worked for me

I have an MSI and I just used overdrive in CCC to adjust my fan speed.
Works great I have it clocked as far as CCC will allow and it keeps it in the 40's.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#7
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#10
Uhhh, I have the same card as you and I know for a fact it is.
Well then it isn't the same or you used a different Driver. Mine has 10.10 in it.
I don't use the software that comes with the cards, ever !
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#11


I'm not using any of the ASUS software that came with my card.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#12
My subvendor is MSI
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#13
Cool, but when I posted I was talking to maggiore81 for the most part.

MSI afterburner is a great program to use.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#14
Cool, but when I posted I was talking to maggiore81 for the most part.

MSI afterburner is a great program to use.
Yep I see that now. Any luck yet ?
 

rickette

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
Hello,
I have the same problem as maggiore81 : a very loud fan on ASUS EAH5570
I tried flashing bios many times but nothing worked.

I tried loading the original bios in RBE, editing the frequencies and the fan speed it didn't do a thing.
I tried both saphire and powercolor bios found on the techpowerup site and nothing changed too.

With the original bios i can't load ATI overdrive and the fan speed is greyed in msi afterburner and rivatuner, so i can't move the cursor nor change the values.
With a modified bios i can move the cursor but it doesn't change anything on the fan speed at all, it is still very noisy.

So i wanted to know if maggiore81 found any solution yet, and if someone could help me out with this ?
Thank you
 

rickette

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
i just received the "official" response from ASUS's customer service. Shortly, it says this :
"This card has only 2 pin fan connector, so you cannot regulate the speed".

The thing is that every low profile card with this chipset has 2 pin fan connector. So i unfortunately guess the fans are audible in every scenario.
too bad for a LP card that surely goes into an HTPC.

Too bad i just spent 80 euros too
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#17
i just received the "official" response from ASUS's customer service. Shortly, it says this :
"This card has only 2 pin fan connector, so you cannot regulate the speed".

The thing is that every low profile card with this chipset has 2 pin fan connector. So i unfortunately guess the fans are audible in every scenario.
too bad for a LP card that surely goes into an HTPC.

Too bad i just spent 80 euros too
You could always regulate it yourself by giving it external power. Running Ground (black) off a 5V and the Positive (red) off the 12V, you will actually run the fan at the difference of that, or 7V. It's a cheap trick to regulate fan speed, but it's easy and works like a charm :p Since no motherboard fan headers have (to my knowledge) 5v and 12v, you'll just need to run it off a 4pin Molex connector :\

Otherwise you'd either need to do a resistor mod (you'll have to google that one sorry) or run a fan controller (potentiometer or rheostat).

And here my ASUS 5770 has horrible fan moderation and when set to "auto" in CCC, it doesn't ramp the fan up fast enough and before you know it the cards (as I have 2) are running 90-105C and only like 50-60% fan speed :rolleyes:
 

rickette

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
i installed a fan controller and changed the original fan. i placed 1 40mm on the chip and 1 50mm on the heatsink. Both are plugged into the 2pin and the controller is at maximum speed.
That's a lot lot LOT quieter and still as cool when the card is idle.
but after 3 benchmarks under SF4 it gets up to 110°C / 230°F

pretty hot... but very quiet