• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS B450-F Gaming with Bios 4204

Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Does anybody have the same board,a non 5xxx series CPU on it and upgraded this bios?
I'm on Ryzen 3700x and I'm wondering if it is safe to update.
Not expecting greater performance, but I don't want to get a bricked computer either.
 

djtiestoja

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
3 (0.07/day)
Don't do it, I bricked my b450 strix e board updating to latest version. My cpu is amd ryzen 3 3300x, so no new features for zen 3xxx anyway.
Without bios button it's not safe, as the only way to flash older bios is to find older cpu.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
I did it...there are some new features, but they are GPU ralated if you have a new GPU.
you're mobo is not bricked, but for sure it won't work with that processor anymore.
amateur hour at the asus HQ.
 

djtiestoja

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
3 (0.07/day)
At first didn't know what's going on with mb. Only dram led was on, nothing else. I find some service to do a flash bios. Now all good but I later find info on asrock website about 3300x not compatible which is really weird, maybe Amd send wrong agesa or something, but Asus really disappointed me as not tested updated bios.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
It's always safe to buy an EPROM programmer so you can flash bios manually if something goes wrong(they are very cheap on Aliexpress), that is if you don't have a service nearby that can help for a good price.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,552 (0.95/day)
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair Hero VIII
Cooling NZXT Z72 w/ Corsair ML120 Pro White LED
Memory 2x8GB Zadak Spark DDR4 4133MHz 19-21-21-42 Samsung B-die
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800 Fighter
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 256GB, WD 1TB SSD
Display(s) LG 43" 4k UHD HDR
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM 850X
Mouse Roccat Kova AIMO
Keyboard PNY Hyper X Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 x64
B450 Bios chips are too small to hold all the data needed for all the Ryzen chips, so if you wanted to use a 5xxx CPU, you would lose functionality/compatibility with 3xxx and earlier CPUs.
 

djtiestoja

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
3 (0.07/day)
OK, but that must to be in bios description. I received information that only some batch 3300x cpu not working. 3100 not having any problems.
So I ordered eprom programmer just to be on the safe side.
Thanks for useful tips
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
281 (0.42/day)
System Name Fractal
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5800X
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX B450-F Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black
Memory 2x8 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600Mhz CL18 (CMK16GX4M2D3600C18)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700XT
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 PRO 2TB
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Blackout w/ USB-C
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero SE
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Win10 Pro
Went from 3600X to 5800X. No issues with either on 4204.

*edit*
And this build started with a Ryzen 2600. I just noticed yesterday I had to "log out" of my "old" system on Adobe DC, even though it was the same rig. Apparently the 5800X upgrade made it a "new" device.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,552 (0.95/day)
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair Hero VIII
Cooling NZXT Z72 w/ Corsair ML120 Pro White LED
Memory 2x8GB Zadak Spark DDR4 4133MHz 19-21-21-42 Samsung B-die
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800 Fighter
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 256GB, WD 1TB SSD
Display(s) LG 43" 4k UHD HDR
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM 850X
Mouse Roccat Kova AIMO
Keyboard PNY Hyper X Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 x64
So after looking through your BIOS', @djtiestoja, none of them state that there is any stoppage of CPU support for any series, so it must only be certain B450s, maybe the less fancy ones, or I am misremembering something. So not sure what happened though for you then.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,656 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
3, 4 and 5 series should work, unless you have a 3 series with graphics such as the 3200G or the 3400G, also they removed support for the earlier 1 and 2 series.
 
Top