• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASUS EAH 4850 512MB HDMI installation problem "Can not find graphics card" error

Pbow

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
4850 512MB HDMI installation problem "Can not find graphics card" error

hello reader,

i have just bought the ASUS EAH 4850 512MB DDR3 HDMI g-card and this error pops up when i log in, "Can not find ASUS graphics card"...I have hooked everything up right (i think).

i was under the impression that i could just put the g-card in and load the drivers/utilities from the cd provided. since i received the "can not find asus g-card" i have done a lot of research on where i could have gone wrong. i think the issue has to do with the BIOS. i tried asus trouble shooting, but the my issue is that my BIOS doesnt look like the one they are trouble shooting for. does any1 know what i need to turn on in order for the motherboard to know the g-card is their...what area would the g-card appear in the BIOS? im not that computer savvy when it comes to the BIOS. im sure its something easy that a person with more computer experience would know where to look...if you have read this far could some1 please let me know what step i have skipped or what step i need to take to get the g-card up and running. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but im a little lost when it comes to messing with the BIOS

my current spec's are: Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo CPU E8500 @ 3.16GHz 3.17 GHz, 3.24 GB of RAM WinXP


thanks for taking the time to read
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
500 (0.12/day)
Likes
13
#3
Does the error really say that?
So Im assuming your still getting some sort of display?
Whats motherboard are you using?
Are you using Catalyst drivers?

I have no clue how its saying it cannot find the ASUS card...Im assuming your using some sort of ASUS driver since it knows it looking for ASUS hardware.

Id try uninstalling the whatever driver you installed from the CD and going to the AMD/ATI site and getting the most recent catalyst drivers 8.11 (or 8.12 in two days). Id never advise using drivers from the CD unless your card is no properly supported by the mainstream drivers.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#4
Did you plug the 6 pin power cable into the card!!and is it seated all the way in correctly?
Could use some more info on your system
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#5
You shouldn't need to do any BIOS modifications to get the machine to recognise the graphics card.

I'd take the card out of the pci-e slot, blow into the slot to make sure there isn't any dust or anything else covering any of the pins and when you put teh card back in make sure it is in nice and snugly. You need to have a power cable plugged into the card as well from your PSU, make sure that is in nice and snug too.

When you've checked it is seated properly start your machine up, go into start menu>control panel> device manager for windows xp,
start>control panel> system and maintenance> device manager for windows vista.
Once in the device manager you should see the "display adapters" section, expand that and report what it sais, also expand the "unknown devices" section and say if there is anything in there.

Would be helpful to see what motherboard, power supply and operating system you are using as well.
 
Last edited:

Pbow

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Does the error really say that?
So Im assuming your still getting some sort of display?
Whats motherboard are you using?
Are you using Catalyst drivers?

I have no clue how its saying it cannot find the ASUS card...Im assuming your using some sort of ASUS driver since it knows it looking for ASUS hardware.

Id try uninstalling the whatever driver you installed from the CD and going to the AMD/ATI site and getting the most recent catalyst drivers 8.11 (or 8.12 in two days). Id never advise using drivers from the CD unless your card is no properly supported by the mainstream drivers.
i am unable to load Catalyst drivers from cd or their webpage. when i try and load them theres an error message that pops up, "unable to find components that can be installed on your current hardware or software configuration. Please make sure you have the required hardware."

other computer info:

-ASUS P5E-VM DO LGA 775 Intel Q35 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
-ABS Tagan ITZ Series ITZ800-V2 800W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply
-Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8500
-G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3750640AS 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive -
-Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP3 English for System Builders 1 Pack CD
-Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX 92mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler


this error is poping up b/c the smartdoc has been loaded and cant find it
 
Last edited:

Pbow

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
You shouldn't need to do any BIOS modifications to get the machine to recognise the graphics card.

I'd take the card out of the pci-e slot, blow into the slot to make sure there isn't any dust or anything else covering any of the pins and when you put teh card back in make sure it is in nice and snugly. You need to have a power cable plugged into the card as well from your PSU, make sure that is in nice and snug too.

When you've checked it is seated properly start your machine up, go into start menu>control panel> device manager for windows xp,
start>control panel> system and maintenance> device manager for windows vista.
Once in the device manager you should see the "display adapters" section, expand that and report what it sais, also expand the "unknown devices" section and say if there is anything in there.

Would be helpful to see what motherboard, power supply and operating system you are using as well.

btw...love the name

Everything is pluged in correctly (have a PCI-E cord from my power supply going to the card and i assume that is the only thing that needs to be pluged into it.)

another note: the fan on the g-card is running and when i turn on the computer the 2 red lights on it flash

-there were no "unknown devices"
-display adapters: Intel(R) Q35 Express Chipset Family

here is a pic of the device manager...save it and throught it into power point to make later.


thank you readers for trying to help me.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#8
The vidcard should be under graphics adapters. Is the monitor plugged into the graphics card?

You may also try disabling the Onboard graphics in your BIOS.
 

Pbow

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
i dont have a "graphics adapter" in my device manager. and i do have a monitor in the card...the question i then have is if i turn off the onboard graphics in the BIOS will my monitor no longer display anything? and i have also checked in the BIOS for the card it is running from and im having trouble finding it...what term will the g-card be under?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
1,268 (0.37/day)
Likes
77
Location
USA
Processor Intel Xeon E5-1620 v3 Haswell-EP 3.5
Motherboard ASRock X99E-ITX LGA 2011-v3
Cooling Stock (Temp.)
Memory CORSAIR LPX 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) XFX AMD 6770
Storage 1 X SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 256GB 1 X Crucial M4 120GB SSD, 1 X 2TB WD Black SATA
Display(s) LG 32" Widescreen
Case Corsair Carbide Series 250D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Cooler Master
Keyboard Corsair
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#10
turn off integrated graphics in your bios and then it should let you chose to choose pci-express for graphics or something similar
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,358
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#11
Im with Lucas and Don on this one. Under "Display adapter" I see and intel chipset, which to me means onboard graphics. As he says turn of onboard in bios and hook the monitor to the card and not the other port that the onboard runs from.
 

Pbow

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
ty for the quick response...im not that savvy when it comes to the BIOS...i was just looking at it and i was wondering which option i should choose.

Advanced tab:
-North Britge Chipset Config.
-Initiate Graphic Adapter: its currently listed as [IGD]
the options are PCI/IGD, PCI/PEG, PEG/IGD, PEG/PCI
-Internal Graphics Mode Select: [Enabled, 8MB]
-PEG Port Control: [Auto]
-PEG Port Force x1: [Disabled]

im guessing this is the area you guys are referring to
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Jogja, Indonesia Republic
System Name d2eamachine
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard asrock z68 ext3
Cooling custom watercooling
Memory corsair vengeance 2x8GB
Video Card(s) msi gtx480 lightning
Storage 60GBssd, 2x320GB, 2TB, 1TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2250 series + LG 22"
Case thermaltake v4 black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply pcp n cooling silencer 750watt
Software Windows 7 build 7600
#13
internal graphics mode set to disabled, then look at back your pc, unplug dvi/analog cable from your monitor, then plug it in to your asus videocard right below your mobo i/o
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,358
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#14
ty for the quick response...im not that savvy when it comes to the BIOS...i was just looking at it and i was wondering which option i should choose.

Advanced tab:
-North Britge Chipset Config.
-Initiate Graphic Adapter: its currently listed as [IGD]
the options are PCI/IGD, PCI/PEG, PEG/IGD, PEG/PCI

-Internal Graphics Mode Select: [Enabled, 8MB]
-PEG Port Control: [Auto]
-PEG Port Force x1: [Disabled]

im guessing this is the area you guys are referring to
set the bold area to PCI/PEG and exit bios, after this is done take the monitor cable and hook it to on of the DVI ports on the actual card.
 

Pbow

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
thank you all for the help...im going to try this 1st thing when i get home from work.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
500 (0.12/day)
Likes
13
#16
Yea looks like you need to disable your onboard graphics card first. Remember to always post your specs in your profile in order for people to further understand your hardware.
 

Yeong

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
thank you all again for the help...i got it up and running last night
sorry...im facing the same problem with you..popping up "cannot find ASUS graphic card" when start up windows..so wat gonna to do right now?
thanks..