• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asus EAH4850 TOP x2, Asus P5Q Pro, No Crossfire

mcexley

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey, folks. First post.

I rebuilt my wife's gaming machine with an Asus P5Q Pro P45 MB and two Asus EAH4850 TOP cards. Installed Cat 8.9, it says CrossfireX is enabled, but GPU-Z and 3DMark06 results say it's not. What's more, the machine is unstable running her current game, Neverwinter Nights 2; crashes after an hour.

I searched extensively on Google and here, tried everything I could find, no difference. Tried the stepwise HW install, older drivers, no difference. Here's a more complete System Spec:

ASUS P5Q Pro
2 ASUS EAH4850 TOP
XIGMATEK MC NRP-MC651 650W ATX12V Ver.2.2
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
ASUS Arctic Square 92mm Vapo Bearing CPU Cooler
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066
Microsoft Windows XP SP3

Suggestions? Please help - it's going to end up in divorce! Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
81 (0.02/day)
Likes
17
Processor Q6600 @ 3.0
Motherboard Asus P5K-PRO
Cooling Zerotherm ZT-10D
Memory 6 GB DDR-II 667 mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 960
Storage 2 SATA RAID 0 arrays, 1 SSD
Display(s) 23" Wide TFT + 14" 4:3 TFT
Case Custom twin tower
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Dual PSU mod (2x 550W) Rasurbo BP-XII550
Software Win7 x64
#2
Hi there

I have also built a system with two Asus 4850 cards on a P5K/EPU MB. Same thing happened, GPUz reports no crossfire although Catalyst detected second card / bridge connect and let me enable Crossfire. Didn't have time to run any benchmark.

For the stability issue try putting the memory in single channel mode to see if it helps.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Milton Keynes
System Name Demoniod! XtS
Processor Q95500 2.83Ghz - OC'd to 3.67GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q
Cooling Coolmaster Hyper TX2 Fan
Memory 4 Gig (2 x 2Gig Corsair XMS2 @ 800Mhz) OC'd 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 9800 GTX 512 Overclocked (not much as so good already)
Storage Sata II 750 Gig (7200RPM)
Display(s) Dell E228WFP 22"
Case ATX Midi Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Corsair 750W PSU
Software Windows Vista Home Premium 32Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage Score P7534 (1280 x 1024 5:4) Performance Mode
#3
Hi

I have a P5Q but not a Pro or anything, everytime i do a search for details on my motherboard etc it always comes up with Pro and all the upper ranges of it. Any way i can search for just my board?
Cheers (Noobie)
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#7
how's your memory timings? sometimes RAM has different timings for DDR1066 than it does DDR800. and check the voltage too? but I guess you already know that..
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#8
:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Your wife has 2 x HD4850's ? WOW

What do you have in your machine ? :D:D

Right, to play NWN2 ?

And to think, there's like..starving kids in Indiana or something...




Seems like a BIOS setting or possibly motherboard drivers?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#9
Right, to play NWN2 ?

And to think, there's like..starving kids in Indiana or something...




Seems like a BIOS setting or possibly motherboard drivers?
Indiana? The state? LOL. Nobody lives there! Who's there to starve? Just kidding...

Is it performing like crossfire in games?
 

mcexley

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Indiana? The state? LOL. Nobody lives there! Who's there to starve? Just kidding...

Is it performing like crossfire in games?
Nope, just normal one card performance. 15k in 3DMark06.

No concern about memory timings, everything is in default mode on the motherboard.

I tried a fresh install of XP today, but I think I messed it up adding the second card wtihout plugging in the PCIE 6-pin power connector prior to enabling CrossfireX. I'm going to try that again, as well as Vista.

Any other suggestions? :confused:
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
297 (0.09/day)
Likes
35
#11
15k in 3DMark sounds right to me, I guess... I couldn't get near that high with an E4300 @ 3GHz and a single 4850.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#13
Make sure both cards are installed with both crossfire bridges connected.

Also make sure that your motherboard chipset drivers are up to date. Installing a 2nd card in your system activates another PCI-E slot and it probablly needs the driver for it.

Follow this: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502 *Read the update too!

After rebooting, after uninstalling the drivers run driver sweeper
 
Last edited:

mcexley

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
I tried a fresh install of XP slipstreamed with SP3 and the drivers for the motherboard, no difference. However, when I introduced the second card, I neglected to plug in the PCIE 6-pin power connector, and when I enabled CrossfireX, I got the BSOD. I powered the machine down, noticed my mistake, corrected it, and enabled CFX again. No joy. CCC shows CFX enabled, GPU-Z says no. Same performance with 3DMark06.

I think I'll try a fresh XP install again, then Vista, remembering to make all connections this time. Seems pretty finicky. I'll probably try older drivers, too.

:banghead:
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.92/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#17
I dont know if you solved this but....

15k is not normal single card performance :)

The problem isnt your drivers or any other configuration like that. You simply need to disable the HDMI audio devices in the Device Manager. With a single HD4850 installed and using only one monitor the HDMI driver will consume +22% usage of my (CPU) E8400, enabling the extended desktop of the second display port drops the usage to 0%.

So with 2 x 4850 installed my CPU usage was hovering between 45-50% and my 3Dmakr score was.......... 15k

I leave HDMI disabled unless I need to play a game on my TV or watch a movie. 3 clicks and HDMI is enabled again. As long as there is a monitor accepting signal through that display port the CPU usage remains normal.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#18
15k is normal HD4850 card performance with an e8400 clocked close to 4ghz. I scored 14100 with 3.0ghz and stock gpu settings.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.92/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#19
really... ? I'll run it again tonight to see but that's not really the point I was making. :)

Did you notice high CPU usage after you installed your 4850?

EDIT : Taken from the 4k series 3DMark thead.. without a heavy OC I dont think I'll break 15k

Dual Core

1. 15156 - CBOT - E7200 @ 4.1ghz 4850 @ 800 Core 1100 Mem XP
2. 14521 - blTb - E8400 @ 4.3 ghz 4850 @ 720 Core 1100 Mem Vista
3. 13761 - HTC - E6850@ 3.78 ghz 4850 @ 690 Core 1120 Mem Vista
4. 13664 - dark2099 - E7200 @ 4.1ghz 4850 @ 700 Core 1138 Mem Vista
5. 13422 - SonDa5 - E8400 @ 3.60ghz 4850 @ 700 Core 1155 Mem xp
6. 13182 - Urbklr - E6650 @ 3.4 ghz 4850 @ 730 Core 1075 Mem Vista
7. 12679 - tigger69 - E6750 @ 3.6 ghz 4850 @ 625 Core 933 Mem Vista
8. 10354 - sideeffect - Athlon x2 @ 2.7 ghz 4850 @ 700 Core 1050 Mem XP
9. 9102- Widjaja - Athlon X2 @ 2.4ghz 4850 @ 625 Core 993 Mem XP
10. 8896 - Ninkobwi- Athlon x2 @ 2.5ghz 4850 @ 625 Core 993 Mem XP
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#20
15k is normal HD4850 card performance with an e8400 clocked close to 4ghz. I scored 14100 with 3.0ghz and stock gpu settings.
With a quad core at around 4ghz 15k+ would be normal but not a dual.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Milton Keynes
System Name Demoniod! XtS
Processor Q95500 2.83Ghz - OC'd to 3.67GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q
Cooling Coolmaster Hyper TX2 Fan
Memory 4 Gig (2 x 2Gig Corsair XMS2 @ 800Mhz) OC'd 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 9800 GTX 512 Overclocked (not much as so good already)
Storage Sata II 750 Gig (7200RPM)
Display(s) Dell E228WFP 22"
Case ATX Midi Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Corsair 750W PSU
Software Windows Vista Home Premium 32Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage Score P7534 (1280 x 1024 5:4) Performance Mode
#21
Can u check my stats and let me know if anyone likes my set up? I would have preffered SLI but was just over budget on MBs, are MBs easy to just wack out and wack in another when i can get a SLI one? Dont get me wrong my unit is mind blowing to me at the moment, sold a crappy un-over-clockable Dell XPS 420 Q6600 to get this rig and now im in heaven. The best part is the Asus boards seem to never fry or break if i overclock too much they just shut down and restart to original settings or to Bios screen, so EASY!
Anyway please let me know what you think (from your point of view) i should do to my new rig?
Cheers guys!
Stoobie!
:nutkick:
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#22
there's a way to run it in Vista 64? I'll do it again tonight if there is..last time I tried it didnt let me. sorry to hijack

edit: maybe its because I was in Xp32? I'm not sure. ah well the benchmarks dont lie...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Milton Keynes
System Name Demoniod! XtS
Processor Q95500 2.83Ghz - OC'd to 3.67GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5Q
Cooling Coolmaster Hyper TX2 Fan
Memory 4 Gig (2 x 2Gig Corsair XMS2 @ 800Mhz) OC'd 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 9800 GTX 512 Overclocked (not much as so good already)
Storage Sata II 750 Gig (7200RPM)
Display(s) Dell E228WFP 22"
Case ATX Midi Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Corsair 750W PSU
Software Windows Vista Home Premium 32Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage Score P7534 (1280 x 1024 5:4) Performance Mode
#23
from what ive heard of vista 64 loadsa stuff doesnt work with it is that right?