• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Enables Resizable BAR Support on First-Generation AMD Ryzen CPUs

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,954 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Have it on my board, but enabling it breaks NVME boot support so I can't go past the BIOS.

Might work if I had a SATA drive. Sadly, my 6800 will be SAM-less for now.

well, thats poop. I can enable it but see no difference here.

I believe we'll find out that the smaller the VRAM size on a card, the less of a difference this makes - so that performance gain seen on 6x00 cards will be smaller on anything else to the point of not mattering.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,543 (4.96/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Have it on my board, but enabling it breaks NVME boot support so I can't go past the BIOS.

Might work if I had a SATA drive. Sadly, my 6800 will be SAM-less for now.
Are you using CSM or UEFI?
It won't work with CSM.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
5,561 (2.12/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G604
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
939 (0.17/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage Samy 960 EVO 500GB m.2, 1TB SSD & a 2TB spinner
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 Pro x64 v2004
Benchmark Scores Wife says it's fast
So works with 1700 cpu, but basically does nothing, so like saying basically doesn't work lol
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
639 (0.15/day)
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Rectangulote
Processor Core I9-9900KF
Motherboard Asus TUF Z390M
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer Aurora 280 + Eisblock RTX 3090 RE + 2 x 240 ST30
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3600mhz CL16 Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) KFA2 RTX 3090 SG
Storage 1 WD Blue 3D 1TB + 2 x WD Black SN750 1TB
Display(s) 2 x Asus ROG Swift PG278QR
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Evga Nu Audio + Sennheiser HD599SE + Trust GTX 258
Power Supply Corsair RMX850
Mouse Razer Naga Wireless Pro
Keyboard Dierya DK61 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Would be nice to see this in similar older intel chipsets.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
459 (0.50/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
Cooling Scythe Ninja 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) (F4-3600C16D-16GVKC) @ 3733 MHz 16-19-19-19-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC 8GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 EVO 500GB / 3x Crucial MX500 / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Rise Glow
Power Supply CORSAIR RM650
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
The newest BIOS for my Asus MB added this option a few weeks ago.
Version 5809
2020/12/04 14.52 MBytes
ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING BIOS 5809
1.New CPU support
2.Offer a Re-size BAR Support option to enhance GPU performance.
3. Remove AMD 7th Gen A-series/ Athlon X4 Processors support

I did flash the BIOS but I haven't tested the Resize Bar Option yet.
Re-Size-Bar-Option.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,950 (0.51/day)
Location
Greece
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X@95W
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx 400 Black
Memory 2*8GB PATRIOT PVS416G373C7K@3333MT_C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Pulse 8GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 128GB, Kingston A2000 NVMe 1TB, Samsung F1 1TB, Hitachi HUS724040ALE640 4TB
Display(s) AOC 27G2U/BK IPS 144Hz
Case SHARKOON M25-W 7.1 BLACK
Audio Device(s) Realtek 7.1 onboard
Power Supply Zalman Z550
Mouse Sharkoon SHARK Force Black
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit/Win 10 pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 173p, multicore 1306p
My MSI B450 Tomahawk Max on the latest BIOS/UEFI version enabled that feature on my Ryzen 2600X also and testing some games with my Sapphire Pulse 5700 seems to help, especially in min FPS and smoothness. I guess it works best on Zen3 and 6000 GPUs but higher performance for free is always welcomed. The most difference it makes though is in loading times. Big difference there!
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,954 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
My MSI B450 Tomahawk Max on the latest BIOS/UEFI version enabled that feature on my Ryzen 2600X also and testing some games with my Sapphire Pulse 5700 seems to help, especially in min FPS and smoothness. I guess it works best on Zen3 and 6000 GPUs but higher performance for free is always welcomed. The most difference it makes though is in loading times. Big difference there!
interesting, if that holds true we'll have to wait on some reviews for details on that
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
984 (0.29/day)
Location
Ireland
is it stable? I heard you can't go back...
Sorry for late reply. Yes, system is rock solid and i believe you can flash older BIOS. At least I'm able to select older BIOS version and it is asking me if i want to flash it to older version. I clicked no, since i didn't want to reset my settings, but i assume it is possible.
 
Top