1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II vs my currently PSU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by RaHLogiX, Oct 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,995 (10.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,803
    I'm surprised it's working with a 6970. Your PSU is underspec for your current card. Will it work with a G580? Maybe but not likely. Will it fail? Yes, eventually. What are the rest of your system specifications?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Intel I5-2500K @ 4GHz
    8 gigs of 1333 ram
    ASRock Z68 Pro3
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,995 (10.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,803
    Well.. I would suggest you upgrade to a quality 650w or more PSU first.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    well... Now I'm confused because on other board they told me that everything will be okay and I should be worried when I will want to make 580 SLI, but not one card...
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,995 (10.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,803
    Considering the maximum power requirements for the 6970 and 580 is more than your PSU, "they" are wrong.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    oh well... okay =/
    Which PSU you can reccomend?
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,995 (10.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,803
  9. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    well, I don't know what to do now, really.
    I will not OC my GPU and other people keeps telling me that my current PSU will be okay. You're the only one guy who told me that it will be bad.
     
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Minimum PSU Wattage: 416 W
    Recommended
    PSU Wattage: * 466 W
     
  12. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    With which card?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Gtx 580
     
  14. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,403 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    US of A
    It seems like you just want people to reassure you it's enough. If the other "board" told you it's good to go (and you are sure) then why are you asking here? It's difficult to say for sure, but I wouldn't run on anything less than 650-750 for that setup. You have to take into account the degradation of the unit. Electronics degrade and fail over time. Sometimes sooner than later, and PSU's can take out other components with them if they don't go peacefully!

    You should be able to drop $80 on a new PSU and get rid of the one you got. Is it worth possibly damaging your hardware? You're playing with fire on that 500 watter.

    PS: When calculating did you take into account all of your case electronics (fans, LED's), hard drives, etc?

    I calculated 563w 100% peak usage with your OC'd cpu setup. I included only two 120mm case fans and one optical drive - a dvdrw combo. Those are the only things I added on. Oh and guessed on your 4GHz overclock. What core voltage you running at? Makes a difference.


    ...you won't be winking when that PSU pops under extreme load and destroys your 6970 and motherboard. You should listen to their advice...
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  15. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes ;)
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,995 (10.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,803
    Then you should stick with your 500W PSU. Obviously you found a way better way of determining how much PSU power you actually need. Good luck.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    GTX 580 - 600 watts 12v rail with 42Amps current min requirement

    Your PSU will not push 42Amps through the +12V rail, and the GPU is not the only thing running off the +12V rail. You can try it if you really want to, but chances are more than likely that it will not run for long. If you stress your PSU too much, you could end up frying multiple devices in your system. If you don't believe erocker (a moderator on these forums with almost 27 thousand posts), me (with over 8 thousand) and a lot of other members that will soon chime in, then best of luck to you, and I hope you don't regret your decision.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,995 (10.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,803
    But the calculator says it doesn't?




    :p
     
    LordJummy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,060
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    We said to buy a new PSU.. u said no... we'll see u in a month or 2 when you ask how to troubleshoot a blown up psu
     
  20. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    where I did say "no"?
     
  21. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,403 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    US of A
    I think you should just listen to the advice and go with a higher capacity PSU. It's worth the extra money to protect the entire investment. You won't notice any difference in actual performance of the hardware, but you won't be devastated by a total PSU failure and possible hardware failure.

    It won't be hard to sell that OCZ psu and get a better one. The $ difference is minimal in the long run.
     
  22. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  23. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,403 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    US of A
    750W should be plenty for a mid-high end overclocked cpu and gpu setup, several hd's, optical drive, etc.

    Don't think you can add a second GPU though with a OC'd cpu and such. I would go with an 850w+ if you want to do two way crossfire, and make sure there's plenty of amperage on the 12V rail(s).
     
  24. RaHLogiX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I wont be making any SLI/Crossfire in the future, do not like it. And I have Z68 Pro3 motherboard ;)
     
  25. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,662 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Location:
    Hide and Seek
    still listen to the wise ppl here, it's more important that ur 12v rails got 42amps than u got like 5KW psu bcs it will only shit bricks if it don't got the 42amps in ur 12v rails.

    så get a good psu before going up on a card that actually requirest some amps...

    i have seen it and tried it on my own, it's not all about watts but srsly 500watt psu, maybe on short terms it will work, but for years i srsly doubt that it's out of range, get like a 650watt or more with some good amps and u will be fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.