• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus GTX1060 only outputting blank screen from one HDMI port after failed overclock (Code 43)

jhorne4

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hello all -

I have an ASUS GTX1060 3GB and took a stab at overclocking it the other day a few mhz and didn't increase the voltage. Next thing I know, my game starts chopping and I end up having to force reboot my computer. From then on I cannot get it to work. I have tried the following:
- Uninstall drivers with DDO tool
- Install drivers
- Reset CMOS
- Flash Nvidia gpu bios
- Disable and Re Enable GFX Card
- Set PCIE slot as default for graphics output. (When I do this and I do not have anything plugged into onboard graphics, that is when I get a blank screen)
I am getting code 43 in device manager.

What is so strange to me is that I can flash the bios on the card but I cannot get any video output. Any help thanks! I have an RMA, but really want to game and not have to wait almost a month. see screenshots below pls.

Capture2.PNG
Capture1.PNG
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,876 (0.96/day)
Likes
1,950
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
Welll from the GPU-Z shot it “looks” like a bad flash because a lot of info is clearly missing. Sorry I didn’t have a solution for you but that is something I can clearly see is wrong.
 

jhorne4

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
#3
It showed the same thing before the flash. What's odd is I can download the bios from the card but get no output.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,629 (1.79/day)
Likes
2,001
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V ,Ttevo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1 ,FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 ,Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 16Gb 2933@16, @1600 cas8
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK,
Storage samsung 840(250OS), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic ,Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi, Corsair ax1200
Mouse CM optane, no comment bad
Keyboard CM optane, asus but the worst free membrane one.
Software Win 10 Pro ,same
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far 7703vega 3dmark timespy
#4
sounds like it died? sorry
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,152 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,331
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
Hello all -

I have an ASUS GTX1060 3GB and took a stab at overclocking it the other day a few mhz and didn't increase the voltage. Next thing I know, my game starts chopping and I end up having to force reboot my computer. From then on I cannot get it to work. I have tried the following:
- Uninstall drivers with DDO tool
- Install drivers
- Reset CMOS
- Flash Nvidia gpu bios
- Disable and Re Enable GFX Card
- Set PCIE slot as default for graphics output. (When I do this and I do not have anything plugged into onboard graphics, that is when I get a blank screen)
I am getting code 43 in device manager.

What is so strange to me is that I can flash the bios on the card but I cannot get any video output. Any help thanks! I have an RMA, but really want to game and not have to wait almost a month. see screenshots below pls.

View attachment 90004 View attachment 90005
We need complete system specs, including your power supply make and model.

To resolve your issue, save your money for a 1070.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
88 (0.18/day)
Likes
31
System Name Xena
Processor 2x X5660 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard Tyan S7010
Memory 48 GB DDR3 1333Mhz ECC registered
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 660 ti windforce
Storage 3 TB WD red
Case MaxData platinum 500
Power Supply Chieftec APS-850CB
Software Win 7 X64 ultimate
#7
@jhorne4 you should NOT flash bios just because your overclock fails ( it's to high)
I had same problem 2 years ago when overclocking GTX 260:
- onboard graphics gave image and saying that GTX is in problem
than, i uninstalled Graphics card driver and rebooted pc, on initial reset i entered bios and set PCI-E card to give picture - and it did
pc rebooted successfully displaying image over GTX 260 (not onboard graphics) and i thought - phew, it's gone, but i was wrong
After i installed nVidia driver, clocks went back and i got black screen again

For some reason ( idk why) high clocks survived in background while i was uninstalling and installing GPU drivers which was too high for that card

My solution was: Fresh reinstall of windows , than windows updates and drivers, and card started working normally, than passed any synthetic test and game (including furmark)
I hope i helped you
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
3,073 (4.74/day)
Likes
2,230
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 3.9 Ghz / 1.35V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#8
@jhorne4 you should NOT flash bios just because your overclock fails ( it's to high)
He didn't do it just because the overclock failed. I don't think your issue was the same as his, form what I understand in his case it never showed a video-out even after a driver uninstall before he flashed it. If it was just a high overclock that should have been enough to clear that up.

My guess is the card was just bad to begin with, highly unlikely it was the overclock that caused this , if the card functions correctly it should be near impossible to kill it.

It could be that the PSU might have caused this as well. Maybe the PCIe got fired in the process ? If you can , use another card and see what it does.

So RMA if you can , looks like it's done for. Make sure you flash it back to the original BIOS.
 
Last edited:

jhorne4

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
#9
He didn't do it just because the overclock failed. I don't think your issue was the same as his, form what I understand in his case it never showed a video-out even after a driver uninstall before he flashed it. If it was just a high overclock that should have been enough to clear that up.

My guess is the card was just bad to begin with, highly unlikely it was the overclock that caused this , if the card functions correctly it should be near impossible to kill it.

It could be that the PSU might have caused this as well. Maybe the PCIe got fired in the process ? If you can , use another card and see what it does.

So RMA if you can , looks like it's done for. Make sure you flash it back to the original BIOS.
Thanks. The card has worked for about a year and then when I increased MHz with msi afterburner it stopped working. I agree one small clock shouldn't brick it.

Regarding error code:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/310123/error-codes-in-device-manager-in-windows

Judging from the SUBSYS ID in the GPU-Z screenshot you grabbed the BIOS from the database?

There are several models at ASUS so make sure it's the right BIOS

I'll reflash and make sure the bios is correct thx

I noticed that the fans only spin on startup now since I flashed to new bios...idk if that matters. Also when I am trying to flash back to my original bios im getting this error : "Failed to preserve Inforom BBO data due to vbios's IR does not contain the BBO placeholder."
 
Last edited by a moderator:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,599 (3.93/day)
Likes
9,212
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#10
@jhorne4 After it stopped working properly, but before you flashed it, did you get a proper BIOS boot screen when starting the PC, or was it blank at that point too?

If it wasn't blank, then did Windows show that it was starting, but then go blank?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,679 (3.96/day)
Likes
10,966
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#11
@jhorne4
Just to be clear you've owned this card for a year & have never flashed the bios or manipulated clocks until you slightly increased the frequency recently which caused this problem?
 

jhorne4

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
#12
@jhorne4 After it stopped working properly, but before you flashed it, did you get a proper BIOS boot screen when starting the PC, or was it blank at that point too?

If it wasn't blank, then did Windows show that it was starting, but then go blank?
Yes I have been using the internal graphics card and it works fine.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2017
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Groton, CT
System Name Boot Box 1.0
Processor Ryzen R5 1400 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Asrock Pro4+ AB350 ATX
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 2800
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX RX 580 8G
Storage Western Digital Blue 1TB Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB
Display(s) Samsung 27" CFG70 Curved Gaming Monitor
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400 Tempered Glass ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650W 80+ Gold Fully Modular
Mouse Random Cooler Master Mouse
Keyboard Random Cooler Master Keyboard
#13
Hm. It could be possible that you're card is bricked, you've tried different PCI-e slots right?
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,599 (3.93/day)
Likes
9,212
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#14
Yes I have been using the internal graphics card and it works fine.
Sorry, that's not clear. I'm not asking about the IGP.

Strictly this card after it fell over with the overclock, but before you flashed it to try and fix it, that's what I need to know as it's a crucial point.

@jhorne4
Just to be clear you've owned this card for a year & have never flashed the bios or manipulated clocks until you slightly increased the frequency recently which caused this problem?
^^^ Also, what this troublemaker :p has asked you is really pertinent too and needs answering. ^^^
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,679 (3.96/day)
Likes
10,966
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#15
Also, what this handsomely brave super intelligent man king :p has asked you is really pertinent too and needs answering. ^^^
:pimp:
It just seems odd to me that such a small adjustment in frequency would cause this kind of issue without some sort of previous meddling.

Also (& I'm not making any accusation here I'm just stating a piece of personal experience) I've noticed that people who are willing to flash a GPU generally have done it before
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,599 (3.93/day)
Likes
9,212
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

jhorne4

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
#17
@jhorne4
Just to be clear you've owned this card for a year & have never flashed the bios or manipulated clocks until you slightly increased the frequency recently which caused this problem?
Correct

Hm. It could be possible that you're card is bricked, you've tried different PCI-e slots right?
Yep

Sorry, that's not clear. I'm not asking about the IGP.

Strictly this card after it fell over with the overclock, but before you flashed it to try and fix it, that's what I need to know as it's a crucial point.



^^^ Also, what this troublemaker :p has asked you is really pertinent too and needs answering. ^^^
Yes I got a proper boot screen.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,679 (3.96/day)
Likes
10,966
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,599 (3.93/day)
Likes
9,212
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#19
Yes I got a proper boot screen.
Then you shouldn't have flashed your card as it was working properly. Your flash has now stopped it working properly, compounding the problem. All the overclock did was crash the computer and mess up your Windows installation/drivers which just required a software fix - at most a complete reinstall of Windows from scratch.

You need to find the exact BIOS for that card now and try to flash it back. Did you make a backup before you flashed it?

You may think that the overclock wasn't much, but even fairly small ones can make the computer fall over in unpredictable ways. Nature of the beast, lol. You'll then have to fix Windows.

@eidairaman1 I know you've already posted here, but we need your siggy again! :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,152 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,331
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

jhorne4

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
#21
I have tried to flash it back to stock. And no, the card was not working. As I said, I got the bios screen only when using internal graphics. I get zero output besides sometimes a black screen from the card, when I'm only plugged into the discrete card. Please scroll up to see the bios error I'm getting now.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,152 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,331
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#22
Contact the card maker or throw it in the trash.

It seems we are going in circles and you are not listening.

By the way where are your system specs?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,015 (0.48/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Spencerport NY
#23
Unnecessary bad flash killed you.
Try to RMA and hope they don't call you on it.
I shouldn't even be saying that because you created your own problem.
It started out as a simple driver crash.
There is almost never a good reason to be flashing bios's on graphics cards.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,152 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,331
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#24
Unnecessary bad flash killed you.
Try to RMA and hope they don't call you on it.
I shouldn't even be saying that because you created your own problem.
It started out as a simple driver crash.
There is almost never a good reason to be flashing bios's on graphics cards.
It's time he replace the card. Until then no help will be given, plus not having system specs doesn't help the situation either.
 

jhorne4

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
#25
Unnecessary bad flash killed you.
Try to RMA and hope they don't call you on it.
I shouldn't even be saying that because you created your own problem.
It started out as a simple driver crash.
There is almost never a good reason to be flashing bios's on graphics cards.
It wasn't a bad flash. It completed successfully.
 
Top