• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus hd7950 crossfire??

Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#1
has anyone done, seen or read a review on HD7950 directcuII crossfire?? (or even a picture of such)

my plans are to crossfire the beast but ive never seen it done or even a picture. my intended board is the gigabyte 990FXA UD3 r1 just because it has four pcie x16 (fx8***)

anyone???
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,379 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#2
Yes, you can crossfire the 7950, yes your motherboard can support Crossfire. That board only crossfires with the two x16 slots but they are spaced slots apart so I think you will be fine.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#4
yea I think the pciex16 are triple spacing which will be tight... I need triple +1 really. I know it can be done ive just never seen a pic or review. I want to see and know before I buy

and lawII the only crossfire is with a sapphire and asus.

thanks
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#5
someone just told me that the ud3 wont work due to the pciex16 lanes and spacing?! he recommended the ud7, which is tooo pricey and ive seen it with the rog rampage again toooo pricey! however the guy that I seen with them in a normal atx case etc had a Asus P8Z77-V, whats the AM3+ version??


 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
419 (0.18/day)
Likes
116
Processor Intel i7-3820 @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X79-UD7
Cooling Thermaltake Water Pro 2.0
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Leadtek GeForce GTX 670 Reference
Storage Intel SSD530 120GB OS/BOOT, various mechanical drives for storage
Display(s) 2x Dell U2311H
Case Lian-Li PC-V1000
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence ST
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Modular 600W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#6
It should work with the Gigabyte motherboard you mentioned.
Manual is here: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3894#manual

The x16 slots are Slots 2 and 5, so there's 3 slots between them. Should be enough to accomodate the DirectCU IIs, which are supposedly 2.5 slots wide.

Board layout here, I've highlighted the slots your GPUs will go into:





Here's the specs page for the 7950 DC2s explaining the 2.5 slot width.
http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/HD7950DC2T3GD5/#specifications
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#7
well that's pretty decent of you, thanks!

the problem is that on the back port the plate is 3 slots with air holes through, it uses 3 screws! tbh I really need to see these boards and take measurements because I think itll be tight with spacing as well as the psu. that's why im trying to find at least one person with similar set up. (the card actually is 3 slots but heatsink 2.5)

EDIT: ive got an idea......thanks to jihad.. ill look at that crossfire set ups mobo manual (above) and try figure it out


crossfire above:


proposed board:


looks to me a winner
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,889 (0.99/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#8
the UD3 is just fine for the setup
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#10
yea I cant decide between the 8320 or 8350! I guess which ever is on a deal at the time I suppose
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,889 (0.99/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#11
the fx 6300 should do just fine once it's at the same speed as the FX 8350 as most games don't use 8 cores (most do 1-4) you won't see a performance drop caused by lack of cores but more due to the lack of frequency. An FX 4300 at 4.5Ghz will be equal to a FX8350 at 4.5Ghz as long as the game uses less than 4 threads it also does so using less power and producing less heat but will run into issues when running more apps at the same time as a game that uses 4 threads. The FX 6300 is only 10$ more than the 4300 and only requires a 500mhz(3.5Ghz to 4Ghz) oc to match an FX 8350 in games.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#12
ah probably why 4100 is nearly always 95% multi thread use and cpu usage even at 4.1ghz! but if im going to spend money I might as well future proof it with the 8 series
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,889 (0.99/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#13
Those 2 extra cores over the FX6300 cost a lot and won't be much use unless your going to do 3D rendering/video converting but even while idling they'll eat power and produce heat. As for being future proof YEAAAAH No games are a still mostly 2 core and improving really really slowy look at Skyrim that game is almost entirely single core. The only game I can think of that use more than 4 cores properly is BF3 and that loads each core 30-40% on an FX 8350 so on yours you'd get 40-53% load per core which is perfectly okay. Most games get usage like this:
core 0: 70-95%
core 1: 10-40%
core 2: 0-40%
core 3: 0-40%
core 4: 0%
core 5: 0%
core 6: 0%
core 7: 0%
However if you have the money and cooling the FX8350 is the better chip just not the most cost effective choice.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#14
If you are going to upgrade CPU's do not spare any expense and get the 8350. You may regret it later on.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.66/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#15
I am running a 990fxa UD3 in one of my rigs and if you can get me the measurments of the width of the card I can check for you. But I think you will be fine. :toast:
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#16
the mad shot, cant thank you enough! 11 " x 5.1 " x 2.1 " Inch! what case is the ud3 in?

edit: to answer the cpu issue, I see it as soon amd launch new cpu's which means the fx6 etc will be less high end (also cheaper) and if I buy the best now, then in a year mine may be second best which I can live with.....plus fx8350 has selling ability!
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.66/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#17
I have almost 2.5 inches in between the 2 16x Pci-e slots. Here is a couple pics for you. Also I have it temporarly housed in my original Dragon case.



 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#18
thanks .from that I guess itll give me roughly 4mm between spacing! urmm Is that enough for air flow?! ive seen worse lol
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.66/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#19
thanks .from that I guess itll give me roughly 4mm between spacing! urmm Is that enough for air flow?! ive seen worse lol
You should be good.:toast: