• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus M2a-vm

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,186 (3.44/day)
Likes
18,169
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#1
The ASUS M2A-VM is ASUS' first board using the new AMD RS690G chipset. It comes in the small MicroATX form factor and is all passively cooled. This makes the board an ideal candidate for a quiet Media PC system. The integrated VGA with DVI/Analog output has enough power to do video playback and play an occasional game.

Show full review
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.88/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#2
Excellent in depth review, Wiz.

Decent little board. Hopefully ASUS will add memory timing in a future bios revision. That would make this a killer budget board for sff or htpc setups.
 

Kasparz

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
#3
W1zzard, can we see some benchmarks done with IGP? Hopefully some 3dmark03 or 05, because 01 is too cpu dependant.
 

dmce

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
Can any comments be made on HD (both 720p and 1080p) playback. I wouldnt imagine that CPU would be of much use in that area but this ability is a crucial factor for a HDMI equipped board surely?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
498 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
#5
I would like to see this teamed up with a high end audio chip. Those are some rather disappointing benches even for a budget chipset, should at least be higher in media benches. Wonder if it's set to 2T timing in bios?
 

cclim033

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#6
M2A-VM with low GPU clock ?

:cry:Can anyone give an advice why my board show low GPU clock=57.28 Mhz instead of the right clock which suppose to be 400Mhz.I'm using GPU-Z.exe & ATITool 0.26 to check it out and the result is the same. My friend brought Biostar board with same AMD 690G, but it show the right 400Mhz.Pls pls help me to rectify it................Thank you

cc
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
:cry:Can anyone give an advice why my board show low GPU clock=57.28 Mhz instead of the right clock which suppose to be 400Mhz.I'm using GPU-Z.exe & ATITool 0.26 to check it out and the result is the same. My friend brought Biostar board with same AMD 690G, but it show the right 400Mhz.Pls pls help me to rectify it................Thank you

cc
I am having this exact same problem.. atitool used to work fine and clock was good (400 like it shoulda been) but for some reason its like 57mhz and i can't even bring it back up to 400... even in everest it shows that its 57mhz... anyone else having this same problem?
 

shivnats

New Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
yeah same here....ati tool is showing 57 mhz! please can somebody advice me on this problem , as i am not able to overclock the damn chipset.