• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS M2NPV-VM and modern video cards

mozyto

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Hi, I hope you can help me with this topic.
I have this motherboard since 11 years, over the years I have been upgrading the system. The initial specs were AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ with 2 GB RAM DDR2 667 Mhz, DD Seagate 500 GB and a graphics card EVGA GeForce 7950 GT KO 512 MB. PSU 550 W. A few years later updated the BIOS to 5005, the last for this MOBO, actually the system have a AMD Phenom II X4 945 with 8 GB RAM DDR2 800 MHz, 1 SSD Samsung EVO 850 512 GB, 3 HDD Seagate 500 GB (the first HDD) Seagate 1 TB and Seagate 4 TB, 1 DVD Burner and 1 BD burner. The PSU is the same. The video card damaged so I have been working with onboard graphics Geforce 6150. I decided to buy a new video card, based in some builds posted in a site userbenchmark.com (https://www.userbenchmark.com/System/Asus-M2NPV-VM/838) and a few people installed even a GTX 1060 or a 1050 ti, apparently successfully, although the mobo has PCI-E 1.X and the cards are PCIE 3.0. I bought a EVGA 1050 ti SC gaming (this card don't require extra energy) today arrived the card and i proceed to install it, but the PC didn't boot. I have been reading maybe the card require UEFI BIOS but the motherboard only have the old BIOS (legacy). Simply the PC get stucked in a blank screen and don't post. Any ideas to make the system boot? By the way, the idea is not upgrade the mobo, unless there is no other choice. Thanks in advance and sorry for my english.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mozyto

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Here's an update. I applied RMA to the EVGA 1050 Ti SC Gaming. According to the website userbenchmark.com and a test made by an user in UK (https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/8263056) a potential graphic card to work with this mobo is the Zotac GTX 1050 Ti Mini 4 GB (https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/zotac-gtx-1050-ti-mini.b3944) so I bought it. Surprisingly, this card doesn't work either, don't boot up. I noticed that user doesn't have the same BIOS version that I have, 5005 (2010) vs maybe 1201 (2007), neither the same OS version (Windows 10 vs Windows 7). I made several test to the graphic card and none was successful. I tried the graphics card I had previously (EVGA GeForce 7950 GT KO) and was detected by the system without problems, although this card require a 6 pin connector to work, so I deduce the PCIE port is working but maybe doesn't provide the necessary amount of wattage (read https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/watt-limit-on-my-pcie.2799282), is partially working (damaged??) or a problem with legacy BIOS version. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

UserBenchMark-ASUS-M2NPV-VM 01.png

UserBenchmark-ASUS-M2NPV-VM 02.png

zotac-gtx-1050ti-mini.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
507 (0.72/day)
Location
PL, Krk (JPN, Tokyo)
System Name Nilin
Processor Ryzen 9 3950x (16c32t)@Stock
Motherboard Asus Rog Crosshair VIII Hero Wifi
Cooling EK-KIT P360
Memory G. Skill TridentZ Neo 2x8gb 3600Mhz CL16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) Msi GTX 1080 TI FE (EK Full Cover Waterblock + Backplate)
Storage Samsung Evo 960 250gb (System), Samsung Evo 860 500gb (Games), Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 1Tb (Games)
Display(s) LG 27" UHD IPS, Asus VG258QR 24,5" TN
Case InWin 303 (7x Fractal Prisma 120mm)
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand RGB 850W
Mouse Tt eSPORTS Saphira
Keyboard Logitech Pro Series
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/21022952
well, 75W is the max card can pull from pcie x16 slot so it should work.
im assuming the psu has no 80+ certification, how many W it actually provide on a +12V lane?
7950gt is quite dated so even if it has TDP of 65W it might be not even close to pull that much.
 

mozyto

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
In effect, theoretically the x16 pcie slot provides 75 W (in all specifications of pci express as far as I know) so if the slot is fully functional has to provide that wattage needed by the graphics card to work, in this case the zotac card need 75w so it should work. The PSU is not certificated, i don't know how many watts provide the +12v lane.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
615 (0.27/day)
Processor ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard b450m pro4
Cooling custom loop
Memory TEAMGROUP T-Force TXKD416G3600HC18ADC01 16gbs @ 3266mhz 14-14-14-28-42
Video Card(s) xfx rx580 8gb (1405/2000)
Storage MZNTY128HDHP-00L1(128gb ssd) /3TB HDD
Display(s) HP 25cw 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA 600W
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
your motherboard propably does not support uefi. there is a weird wacky why to get it to work that i know of but its extremely impractical and requires more than one graphics card. ill look at the bios.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,190 (0.56/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
It's long past time to dump that CPU/mobo/RAM combo. Second-hand Sandy Bridge setups are going for a pittance, support UEFI, and will provide a far superior performance experience to your current system.

Seriously dude, you gotta let it go.
 

mozyto

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
your motherboard propably does not support uefi. there is a weird wacky why to get it to work that i know of but its extremely impractical and requires more than one graphics card. ill look at the bios.
Exactly, the mobo doesn't support UEFI, only legacy BIOS. The options are limited, can choose between PCI-Onboard-PCIE.

It's long past time to dump that CPU/mobo/RAM combo. Second-hand Sandy Bridge setups are going for a pittance, support UEFI, and will provide a far superior performance experience to your current system.

Seriously dude, you gotta let it go.
I'm considering that, already searching options to upgrade my system, I would go for Ryzen. Thanks for the advice.
 

CharlesJavier

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
1 (0.20/day)
Hello, I tell you that I have that motherboard and I have connected a 2GB MSI GT1030 and works without problems.
Currently I have only 4GB (2GBX2) DDR2 800Mhz and an ATHLON 64 X2 3600+.
I use a 250GB CRUCIAL BX500 disk but it does not recognize SATA II, only SATA I of 150MB/s
How does SATA recognize you?
 
Top