• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asus M2R32 MVP ram issue

piebobs71

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
39 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Amd x2 6000+ 3.24ghz,
Motherboard Asus M2R32 MVP
Cooling CPU Asus Silent Knight II,gfx cards stock cooling
Memory 4gb Crucial Ballistix pc2 6400 800mhz(3gb ish in win 32)
Video Card(s) 3870 sapphire heatpipe version+powercolor 3870 extreme
Storage 160gb sata maxtor
Display(s) LG L204WS 20" Widescreen
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600w Silent
Software Win XP 32
#1
hi first post here


i recently upgraded my pc see below,but i cant get the ram running at the correct speed with all things default the ram is at 375mhz not the 400 it should be.i read somewhere that if i drop the multiplier from 15 to 14 that makes the ram run at the correct speed which i tried and it did ,but that then makes my cpu go from 3ghz to 2.8 and if i then o/c to get the cpu back to what it should be the ram goes over the 400mhz.and on the site i bought my ram from it says it uses 2.2v but thats not an option in the bios it goes from 2.15 to 2.25 there is no 2.2.also whats better with ram timings? lower or higher my ram is at 5,5,5,18.i read the things people say but most of it is double dutch to me




AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Crucial Ballistix DDR2 PC2-6400C4 800MHz Dual Channel 4gb
LiteON LH-20A1S-11C 20x DVD±RW
Sony NEC Optiarc DDU1615S 16x SATA DVD-ROM
2x ATI Radeon HD 3870 XT 512MB GDDR4 TV-Out/Dual DVI/HDMI (PCI-Express)
Asus M2R32-MVP Crossfire (Socket AM2)
OCZ StealthXStream 600w Silent SLI Ready ATX2
LG L204WS 20" Widescreen LCD


heres the quote


"Extreme overclockers-please note that the AM2 architechture derives it's memory speed from dividing the CPU speed by whole integer numbers, choosing a number that won't exceed the DDR2 rated speed, and may be less than the memory is capable of.

The 6000+ runs at 3Ghz, and a memory division ratio of 8, giving 375Mhz DDR2, not the 400Mhz you'd expect.

Dropping the CPU multiplier in BIOS from 15 to 14 gives 2800Mhz and a division ratio of 7, giving a true 400Mhz DDR2, which is what the X2 5600+ basically is.

As the 5600+ is a bit cheaper than the 6000+, and will probably overclock to the same level, this may be the better choice.

However, with the 6000+ you get the free game, and can drop the CPU multiplier in BIOS anyway, before raising the HTT to overclock synchronously with the memory."

raising the HTT? ive seen this in the bios but again unsure so have left alone.


also when people talk about 1:1 ratio what does that mean?

i really wanna learn how to set my pc up correctly thanks for any help
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#2
It's normal for an AM2 cpu with an odd multiplier (15 in this case) to underclock the ram. Since the ram dividers can only be whole numbers, it chooses the one that does not run the ram faster than it's ratings. This is completely normal. If you want to run your ram at a higher speed, I suggest lowering the multi, and OCing to go back up to 3Ghz. This will run your ram at about 850MHz. Set to 2.25V 4-4-4-12, and it will do this no problem.
 

piebobs71

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
39 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Amd x2 6000+ 3.24ghz,
Motherboard Asus M2R32 MVP
Cooling CPU Asus Silent Knight II,gfx cards stock cooling
Memory 4gb Crucial Ballistix pc2 6400 800mhz(3gb ish in win 32)
Video Card(s) 3870 sapphire heatpipe version+powercolor 3870 extreme
Storage 160gb sata maxtor
Display(s) LG L204WS 20" Widescreen
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600w Silent
Software Win XP 32
#3
ok cheers ill give it a try
 

piebobs71

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
39 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Amd x2 6000+ 3.24ghz,
Motherboard Asus M2R32 MVP
Cooling CPU Asus Silent Knight II,gfx cards stock cooling
Memory 4gb Crucial Ballistix pc2 6400 800mhz(3gb ish in win 32)
Video Card(s) 3870 sapphire heatpipe version+powercolor 3870 extreme
Storage 160gb sata maxtor
Display(s) LG L204WS 20" Widescreen
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600w Silent
Software Win XP 32
#4
should have posted here sooner the reply,reducing multiplier and o/cing back to 3gb cpu actually gave me lower 3dmark score.


"However, with the 6000+ you get the free game, and can drop the CPU multiplier in BIOS anyway, before raising the HTT to overclock synchronously with the memory."

raising the HTT? ive seen this in the bios but again unsure so have left alone.


also when people talk about 1:1 ratio what does that mean

currently got it running at 3.24 ghz cpu ,216 fsb and ram at 810mhz 2.25v 5,5,5,18(seemed to run better like this rather than 4,4,4,12).
 

Attachments

Bytor

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
1,051 (0.27/day)
Likes
105
System Name "The Dark Spider"
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 @ 3.0
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T
Cooling Water: CPU and GPU's, 2 pumps, 2 BIX Rads, D-Tek Fuzion v1, 2 Swiftech MCW60
Memory 4 gigs Crucial Balistix Tracers (1066 @ 1256)
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD SATA 640 Gig HDD
Display(s) Acer 24" beast...
Case Modded Rocketfish
Audio Device(s) Onboard (only use head phones)
Power Supply 700 watt
Software a bunch
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06: 9859 on 2-X1950 pro's Xfire 3D Mark 06: 12794 on 1-3870 3D Mark 06: 16484 Xfire
#5
I had the same problem with my 6000+ & M2R32-MVP MB. OCing worked great.

Bump that thing up a little more. I have mine running at 3.4 gigs.

Have my multi @ x12, Vcore @ 1.5, FSB @ 283, memory @ 5.5.5.6 @ 1132 mhz. But this is on my new M3A32-MVP..
 

piebobs71

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
39 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Amd x2 6000+ 3.24ghz,
Motherboard Asus M2R32 MVP
Cooling CPU Asus Silent Knight II,gfx cards stock cooling
Memory 4gb Crucial Ballistix pc2 6400 800mhz(3gb ish in win 32)
Video Card(s) 3870 sapphire heatpipe version+powercolor 3870 extreme
Storage 160gb sata maxtor
Display(s) LG L204WS 20" Widescreen
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600w Silent
Software Win XP 32
#6
after reading a tweaking guide the 1:1 ratio thing people talk about is the fsb the same as the ram mhz? so a fsb of 400 for ddr400? is this a good idea or not?

thanks bytor will give it a try dont want to go to high as im using stock cooling