• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS M4N98TD EVO Test

Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
719 (0.12/day)
Location
NYC
Nvidia NForce 980a SLI AM3
Core Unlocker
DDR3 2000(OC)
2 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (Dual @ x16 mode)





Single GPU



 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,771 (0.43/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor Ryzen 1500X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3000mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 450
Storage Crucial M500
Display(s) Philips 1080 24'
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 425W
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hey I want to get this board; when I google it I can't find it at any major etailer, I'm in the UK. When was released? Thanks for the benchmarks.
 

jaydeee

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
54 (0.01/day)
OMG!
Monster setup...

I guess now these days we may assume that more heatsink more power hehehe!
its heavy heat sink I see here!
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,771 (0.43/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor Ryzen 1500X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3000mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 450
Storage Crucial M500
Display(s) Philips 1080 24'
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 425W
Software Windows 10 Pro
Still no reviews about this board. :wtf:
 

shelby92

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Hello to everybody. I would know if one of you can tell me if this motherboard support the technology called Hybrid Power. I want to use the Hybrid Power technology with my MSI 9800GX2. Can I do this? Is there anyone that have already done it? P.S. Sorry for my English, I'm italian.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,771 (0.43/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor Ryzen 1500X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3000mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 450
Storage Crucial M500
Display(s) Philips 1080 24'
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 425W
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hi Shelby92, welcome to TPU; don't be sorry, here at TPU we are from different parts of the world. I think this mobo has onboard graphics but not graphics output, which means you could use it for physx with your main graphics card. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
 

shelby92

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
So this means that i can't use the Hybrid Sli :ohwell: In fact I've read that the Hybrid Power can run only connecting the Monitor cable to the Motherboard Video Output. Is this the meaning? :banghead:
 

bacan

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
System Name Super Diesel
Processor AMD FX-8320@4.6GHz 1.48V
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Corsair H70 /Pushmepully :)
Memory 4X4GB Kingston Predator HyperX DDR3@1912CAS9
Video Card(s) 2X Asus GTX660 DCII SLI
Storage intel (X25-V/40GB + i510/250GB) + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync 2470WVX
Case Silverstone Raven 2 RV02
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 SP1 64bit
Hi Shelby92, welcome to TPU; don't be sorry, here at TPU we are from different parts of the world. I think this mobo has onboard graphics but not graphics output, which means you could use it for physx with your main graphics card. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Yes you can do it, you need to enable Hybrid SLI in BIOS and set amount of RAM memory for it.(up to 512MB)
Unfortunately if you have a decent single graphics card, like GTX 260 or higher, it's pretty useless cause the physics scores will be lower than without it.
It's only for the weak graphics setups like gt240, gt220 and similar. I don't know will it work with an ATI card but I presume no one would buy this motherboard to use it with an ATI in the first place.(there are better mobos based on AMD 89x chipsets)

This motherboard uses the latest and greatest (still 3 years old) nforce chipset for AMD and it has a decent voltage regulation but everything else on it is average.
To cut off some expenses Asus didn't put usual VGA/DVI connectors to this board, it also removed the third pci-e x16 slot despite the fact that nforce 980a(780a) is 3-way SLI capable.
(This mobo has only 6 expansion slots, 2 pci-e X16, 2 pci-e X1 and 2 PCI)
So at the end it's integrated graphics is pretty useless.

Still, if you look at it's price, X6 CPU support and overclockability it's a decent solution for running 2-way SLI on AMD system. :)
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,771 (0.43/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor Ryzen 1500X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3000mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 450
Storage Crucial M500
Display(s) Philips 1080 24'
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 425W
Software Windows 10 Pro
Yes you can do it, you need to enable Hybrid SLI in BIOS and set amount of RAM memory for it.(up to 512MB)
Unfortunately if you have a decent single graphics card, like GTX 260 or higher, it's pretty useless cause the physics scores will be lower than without it.
It's only for the weak graphics setups like gt240, gt220 and similar. I don't know will it work with an ATI card but I presume no one would buy this motherboard to use it with an ATI in the first place.(there are better mobos based on AMD 89x chipsets)

This motherboard uses the latest and greatest (still 3 years old) nforce chipset for AMD and it has a decent voltage regulation but everything else on it is average.
To cut off some expenses Asus didn't put usual VGA/DVI connectors to this board, it also removed the third pci-e x16 slot despite the fact that nforce 980a(780a) is 3-way SLI capable.
(This mobo has only 6 expansion slots, 2 pci-e X16, 2 pci-e X1 and 2 PCI)
So at the end it's integrated graphics is pretty useless.

Still, if you look at it's price, X6 CPU support and overclockability it's a decent solution for running 2-way SLI on AMD system. :)

Right now I think this is the only choice if you want to go SLI with AMD; last year a similar board was released with 3 PCI-E but using DDR2 memory. Anyway mine should be here tomorrow. :rockout:
 

bacan

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
System Name Super Diesel
Processor AMD FX-8320@4.6GHz 1.48V
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Corsair H70 /Pushmepully :)
Memory 4X4GB Kingston Predator HyperX DDR3@1912CAS9
Video Card(s) 2X Asus GTX660 DCII SLI
Storage intel (X25-V/40GB + i510/250GB) + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync 2470WVX
Case Silverstone Raven 2 RV02
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 SP1 64bit
There's another nforce 980a mobo with DDR3 support, it's a MSI NF980-GD65 and it is full 3-way SLI capable with fully working integrated graphics.
Still, I didn't take it cause it's more expensive with memory overclocking potential weaker than this ASUS.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
719 (0.12/day)
Location
NYC
With the latest bios board works good for cpu/mem/nb clocking with subzero cooling.

LN2 cooling still buggy with low NB clocking
 

shelby92

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
The MSI N980-G65 permits the Hybrid Power only since it has got Video Output. If the ASUS had had video output like the MSI the Hybrid power wuolb be possible. But it isn't.
 

barr3l rid3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
nice, and it work w/ x6 CPus?


looks like a good memory overclocker also, maybe better then AMD chipset?
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,771 (0.43/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor Ryzen 1500X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3000mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 450
Storage Crucial M500
Display(s) Philips 1080 24'
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 425W
Software Windows 10 Pro
I'm getting BSOD's every time I turn on my PC with this board. Anybody experiences this?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
346 (0.08/day)
Location
Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
System Name KXa DrakeN
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z Z68 1155
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory 8GB Ripjaw-X Red 1866mhz
Video Card(s) 2X ASUS GTX780 DCUII OC
Storage Crucial M4 128gb+Intel 320 160gb Gen3+2TB BLack WD+1TB Black WD
Display(s) DELL S2740L 27'' LED LCD
Case NZXT Phantom 410
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR D2X
Power Supply Corsair HX1050wt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
I'm getting BSOD's every time I turn on my PC with this board. Anybody experiences this?

did you enable the nvidia core calibration? i get the same result when enable the switch on the mobo
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,771 (0.43/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor Ryzen 1500X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3000mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 450
Storage Crucial M500
Display(s) Philips 1080 24'
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 425W
Software Windows 10 Pro
With the latest bios the board seems fine now.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,179 (0.53/day)
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Stock CPU cooler.
Memory 2x 4Gb Hyper X 2666mhz @2993mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,771 (0.43/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor Ryzen 1500X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3000mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 450
Storage Crucial M500
Display(s) Philips 1080 24'
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 425W
Software Windows 10 Pro
cool ! Either the bios update fixed it or.. it was the refreshed cmos/reset bios . I always clear the cmos when adding/removing any part. Even if Im just pulling them out to clean them. :cool:

I tried that, but it was the bios update what fixed the BSOD's. :)
 
Top