• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASUS M5A97 R2.0 FSB max @ 300 Mhz?

PAPADOC

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name VENOM
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (with Noctua NF-S12B FLX fan - N.A.)
Memory Kingston KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G 16GB Kit 2X8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon XFX HD 4890 w/ HR-03 GT + Noctua NF-B9 fan - L.N.A.)
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA2 16MB Cache
Display(s) BenQ 24" FP241VW LCD HDMI
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Corsair AX850 GOLD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#1
Hello,

I have managed to overclock the ASUS M5A97 R2.0 to a bus speed (FSB) of 300 MHz
using the phenom x6 1045T.

But the second I try and set the bus speed (FSB) a bit higher like 305 MHz,
windows keeps crashing!

Would this be a limitation of the board since it's a 4+2 power phase design?

Or are there other options I can try to stabilize the higher bus speeds

examples:

1- would increasing the mobo related voltages in bios help? i tried a bit of that didn't seem to

2- Remove the stock thermal pads of the default mobo heatsinks and replace them with AS5?

3- Add more heatsinks on the mobo to strategic components?

Any ideas will be appreciated.

thanks

:)
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,648
Location
US
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#2
You need a fan blowing on the northbridge.
 

PAPADOC

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name VENOM
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (with Noctua NF-S12B FLX fan - N.A.)
Memory Kingston KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G 16GB Kit 2X8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon XFX HD 4890 w/ HR-03 GT + Noctua NF-B9 fan - L.N.A.)
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA2 16MB Cache
Display(s) BenQ 24" FP241VW LCD HDMI
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Corsair AX850 GOLD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#3
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#4
Yes, that would be the max which is awesome but overclocking through the HTT(FSB) is pretty much history today. Now see how high you can get with 200 on the FSB and use the multi. Next play around with different multi's and HTT(FSB) to max the overclock. Overclocking through multi will usually require less voltage.......
 

PAPADOC

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name VENOM
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (with Noctua NF-S12B FLX fan - N.A.)
Memory Kingston KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G 16GB Kit 2X8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon XFX HD 4890 w/ HR-03 GT + Noctua NF-B9 fan - L.N.A.)
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA2 16MB Cache
Display(s) BenQ 24" FP241VW LCD HDMI
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Corsair AX850 GOLD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#5
The Phenom X6 1045T has a locked multiplier can't raise it,
FSB is the only way to go for this chip !!!
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#6
The Phenom X6 1045T has a locked multiplier can't raise it,
FSB is the only way to go for this chip !!!
Ahhh, forgot about the locked multi. 300 on the HTT is awesome though.....
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#7
thats the limit with phenoms i think
 

PAPADOC

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name VENOM
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (with Noctua NF-S12B FLX fan - N.A.)
Memory Kingston KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G 16GB Kit 2X8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon XFX HD 4890 w/ HR-03 GT + Noctua NF-B9 fan - L.N.A.)
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA2 16MB Cache
Display(s) BenQ 24" FP241VW LCD HDMI
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Corsair AX850 GOLD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#8
I placed a 4000rpm fan right on top of the northbridge
but it didn't make any difference.

i also raised voltages to the northbridge but still not stable
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,483
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
What is your HT link and CPUNB running at? You might get more if you're pushing either of them too high. I would try to keep the CPU-NB at 2400Mhz and HT at 2000Mhz. Overclocking HT won't give you any gains and will only work both your CPU and NB (on the motherboard,) harder. The CPUNB on the other hand can improve memory bandwidth, but it depends on your core clock. There comes a point where higher CPUNB speeds actually give you worse performance. For 3.7-4.0Ghz, 2400-2600Mhz is the sweet spot, but you have to test a little bit to get it perfect.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#10
I placed a 4000rpm fan right on top of the northbridge
but it didn't make any difference.

i also raised voltages to the northbridge but still not stable
it wont happen. 300 is the limit.

also why on earth would you need 300? you CPU will not be able to handle that much!

also i dont think your nothbridge wants to go till 3Ghz either.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,483
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#11
also i dont think your nothbridge wants to go till 3Ghz either.
That's when you drop the CPUNB and the HT multiplier. Just because the base clock is high doesn't mean other components need to be.
 

PAPADOC

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name VENOM
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (with Noctua NF-S12B FLX fan - N.A.)
Memory Kingston KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G 16GB Kit 2X8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon XFX HD 4890 w/ HR-03 GT + Noctua NF-B9 fan - L.N.A.)
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA2 16MB Cache
Display(s) BenQ 24" FP241VW LCD HDMI
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Corsair AX850 GOLD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#12
What is your HT link and CPUNB running at? You might get more if you're pushing either of them too high. I would try to keep the CPU-NB at 2400Mhz and HT at 2000Mhz. Overclocking HT won't give you any gains and will only work both your CPU and NB (on the motherboard,) harder. The CPUNB on the other hand can improve memory bandwidth, but it depends on your core clock. There comes a point where higher CPUNB speeds actually give you worse performance. For 3.7-4.0Ghz, 2400-2600Mhz is the sweet spot, but you have to test a little bit to get it perfect.
Ok my cpu-nb is around 2450Mhz as my HT

I will try to just lower the HT closer to 2000Mhz see what happens
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,969
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#13
300 is the limit of that motherboard I am supprised you got more then 250
also that motherboard is gonna blow up if you keep trying to OC on it the VRM's can't handle it
set the FSB to 250 and pray it doesn't blow up you are not gonna get 4Ghz out of that Chip EVER no way no how its not possible it WILL break Stop now before you wreak something
that motherboard CAN NOT HANDEL THE POWER DRAW OF A 6 CORE CPU AT 4GHZ IT WILL BLOW UP
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,483
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#14
also that motherboard is gonna blow up if you keep trying to OC on it the VRM's can't handle it
set the FSB to 250 and pray it doesn't blow up you are not gonna get 4Ghz out of that Chip EVER no way no how its not possible it WILL break Stop now before you wreak something
that motherboard CAN NOT HANDEL THE POWER DRAW OF A 6 CORE CPU AT 4GHZ IT WILL BLOW UP
+1: He is right. Don't work the VRMs too hard or you'll do permanent damage to both the motherboard and the CPU.
 

PAPADOC

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name VENOM
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (with Noctua NF-S12B FLX fan - N.A.)
Memory Kingston KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G 16GB Kit 2X8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon XFX HD 4890 w/ HR-03 GT + Noctua NF-B9 fan - L.N.A.)
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA2 16MB Cache
Display(s) BenQ 24" FP241VW LCD HDMI
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Corsair AX850 GOLD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#15
it wont happen. 300 is the limit.

also why on earth would you need 300? you CPU will not be able to handle that much!

also i dont think your nothbridge wants to go till 3Ghz either.
To get higher benchmarks really.

My CPU is already handling 300Mhz for a sweet 4Ghz

But u may be right i may be at the limit right now !!!
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,969
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#16
To get higher benchmarks really.

My CPU is already handling 300Mhz for a sweet 4Ghz

But u may be right i may be at the limit right now !!!
i Give the motherboard a month tops before the VRM's melt
I hope you have money for another board AND cpu
 

PAPADOC

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name VENOM
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (with Noctua NF-S12B FLX fan - N.A.)
Memory Kingston KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G 16GB Kit 2X8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon XFX HD 4890 w/ HR-03 GT + Noctua NF-B9 fan - L.N.A.)
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA2 16MB Cache
Display(s) BenQ 24" FP241VW LCD HDMI
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Corsair AX850 GOLD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#17
300 is the limit of that motherboard I am supprised you got more then 250
also that motherboard is gonna blow up if you keep trying to OC on it the VRM's can't handle it
set the FSB to 250 and pray it doesn't blow up you are not gonna get 4Ghz out of that Chip EVER no way no how its not possible it WILL break Stop now before you wreak something
that motherboard CAN NOT HANDEL THE POWER DRAW OF A 6 CORE CPU AT 4GHZ IT WILL BLOW UP
My CPU is already handling 300Mhz for a sweet 4Ghz

But u may be right i may be at the limit right now !!!

I hope it doesn't blow up
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,969
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#18
your cpu is currently drawing about a 140 to 160 watts(160 if you vcore is >1.50) that motherboard is rated for a MAX of 95 Watts its a cheap board
when IT blows you will be lucky if it doesn't take the CPU outwith it
NEVER oc a high-TDP chip on a cheap board thats just asking for trouble
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#19
HTT scaling is a function of the PLL chip used that actually generates those clocks. This is the one from my M5A97 EVO R1.0 board:




It generates clocks for both the CPU and the SB(since both connect using HTT)

I've seen x6 chips hit over 350 HTT. PLL used is a big part of that, but as mentioned, it's probably a chip limit, although 300 MHz is by no means the maximum for those chips.


your cpu is currently drawing about a 140 to 160 watts(160 if you vcore is >1.50) that motherboard is rated for a MAX of 95 Watts its a cheap board
when IT blows you will be lucky if it doesn't take the CPU outwith it
NEVER oc a high-TDP chip on a cheap board thats just asking for trouble

No. Just no. 95W.....you are very much wrong. Where did you get THAT from? :shadedshu


The board supports all AM3+ chips(including 140W x4 BE 965), plus OC.

I mean really, just check the QVL:

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A97_EVO_R20/#CPUS
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,969
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#20
HTT scaling is a function of the PLL chip used that actually generates those clocks. This is the one from my M5A97 EVO R1.0 board:

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/M5A97_EVO/images/ics_controller.jpg


It generates clocks for both the CPU and the SB(since both connect using HTT)

I've seen x6 chips hit over 350 HTT. PLL used is a big part of that, but as mentioned, it's probably a chip limit, although 300 MHz is by no means the maximum.
the 'speed' of the host-clock is just that a CLOCK its what the cpu uses to keep in'in step
200 x 13.5 = 2700 (proc speed)
200 x 10 = 2000 (HT/NB speed)
dave is right. tho the problem IS two fold the cpu is probably hitting a power supply/stability wall and the motherboard isn't liking that hostclock set so high because it has a affect on other components
the R2.0 is a garbage com-paired to the 1.0 they cut a bunch of function from it to lower costs
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,969
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#21
HTT scaling is a function of the PLL chip used that actually generates those clocks. This is the one from my M5A97 EVO R1.0 board:

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/M5A97_EVO/images/ics_controller.jpg


It generates clocks for both the CPU and the SB(since both connect using HTT)

I've seen x6 chips hit over 350 HTT. PLL used is a big part of that, but as mentioned, it's probably a chip limit, although 300 MHz is by no means the maximum for those chips.




No. Just no. 95W.....you are very much wrong. Where did you get THAT from? :shadedshu


The board supports all AM3+ chips(including 140W x4 BE 965), plus OC.

I mean really, just check the QVL:

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A97_EVO_R20/#CPUS

Orly so they added support because I had a R2.0 for about a week before I bought this and was told by ASUS support that it didn't support 125TDP because my Phenom II would't post in it so someone someplace is lieing ...
I quit reading the QVL's when vendors starting listing 125TDP on boards with 4+1 phase VRM's
and the Op Says his board is 4+2 so its either NOT a m5A97 EVO or hes wrong
even assuming that the board is capable of outputting a sustained 140 the Op is exceeding that by at least 15-40W(depending on what his vcore is) granted not a whole lot but on a "4+2/6Phase" thats pushing your luck in my book hell I keep a eye on my 8+2's on this board if its one thing you don't wanna go chancing its the VRM's
edit the board is indeed 4+2 tho the vrm database on overclock.net says it should handle the strain they don't say what chip and at what speed they tested at
 
Last edited:

PAPADOC

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name VENOM
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (with Noctua NF-S12B FLX fan - N.A.)
Memory Kingston KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G 16GB Kit 2X8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon XFX HD 4890 w/ HR-03 GT + Noctua NF-B9 fan - L.N.A.)
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA2 16MB Cache
Display(s) BenQ 24" FP241VW LCD HDMI
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Corsair AX850 GOLD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#22
your cpu is currently drawing about a 140 to 160 watts(160 if you vcore is >1.50) that motherboard is rated for a MAX of 95 Watts its a cheap board
when IT blows you will be lucky if it doesn't take the CPU outwith it
NEVER oc a high-TDP chip on a cheap board thats just asking for trouble
This board supports max 140 watts TDP

source:

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A97_R20/#specifications

http://www.overclock.net/t/946407/amd-motherboards-vrm-info-database

but yeah i forgot about going over 140 watts , hehe got to check that tonight
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#23
Orly so they added support because I had a R2.0 for about a week before I bought this and was told by ASUS support that it didn't support 125TDP because my Phenom II would't post in it so someone someplace is lieing ...
I quit reading the QVL's when vendors starting listing 125TDP on boards with 4+1 phase VRM's
and the Op Says his board is 4+2 so its either NOT a m5A97 EVO or hes wrong
even assuming that the board is capable of outputting a sustained 140 the Op is exceeding that by at least 15-40W(depending on what his vcore is) granted not a whole lot but on a "4+2/6Phase" thats pushing your luck in my book hell I keep a eye on my 8+2's on this board if its one thing you don't wanna go chancing its the VRM's
edit the board is indeed 4+2 tho the vrm database on overclock.net says it should handle the strain they don't say what chip and at what speed they tested at

I am not sure why ASUS would have told you that, since this board has supported all CPUs since it was launched, on the first BIOS.

The number of VRM phases hardly dictates how good a board is, unfortunately. What matters is what those phases are made with, since some easily support of 60a each. With four phases that support 60a, that's far more than most would ever need when running a 24/7 OC. Four 25a phases...sure, noise may limit things a bit, but not that much.

This board supports max 140 watts TDP

source:

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A97_R20/#specifications

http://www.overclock.net/t/946407/amd-motherboards-vrm-info-database

but yeah i forgot about going over 140 watts , hehe got to check that tonight

That VRM has no problem pushing 280W++. I've done it myself. VRM is 6+2+2 phases, not 4+ whatever.
 

PAPADOC

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name VENOM
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1045T @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (with Noctua NF-S12B FLX fan - N.A.)
Memory Kingston KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G 16GB Kit 2X8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Radeon XFX HD 4890 w/ HR-03 GT + Noctua NF-B9 fan - L.N.A.)
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA2 16MB Cache
Display(s) BenQ 24" FP241VW LCD HDMI
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Corsair AX850 GOLD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#24
Orly so they added support because I had a R2.0 for about a week before I bought this and was told by ASUS support that it didn't support 125TDP because my Phenom II would't post in it so someone someplace is lieing ...
I quit reading the QVL's when vendors starting listing 125TDP on boards with 4+1 phase VRM's
and the Op Says his board is 4+2 so its either NOT a m5A97 EVO or hes wrong
even assuming that the board is capable of outputting a sustained 140 the Op is exceeding that by at least 15-40W(depending on what his vcore is) granted not a whole lot but on a "4+2/6Phase" thats pushing your luck in my book hell I keep a eye on my 8+2's on this board if its one thing you don't wanna go chancing its the VRM's
edit the board is indeed 4+2 tho the vrm database on overclock.net says it should handle the strain they don't say what chip and at what speed they tested at
My Vcore is at 1.5 v with LLC on

I am currently at work , but this is why i turn it off when i am not there don't want any suprise fires
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#25
My Vcore is at 1.5 v with LLC on
Which doesn't matter. :p What TPU needs is age verification. :roll:


I pushed 1.65V @ 4.8 GHz no problem on one of those boards, using an 1100T. nearly 6 months later, the board is fine, as is the chip, and it's not my rig. The board is not part of what's limiting you. It's most likely your ram.