• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus MAXIMUS V FORMULA question.

Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,469 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
So this board has an 8 pin and a 4 pin for the cpu; is it required to use the 4 pin ? I might need to get a splitter/adapter cable.
asus 8 and 4 pin.jpg
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
568 (1.25/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro Push/Pull. 5x Corsair ML120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 3600mhz Corsair RGB Pro/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR / MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case Corsair 500D SE RGB/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
None of the Z390 or X570 boards from Asus require more than just the single 8 pin plugged in so I doubt this board does.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,275 (1.32/day)
Location
Long Island
1. As for Power, generally the 8 pin is necessary , 4 pin recommended for Gaming or Overclocking.. I'd be wary of splitter cables ... if not getting a new PSU w/ appropriate cables, id use only the 8 pin and take it easy.

The manual for this board (Page 1-43) says:


Maximus V.jpg


2. The current (Z390) Formula is the XI. The Maximus V Formula has the Z77 chipset. I have the Maximus VI Formula in one of our Builds. CPUs are more efficient these days

3. Another issue with these older boards is the fan headers. The Z87 VI boards were weird in that they were all anticipated to be the 1st series of boards with all PWM connectors.. And when you look at them, you'd think that was true because they all had 4 pins ... and the manuals said they were PWM. As it turned out nobody could quite get the BIOSs or something right as the CHA / OPT headers were all DCV.

On my Z87 Formula build, I used three Fan PCBs which do not present the clutter of splitter cables, are more reliable and can take a PWM or DCV signal and control up too 11 fans on each header.

If you use a DCV header, you will need to limit the number of connected fans such that total amp draw is < 1 amp . With the PWM Header, you can use the auxillary power cable and controll 11 fans.

The board has seven 4-pin connectors

2 CPU Fan Headers
3 Chassis Fan Headers
3 Optional Fan Headers

If you check the Asus forums thoroughly, you shoud find the topic. I e-mailed tech support and didn't get a response but did get one in the forums from an Asus tech confirming the issue. It's an issue that appears several times.

In any case, with seven connectors you should have no issue with places to connect ya fans.

I have this set up on my VI

Channel 0 - CPU and CPU_OPT => Dual 4500 rpm PWM pumps
Channel 1 - CHA_1 ==> Fan PCB 1 ==> (6) DCV 1250 rpm Radiator fans on 420mm Rad
Channel 2 - CHA_2 ==> Fan PCB 12==> (4) DCV 1250 rpm Radiator fans on 280mm Rad
Channel 3 - CHA_3 ==> Fan PCB 3 ==> (6) 1250 rpm Case fans

All fans are controlled w Asus Fan Expert ... they top out at about 825 rom when under stres stesting and peak at 550-650 when gaming
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,894 (4.38/day)
So this board has an 8 pin and a 4 pin for the cpu; is it required to use the 4 pin ? I might need to get a splitter/adapter cable.
View attachment 136818
Nope, the 4-pin is optional.

That information is also mentioned in your manual. Though that image shows you can use a 4-pin only on the left side of the 8-pin, or the 4-pin alone (use all of the 8-pin). Odd....

The current Formula is the XI. The Maximus V has the Z77 chipset
He was simply saying that the modern boards do not and he doesn't see why this would. ;)

Edit: wow John...you went from that one line i quoted for almost 10 minutes to another dissertation about fans on the next gen, lol.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,469 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Thanks guys.

I wanted to replace my sabertooth board since the bios got corrupted and needs a solder job to fix/replace it. (I can do it but have no patience/head for that atm)

That was 12 phase board with 8pin it oc'd relatively easy as well. This formula board has 8+2 phase. Waiting for it to ship this week. I'll see how it goes. There are some thick gauge 4/8pin to molex adapters on amazon if needed. I know cheap cables/thin gauge catch fire in my experiments under load.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,894 (4.38/day)
Thanks guys.

I wanted to replace my sabertooth board since the bios got corrupted and needs a solder job to fix/replace it. (I can do it but have no patience/head for that atm)

That was 12 phase board with 8pin it oc'd relatively easy as well. This formula board has 8+2 phase. Waiting for it to ship this week. I'll see how it goes. There are some thick gauge 4/8pin to molex adapters on amazon if needed. I know cheap cables/thin gauge catch fire in my experiments under load.
it will be just fine for ambient overclocking. Just use your single 8-pin. :)
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,469 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
I got the board today.Packed well giant box like it was a 50 pound stereo receiver.

The board is clean like brand new looking came with a 2500 and intel heatsink installed. I honestly think this was barely abused. I'm using it now and works well till I put my 2600k and proper heatsink when I get a chance. :D I got it for about $80 with shipping.
 
Top