• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asus mega-fail with AMD motherboards!! Avoid!! - [Issue Resolved]

Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Likes
22
Processor Xeon E3 1230 V2
Motherboard ASRock B75M-ITX
Cooling Corsair H40
Memory 2X8GB 1600MHZ DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX960 4GB
Storage Sandisk 480GB SSD plus a few HDDs
Display(s) Dell UP2516D
Case Cubitek Mini-Cube
Power Supply Corsair SF 450
Mouse Logitech G15
Keyboard Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
#1
With Vishera being released,companies like Gigabyte and others are releasing new BIOSes.

Obviously,not the company known as Asus:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1318860/...350-fx-8320-fx-6300-fx-4300/880#post_18436753

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=23024050&postcount=178

If you check their website,they only list their "new" R2.0 motherboards as being compatible. Gigabyte have released updates for most of their 970 and 990 series AM3+ motherboards it seems.

It gets worse:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1318860/...350-fx-8320-fx-6300-fx-4300/920#post_18436965

So they have a compatible BIOS for one 990 based motherboard and then tell people to buy an R2.0 motherboard for the others?? LOLWTF??

Now,it could be quite possible,that someone might release a hacked BIOS or you might be able to use an existing BD compatible BIOS,but this is a VERY poor show on the part of Asus.

Edit!!

The M5A97 Evo R1 works:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1318860/...50-fx-8320-fx-6300-fx-4300/1040#post_18437905

Supposedly,this is one of the motherboards which supposedly would not work according to CS!

Second Edit!!

It seems the CS were talking crap and BIOS updates are being released:

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2756220&postcount=12
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,984 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,551
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#2
Bios 1605 works afaik
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
I asked ASUS directly myself on this, when I get info, I'll update.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
#4
no, this topic is not true. At first revision you need only BIOS update. R2.0 revision has better digital power not only CPU, but memory is not yet analog, but digital too. There are some next improvements as fastboot, bios flashback, better support for win8 etc.
But results is, old R1.0 revision is suport Vishera too!
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Likes
22
Processor Xeon E3 1230 V2
Motherboard ASRock B75M-ITX
Cooling Corsair H40
Memory 2X8GB 1600MHZ DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX960 4GB
Storage Sandisk 480GB SSD plus a few HDDs
Display(s) Dell UP2516D
Case Cubitek Mini-Cube
Power Supply Corsair SF 450
Mouse Logitech G15
Keyboard Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
#5
no, this topic is not true. At first revision you need only BIOS update. R2.0 revision has better digital power not only CPU, but memory is not yet analog, but digital too. There are some next improvements as fastboot, bios flashback, better support for win8 etc.
But results is, old R1.0 revision is suport Vishera too!
You should blame Asus CS for talking crap to people, when they asked them whether their newish motherboards would work fine with Vishera. I know a few people with Asus 970 and 990X motherboards who might want to upgrade themselves.

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for contacting ASUS Customer Service.

My name is Fiona and it's my pleasure to help you with your problem.

I am afraid to say FX 8350, 8320 couldn't support the M5A97 EVO, M5A99X EVO, or the Sabertooth 990FX motherboard.

To get support for the 2nd generation FX CPU's, you must purchase a R2.0 version board.
Check all board revisions before buying for piledriver. Not all (as yet) have support in the bios. I have been advised by ASUS that the M5A99x Evo R1.0 does not officially support these processors whereas R2.0 does.
Yeah,it does seem at least the M5A97 Evo works:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1318860/...50-fx-8320-fx-6300-fx-4300/1040#post_18437905

That is only because someone decided to throw caution to the wind and give it a try. Yet the Asus CS seem to be have no clue at all.

So,on two separate occasions in two different countries,ie,the US and the UK,Asus CS told porkies, it seems, to push people to R2.0 motherboards.

Those CS people need retraining.
 
Last edited:

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#6
I agree! Hell the least ASUS could do is get on the ball and get some BIOS updates out.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Likes
22
Processor Xeon E3 1230 V2
Motherboard ASRock B75M-ITX
Cooling Corsair H40
Memory 2X8GB 1600MHZ DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX960 4GB
Storage Sandisk 480GB SSD plus a few HDDs
Display(s) Dell UP2516D
Case Cubitek Mini-Cube
Power Supply Corsair SF 450
Mouse Logitech G15
Keyboard Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
#7
One of the chaps over on OcUK is going to try an FX8350 with their M5A99X Evo.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,672 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,221
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#8
You should blame Asus CS for talking crap to people, when they asked them whether their newish motherboards would work fine with Vishera. I know a few people with Asus 970 and 990X motherboards who might want to upgrade themselves.





Yeah,it does seem at least the 970 EVO works:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1318860/...50-fx-8320-fx-6300-fx-4300/1040#post_18437905

That is only because someone decided to throw caution to the wind and give it a try. Yet the Asus CS seem to be have no clue at all.

So,on two separate occasions in two different countries,ie,the US and the UK,Asus CS told porkies, it seems, to push people to R2.0 motherboards.

Those CS people need retraining.
I got nearly the exact same response from ASUS CS when I requested info on whether or not my M5A99X was compatible with the FX-6200 when it was released (a newer BIOS was listed but didn't list the 6200 in the support list). If it's not listed on the support list then this is the "canned" response you will get. They actually sent me a form to rate their customer service.... twice! :wtf: I did not give them a very nice response.

Luckily, a member here spoke to ASUS directly and got the answer I needed but now this is happening again! :mad:

C'mon ASUS- get your s**t together... I need a Vishera compatible BIOS for my M5A99X Evo and M5A97 Evo :shadedshu

No I will not buy an ASUS AM3++ board for an AM3+ CPU... I will buy something besides ASUS if this keeps happening.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Likes
22
Processor Xeon E3 1230 V2
Motherboard ASRock B75M-ITX
Cooling Corsair H40
Memory 2X8GB 1600MHZ DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX960 4GB
Storage Sandisk 480GB SSD plus a few HDDs
Display(s) Dell UP2516D
Case Cubitek Mini-Cube
Power Supply Corsair SF 450
Mouse Logitech G15
Keyboard Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
#9
When I said the 970 EVO,I meant the M5A97 Evo!! I think both my mates would be well pissed off,if they could not plonk in Vishera as an update path,and I also told them to get the Asus motherboards over the equivalent Gigabytes too! :(
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,672 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,221
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#10
ASUS released updated BIOS files today for the M5A99X Evo and M5A97 Evo

* Note- M5A97 says the same:

M5A99X EVO BIOS 1604
1.Improve system stability.
2.Support new CPUs. Please refer to our website at: http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx?SLanguage=en-us
File Size 2,37 (MBytes) 2012.10.24 update


These updates will (should?) support the Vishera CPU's. They don't list the "new" CPU's in the support list but this is EXACTLY what they did last time with the FX-6200 BIOS revision.

Don't bother to e-mail ASUS CS as you will continue to get the canned response that they are unsupported. This is due to the CPU support list not being updated. :shadedshu
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#11
Yea it took asus a long time to output bioses for AM2+ boards to support 6 cores. This is one reason I stopped using Asus on AMD a while ago. I remember before I went back intel that i was just waiting for a bios to get a 6 core in my AM2+ then it never came so I went intel then bam 2 months later a bios FINALLY released for my board but by then I was already hooked on intel HT
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#13

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#14
BIOS updates are coming.
So the hysteria is going to stop? :laugh: I would wager a bet the Vishera chips would have booted without the update, but in a low performance state as the Phenom II 955 chips did when installed in a board without a BIOS update. The FID/VID would have been set to the lowest state (4x) and the system would boot. The r2.0 of all boards released added a handful of feature as the Crosshair "-Z" does. What did you expect companies to do when AMD didn't release a new chipset with the new processors. Gotta make extra money somehow and plenty of people will order a R2.0 board for a premium simply because its newer.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#15
So the hysteria is going to stop? :laugh: I would wager a bet the Vishera chips would have booted without the update, but in a low performance state as the Phenom II 955 chips did when installed in a board without a BIOS update. The FID/VID would have been set to the lowest state (4x) and the system would boot. The r2.0 of all boards released added a handful of feature as the Crosshair "-Z" does. What did you expect companies to do when AMD didn't release a new chipset with the new processors. Gotta make extra money somehow and plenty of people will order a R2.0 board for a premium simply because its newer.
Yea I remember some boards would boot with a 955BE but it would be stuck at 800Mhz until the bios was updated.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,333 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#16
BIOSes 1604/05 for non R2.0 boards have AGESA 1.5, so Vishera support. It's just that ASUS is slow in updating the CPU support lists on its website.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
#17
I said it, is it bullshit, becuase you need only a bit logic. Cpu current condition are simillar between Zambezi FX and Vishera FX, Pins are the same, architecture is refresh of Zambezi, uniq of Bulldozers.
And there is next proof:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...oard-Support&p=5146568&viewfull=1#post5146568

And with 970 chipset is the same. Is the same as Phenom II Deneb (C revision) and Phenom II Thuban (E revision)..Both you can use in AM3 boards
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#18
All boards should have BIOSes live now? COnfirmed with my rep at ASUS, the R2.0 board thing is not true at this time. However, up till yesterday, some boards did not have BIOSes live for Vishera. Today, they do. :p
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#19
All boards should have BIOSes live now? COnfirmed with my rep at ASUS, the R2.0 board thing is not true at this time. However, up till yesterday, some boards did not have BIOSes live for Vishera. Today, they do. :p
So the emails are just feeding you the info that you would need to purchase a R2.0 board even though they are kinda silently releasing bioses for R1.0 boards for CPU support??? Kinda shady right?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#20
So the emails are just feeding you the info that you would need to purchase a R2.0 board even though they are kinda silently releasing bioses for R1.0 boards for CPU support??? Kinda shady right?
not really. At the time ,that was teh case..only those boards had working BIOSes.



But yeah, they could have been a bit more forthcoming about how that support was going to play out...not that there was ever any doubt in my mind...
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#21
not really. At the time ,that was teh case..only those boards had working BIOSes. But yeah, they could have been a bit more forthcoming about how that support was going to play out...not that there was ever any doubt in my mind...
Right on dave. Thank you for all you do here at TPU!
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
#22
All boards should have BIOSes live now? COnfirmed with my rep at ASUS, the R2.0 board thing is not true at this time. However, up till yesterday, some boards did not have BIOSes live for Vishera. Today, they do. :p

I think oficially not all now, but there will be the same as with Phenom...If you put unsported Phenom II and your board has support some Phenom II, this CPU will be working. Only in post will be something as "unknown CPU detected". Vishera has only very small upgrades in die. Others is about programming.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Likes
22
Processor Xeon E3 1230 V2
Motherboard ASRock B75M-ITX
Cooling Corsair H40
Memory 2X8GB 1600MHZ DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX960 4GB
Storage Sandisk 480GB SSD plus a few HDDs
Display(s) Dell UP2516D
Case Cubitek Mini-Cube
Power Supply Corsair SF 450
Mouse Logitech G15
Keyboard Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
#23
I said it, is it bullshit, becuase you need only a bit logic. Cpu current condition are simillar between Zambezi FX and Vishera FX, Pins are the same, architecture is refresh of Zambezi, uniq of Bulldozers.
And there is next proof:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...oard-Support&p=5146568&viewfull=1#post5146568

And with 970 chipset is the same. Is the same as Phenom II Deneb (C revision) and Phenom II Thuban (E revision)..Both you can use in AM3 boards
Why don't you complain at Asus support? You seem to be trying to make excuses for their own support who told porkies.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
61 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
System Name Master & Blaster
Processor FX 6300 4.4 GHz | Xeon E5440 3.85 GHz
Motherboard M5A97 | P35C-DS3R
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Plus | Themis
Memory 8 GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX R9 270X 2 GB
Storage OCZ ARC 100 240GB | Patriot Blast 240 GB
Case Arcadia
#24
Dude bios 1605 for M5A97 is out, official FX Vishera Support link
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
#25
Why don't you complain at Asus support? You seem to be trying to make excuses for their own support who told porkies.
see, I had right. And I need only brain and a bit logic, nothing more;):nutkick: