• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Asus mega-fail with AMD motherboards!! Avoid!! - [Issue Resolved]

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,239 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#26
Last edited:

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,684 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,264
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#27

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,239 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#28
Actually- All of my AM3+ boards now have Vishera support.... even my cheapo mATX Biostar A880GZ boards (got an FX-6200 crunching 24/7 @4.0 Ghz in one of them atm) :toast:
Asus as of 890FX has yet to support Vishera
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#29
just got an asus crosshair V and planning to get an fx8350. Present bios is 1402 do I need to get the bios updated before I plug in the new fx , or is it already ok ?
thanks in advance
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
#30
I agree! Hell the least ASUS could do is get on the ball and get some BIOS updates out.
They useually good at Bios releases, but once the mobo gets a little older, they greatly lack support.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
146 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
System Name Uhh WTF
Processor A10-5800K
Motherboard ASrock FM2A85X-Extreme4-M
Cooling Coolermaster Vortex PLUS
Memory 8GB Samsung 1600MHZ 1.35v
Storage 120GB Agility3
Display(s) ASUS 23" TN Panel
Case Silverstone SST-PS07
Power Supply 550W Antec Modular "Basiq" 80PLUS
Software Windows 8 x64
#31
ASUS is generally pretty good with updates. They have a AM2 board that supports the Phenom II 955.

Biostar on the other hand... I have a AM3 880G board that doesn't support AM3+ processors
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sunny California
#32
M488t-evo/usb3

I feel left out as far as no Piledriver support for this MB. Why does the 760g get a BIOS update to support the FX chips and not 880g.

Biostar 880g has a BIOS update - but not ASUS - come on. Why did you pay more for the ASUS name if they don't update BIOS's?

I've searched for Beta BIOS's with no luck either.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,287 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,387
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#33
I feel left out as far as no Piledriver support for this MB. Why does the 760g get a BIOS update to support the FX chips and not 880g.

Biostar 880g has a BIOS update - but not ASUS - come on. Why did you pay more for the ASUS name if they don't update BIOS's?

I've searched for Beta BIOS's with no luck either.
As far as I can tell that board doesn't even support Bulldozer CPUs, so forget about Piledriver. I don't believe the M4A88T-Evo was ever released with an AM3+ socket, which is why it never received an update to support AM3+ CPUs. ASUS has released BIOSes that support Piledriver/Bulldozer for their other 880G motherboards that did have AM3+ sockets like the M5A88-V EVO.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#34
Ok just so everyone knows, you can run a fx 8320 on Asus m5a99x evo r1. I have been running it for 2 yrs no problems at all @ 3.7ghz turbo 32gb ram 1600. I do want to upgrade to a 9590. Does anyone know if it will work fine? Just running 1 video card and have 1050watt corsair psu. Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#35
Ok just so everyone knows, you can run a fx 8320 on Asus m5a99x evo r1. I have been running it for 2 yrs no problems at all @ 3.7ghz turbo 32gb ram 1600. I do want to upgrade to a 9590. Does anyone know if it will work fine? Just running 1 video card and have 1050watt corsair psu. Thanks
2yrs ago called they want your answer back...:rolleyes: