1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus motherboad BIOS update makes flashed 6950's to 6970's not work. HATE YOU ASUS

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Phusius, May 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,316 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    :banghead:

    I took my flashed 6970 and put it in 3 different PC's, each one worked perfect, GPU Z showed 1536 unified, 880/1375

    Put it back in my PC... and black screen each time, have to use BIOS 2.

    hate my life.
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,436 (5.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,317
    have you removed and re-istalled the drivers on "your" rig since the flash?
     
    Phusius says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,316 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    I am boycotting all Asus products from now on, total bs.
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,436 (5.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,317
    Ok then:confused:
     
    Phusius says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,316 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Sneekypeet. Yes. I did everything accordingly, even booting Win98 froma flash drive and manually flashing through DOS. The 6970 works shows up in other rigs just fine.

    Apparently I am not the only one with this problem, any Asus BIOS 3xxx for a motherboard blacks this flash from working.

    If I knew what company was Asus's main competition I would buy all their products overnight. If you can't tell, I am extremely pissed.
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,436 (5.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,317
    Sorry I think I misread the OP. You are having issues with the mobo bios flash, not flashing a card:(

    Could get a programmed bios chip pretty cheap vs. buying all new goods;)
     
    Phusius says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,425 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,792
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    You are still mis-reading:


    Apparantly any ASUS P67/Z68 motherboard with BIOS numbered 3xxx is incompatible with HD6950 flashed to HD6970. This makes it an issues with either/or...you cna blame the board BIOS, while ASUS blames the VGA BIOS.

    When they issued 3xxx BIOSes, they changed quite a bit, including the type of font used in BIOS, and also prevented backward-flashing to earlier versions(BIOS core code is different), and one of the changes makes modded cards not boot correctly. There are quite a few reports of this problem on various forums at this point, including the ASUS ROG Forum.

    There are users who already had modded cards, flashed to new motherboard BIOS, and then thought the BIOS update bricked the board, only to find out that when they removed the modded cards, things worked fine.


    Why or how this is an issue, I have no idea, but an official "agent" of ASUS did notify one user that ASUS was aware of the problem, and that it was intentional. IF ASUS is taking steps like this on purpose, to prevent VGA modding, that's pretty crappy.
     
    Law-II and Phusius say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,316 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Yeah, I am pretty pissed about it. Never buying Asus again, or AMD. I am sick of all the bullshit. Intel + Nvidia fanboy I have become. Thank God this day has come.
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,425 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,792
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    I dunno that there is really any truth that it was intentional..,it may have been unintentional, but because of the circumstances, they are not going to fix it. I wouldn't blame them if they didn't.

    I am also unsure if this relates to all current products as well...I'll be reviewing an ASUS Z77 board in a couple of weeks, and will investigate...I've got 3x HD6950 here to try.
     
    Phusius says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    374 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    I remember that ThaSpacePope has a similar problem with his Asus Z68 motherboard and his two HD 6950s that are modded to HD 6970s with HD 6970 bioses.

    He has solved the problem by modding the original bios from his HD 6950s and then unlocked the shaders via with w1zzard's php script (instead of making use of a HD 6970 bios). The result is that the unlocked HD 6950-to-6970s would be able to boot again with the unlocked shader units, but they do not run at the clockspeed of a 6970, but of HD 6950; this is easily solved by using some overclock tools(such as MSI Afterburner) with which you can overclocked the cards back to the speed of HD 6970.
     
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,650 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,638
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Why do people have to start a new thread about the same problem?

    Black screen when I reboot after successfully flashing my 6950 to 6970

    This one seems to be a rant thread IMO.
    __________________________________________________________________________________

    If, what cadaveca says is true, then, revert to an older MB bios; if, that is not possible then you are stuck running your HD6950 as a HD6950 (what you paid for, sorry). Yep, I do agree, if they did the bios updates to purposely dis-able the ability to use a HD6950 flash to a HD6970, then shame on them.

    If you flashed your HD6950 with HD6970 firmware, maybe, you might wanna try flashing it with HD6950 firmware with the shaders unlocked.


    TC-man beat me to it, but it may be worth the try.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2012
    erocker, Phusius and cadaveca say thanks.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,425 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,792
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    I was just going to post this!


    It seems the problem is related to the 6970 BIOS flash, which does not actualyl change the card itself to show fully as 6970. This mis-match between 6950 card ID, and 6970 BIOS ID causes the problem. If you use unlocked shaders BIOS, the BIOS is still the "original" ID, and matches wit hteh card, and things work fine.

    It's also worht noting that 3DMark apps also notice that 6950's modded to 6970 BIOS are actually 6950. I tried a fresh OS install checking that one out, so it's not a VGA driver thing...
     
    Phusius and 95Viper say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    Mehhh, let him rant, i'd be pissed and wanting to vent too, and at least his title says nearly the FULL issue in it, so you don't have to read much of the actual post.
    Maybe gigabyte will do this to remain competitive with asus :slap:
    Anyways, its informative as i had planned to go almost the exact same route as this and find a used 6950 to flash using possibly the same asus chipset which i'll now know to avoid :).
     
    Phusius says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,316 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    I just unlocked the shaders thanks to wizzards script.

    OC'ed in trixx to 900/1400. stable.

    W1zzard is my hero. :love: Asus can still blow me though, for ruining two days of flashing and reflashing my card. ^^
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  15. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,650 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,638
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Glad you got it going, hope it keeps on going for you.:toast:
    Test it and let us know if you see any noticable difference in the performance.


    And, I'm sure ASUS is terribly sorry for ruining two days of your life.:rolleyes:

    Scenario:

    ASUS engineer/techsupport reads thread; and,
    [​IMG]

    Just messing with you, Phusius!:D
     
    Phusius and fullinfusion say thanks.
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion Vanguard Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,493 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,318
    ^
    Was thinking the same thing, lol you cant keep everybody happy... I guess it was Asus's fault he flashed his gpu too :slap:

    I think most the time ppl have a problem with Asus is due to the person there talking to. I call a certain person from Asus and the problem gets resolved Immediately

    All in all glad your back up and running
     
    Phusius and 95Viper say thanks.
  17. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,316 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Went from a 5500ish 3D Mark 11 score to a nudge over 6000. 2500k @ 4.8ghz, and 6970 at 900/1400, before that it was 4.5 and 6950 at 900/1400.

    so yeah it helps. xD
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  18. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,314 (10.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,373
    Use the other thread you started linked above. ^
     
    Phusius says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.