• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ASUS Motherboard doesn't post

D

Duxx

Guest
#1
So I just got my new motherboard from ASUS. Apparently I still can't get my computer to perform functionally.... I have replaced the Motherboard, tested all 4 sticks of ram individually, tried a different HDD, tried my E2200, replaced g92 with frinds gtx... still can't get anything to POST. Nothing on screen, no power to USB (mouse, keyboard) The only thing I haven't tried is the PSU. The Fans spin, the lights come on, LED's etc all perform... i bought the 620hx because i didn't want to have to worry about it. Could this potentially be the problem? I have no idea what to try. On my old motherboard I reset the CMOS, replaced battery, etc etc.. I need help BAD. TIA
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.35/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#2
So I just got my new motherboard from ASUS. Apparently I still can't get my computer to perform functionally.... I have replaced the Motherboard, tested all 4 sticks of ram individually, tried a different HDD, tried my E2200, replaced g92 with frinds gtx... still can't get anything to POST. Nothing on screen, no power to USB (mouse, keyboard) The only thing I haven't tried is the PSU. The Fans spin, the lights come on, LED's etc all perform... i bought the 620hx because i didn't want to have to worry about it. Could this potentially be the problem? I have no idea what to try. On my old motherboard I reset the CMOS, replaced battery, etc etc.. I need help BAD. TIA
That sucks man, sorry to hear :shadedshu I say give your friend's PSU a try and see if that works. Edit: and if you have 3 other rigs why didn't you try one of those PSUs yet?
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#3
That sucks man, sorry to hear :shadedshu I say give your friend's PSU a try and see if that works. Edit: and if you have 3 other rigs why didn't you try one of those PSUs yet?
2 of them are laptops... 3rd one doesn't have 8 pin for mobo.. its old as shiiiitttt. And its only 200W max..
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
125 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
Location
Virginia
#4
Sounds like the PS is about all that it *could* be...(or the monitor maybe??? Have you tried a different one?)

No beep codes or anything?

...and yes, I know that it's a "rookie" mistake, but are you sure that you're not shorting something out on the back side of the mobo? Both mobo headers plugged in?

I'm grasping at straws here man, I know how frustrating this can be... :banghead:

Have you stripped it down to the bare essentials and tried a boot sequence? (with no drives or video attached...1 stick of RAM)

Do you have a boot flash on a usb...crap that wont help you out either...I dunno man...running out of my (admittedly limited) ideas!
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#5
Sounds like the PS is about all that it *could* be...(or the monitor maybe??? Have you tried a different one?)

No beep codes or anything?

...and yes, I know that it's a "rookie" mistake, but are you sure that you're not shorting something out on the back side of the mobo? Both mobo headers plugged in?

I'm grasping at straws here man, I know how frustrating this can be... :banghead:

Have you stripped it down to the bare essentials and tried a boot sequence? (with no drives or video attached...1 stick of RAM)

Do you have a boot flash on a usb...crap that wont help you out either...I dunno man...running out of my (admittedly limited) ideas!

Tried a different monitor, both headers in, i may try the 4 pin see if i get any luck. No optical, no sound card, no usb, only cpu, ram, psu, hd, and gfx... Thanks for helping though, do appreciate the ideas.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
125 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
Location
Virginia
#6
Tried a different monitor, both headers in, i may try the 4 pin see if i get any luck. No optical, no sound card, no usb, only cpu, ram, psu, hd, and gfx... Thanks for helping though, do appreciate the ideas.
Does the comp *fully* wind up? Like it's running fine, just not out putting to the screen?

Or does it do the restart cycle?

What OS?
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#7
Does the comp *fully* wind up? Like it's running fine, just not out putting to the screen?

Or does it do the restart cycle?

What OS?
Ya, everything spins up and stays that way. No restarts or anything.

XP.

This is the 2nd time, the first time this happened was over christmas break, cured it by leaving it unplugged for 3 weeks while on vaca... but thought it was the motherboard...
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
125 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
Location
Virginia
#8
Ya, everything spins up and stays that way. No restarts or anything.

XP.

This is the 2nd time, the first time this happened was over christmas break, cured it by leaving it unplugged for 3 weeks while on vaca... but thought it was the motherboard...
Damn...it's gotta be either the PSU or the monitor...do you have a way to hook up one of the laptops to the monitor just to see if it's functional?
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#9
Damn...it's gotta be either the PSU or the monitor...do you have a way to hook up one of the laptops to the monitor just to see if it's functional?
i used another monitor, it gets no signal at all either. I'm hoping bogmali lets me steal his.. he is only a 2 hour drive away :shadedshu:shadedshu
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
125 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
Location
Virginia
#10
i used another monitor, it gets no signal at all either. I'm hoping bogmali lets me steal his.. he is only a 2 hour drive away :shadedshu:shadedshu
Well it certainly looks like the PS then...but it's strange that when it happened previously that just letting it sit for a couple of days fixed it...even if just momentarily.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.35/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#11
I have a question, are you 100% sure that board doesn't support 4-pin power also? Most of the older boards do. Also, 200 watts is plenty to get the system to POST.
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#12
I have a question, are you 100% sure that board doesn't support 4-pin power also? Most of the older boards do. Also, 200 watts is plenty to get the system to POST.
It does have a 4 pin, doesnt have a 6 pin for my gfx card. It also doesnt have a 24 pin, if I used a 20 pin and the 4 pin, would it still be sufficient? My mobo doesn't have a speaker and i have no external speaker so I can't hear a beep code if there was one.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.35/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#13
It does have a 4 pin, doesnt have a 6 pin for my gfx card. It also doesnt have a 24 pin, if I used a 20 pin and the 4 pin, would it still be sufficient? My mobo doesn't have a speaker and i have no external speaker so I can't hear a beep code if there was one.
Ah nah I guess I didn't think of it being too old to have the full 24-pin power connector either. I once used a board that said it supported 20-pin power and it blew the PSU instantly so I would say don't go for that.
 

Haydar

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
dont wanna sound to smartazzish, but have you plugged in the power supply of your cpu?
you sound like you havin a similar problem that i haved acouple months ago when i where rebuilding my pc...
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#15
Pull the board out of your case and on its box. Case may be causing a short near the I/O.
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#16
Pull the board out of your case and on its box. Case may be causing a short near the I/O.
I'm going to get a motherboard speaker to hear the beep sequence. If I get no love from that, i'll take it out and test outside the case.

Thanks for changing the thread title, I got carried away :D
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#17
I don't wanna crush your hope; I have a MSI board with similar problems of which I (almost certainly) know its DOA. I tried like 5 HDDs, SATA and IDE, jusz as many drives, like three GPUs, three monitors, a hell of RAM sticks and three CPUs and two PSUs.

BUT I haven't tried a speaker yet now that it was mentioned here...
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#18
I don't wanna crush your hope; I have a MSI board with similar problems of which I (almost certainly) know its DOA. I tried like 5 HDDs, SATA and IDE, jusz as many drives, like three GPUs, three monitors, a hell of RAM sticks and three CPUs and two PSUs.

BUT I haven't tried a speaker yet now that it was mentioned here...
Well I would really hope that they wouldn't send me a DOA board for my RMA... That would just be f'ed up on their part and put a big X next to ASUS.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#19
Well I would really hope that they wouldn't send me a DOA board for my RMA... That would just be f'ed up on their part and put a big X next to ASUS.
THat certainly would suck, yes. But don't give up hope yet until you haven't tried a speaker (like me:laugh:)
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#20
Thanks for changing the thread title, I got carried away :D
LOL you must have thought I was Paulie. I'm not a mod :p

Any luck outside the case?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
806 (0.21/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon RoG RX 480 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX 850
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#21
One obvious thing is being missed, It's not mentioned in the original post whether or not the motherboard has onboard video or is using a videocard. If it's using a videocard make sure it's properly seated in the slot and if it uses PCIe power connectors that they are properly connected. That's the most common reason for a failed post.

If onboard video... I don't know then.
 
Last edited:
D

Duxx

Guest
#22
LOL you must have thought I was Paulie. I'm not a mod :p

Any luck outside the case?
Just woke up, getting a speaker to find out beep codes hopefully within the next hour or two.. I know you aren't a mod, i was just adding it in as an extra to whoever did it. :p

One obvious thing is being missed, It's not mentioned in the original post whether or not the motherboard has onboard video or is using a videocard. If it's using a videocard make sure it's properly seated in the slot and if it uses PCIe power connectors that they are properly connected. That's the most common reason for a failed post.

If onboard video... I don't know then.
No onboard video, i have re-seated about 10 times and the 6 pin power connector is in, otherwise it screams at me when I turn it on. :)
:respect::respect:
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,737 (0.73/day)
Likes
859
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#23
Try a PCI vid card ?

and clear cmos for the fun of it
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#24
Try a PCI vid card ?

and clear cmos for the fun of it
Don't have a PCI video card.

I cleared Cmos like 20 times on old comp. I figured straight from the box wouldn't need me to.. but I will after i get a speaker for mobo. Hopefully that tells me something :/
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#25
Have taken PC out of computer, hooked up PSU, RAM, CPU, HDD and gfx card. Nothing different has happened. Still searching for a speaker.. bahh